Oscar in a box

oscar-2a
The cat and the box… what an amusing, curiously perfect pairing.

I particularly love how pleased they invariably look when they find their new home, snubbing all the expensive, luxurious beds and even their owner’s lap for this veritable des-res. I would ask what the appeal is, but I rather like playing in boxes myself – that’s another story, though… Here, my Oscar looks rather protective of his pad as he peers over the top, ready to ward off any potential intruders. I think back to when Oscar was a kitten – he’s seventeen now – he took such a shine to a leftover shoe box that I even decorated it for him, adding a blanket and inscribing ‘Oscar’s bed’ on the side. He insisted on using it even when he’d become far too big for it, and the side collapsed under his hefty weight. Hilarious. He’s always been a comedian.

9 comments
    • Jacob said:

      Thanks, Camilla. I love cats too; they’re so endlessly amusing. I’ve got three at present.

      Oscar does look a little more focused than usual – I presume because he’s protecting his new home. Normally, he just looks hilariously pompous!

      Liked by 1 person

  1. Rebecca said:

    This cat’s expression is perfect – the box is MINE! Very nicely composed and created. 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

    • Jacob said:

      Thanks Rebecca! Oscar certainly has taken ownership of it, hasn’t he? He’s hilarious.

      Liked by 1 person

      • Rebecca said:

        Cats so often are… 🙂

        Liked by 1 person

  2. You are lucky person, you have cats. I can’t, I have problem with breathing, when cat is in house and Daddy has asthma. But neighbour has cat, he come to our garden and I can play with him. Outside I have no problem. ***Camilla

    Like

    • Jacob said:

      That’s a shame. I’ve an auntie who has the same problem, though she doesn’t care for pets anyway so it’s not that big a deal for her.

      We don’t see many neighbour cats anymore, though I recently looked after a stray for a few years… he too was hilarious.

      Like

  3. Lee Hesketh said:

    So cute!

    Like

Talk to me!

