Happy Birthday, Freddie Mercury

freddie-2cSixty-nine years ago today, Freddie Mercury made his way into the world – I couldn’t let that go without a noise, so, here’s another drawing! I’ve also mixed several of my older drawings in with some photographs here, to decorate the fabulous garment you see Freddie wearing; the dazzling, nonpareil showman overlaying the private, quiet man completely dedicated to his art. That’s what Mercury was all about.

On that vein, I leave below my favourite vocal performance of his, and probably my favourite Queen song of all – Teo Torriatte, the closing track of the brilliant album A Day At The Races. It was Freddie in his artistic element, and contains all of what made his sound so unique and so beautiful – the voice of the angel, the roar of the lion… it has everything. It’s such a lovely song.


And just as I think Fred can’t get any better, I recently read that his favourite TV show was Countdown. Ha! I had to get that in there somewhere. Clearly, a man of universally excellent taste.

16 comments
  1. OMG! Jacob, your drawing of Freddie is sooo beautiful. Freddie is amazing. Your choice of song, is choice of love. Thank you for your tribute to Freddie. ❤ Camilla

    Liked by 1 person

    • Jacob said:

      Thank you Camilla. He is most definitely handsome; this is a really nice photo actually (I’m sure you can tell it’s a promotional from the Breakthru video shoot). I like the beard a lot – it really suited him. My thanks also for pointing out my typos (I’m mortified!) and reblogging over at your place – much appreciated!

      Liked by 1 person

      • I feel very proud that I can publish so beautiful post – tribute to Freddie. Thank you ❤ camilla

        Like

      • Jacob said:

        I know nobody who loves Freddie as much as you do, so for you to say that I’ve done a good job means a lot. Thank you, Camilla.

        Like

      • Thanks Jacob, I knew Freddie personally. You wrote about Freddie and table tennis. I know he played tennis, maybe table tennis when was opportunity. I have pictures of Freddie – tennis player from IBIZA. If you want to see, they are on Google, or I can send. Camilla

        Like

      • Jacob said:

        I wish I could have known him… I’d settle for just seeing him perform from afar! Sadly, he passed away two months before I was born.

        Ha, yes, I read that he was brilliant at table tennis on JW’s blog, which I’d not heard before and just found quite sweet. I believe I’ve seen the tennis photographs before – thanks for the offer, though.

        Liked by 1 person

  2. Geke Hop-Wassink said:

    WOW, it’s Amazing Jacob, they are all in there the different ages and looks of Freddie. A wonderful Happy Birthday to our dear Freddie, 69 would he be today, but love him forever xxx

    Like

    • Jacob said:

      Thank you Geke – I did want to try and rustle up something special for the big day!

      Liked by 1 person

  3. theroyalist said:

    Hello Jacob,

    A fine tribute blog on this special day. Very good Freddie drawing and choice of song. The countdown to 70 starts now.
    Have a nice Queen day,

    JW

    Like

    • Jacob said:

      He remains the greatest. Thank you very much for your comment – I enjoyed your facts, all of which were new to me (Freddie playing table tennis did make me chuckle, for some reason).

      Do have a nice day yourself – turn the volume up loud!

      Liked by 1 person

  4. anik94 said:

    Very nice art, Jacob. He was brilliantly talented and gave inspiriation to many people. I love his music and he has not been replaced, I feel. So special and it’s a big shame what happened to him.

    Like

    • Jacob said:

      Oh, most definitely. I can’t think of anybody, artist or otherwise, who comes even remotely close to filling the void he left behind. It is incredibly sad what happened; death is rarely a joyous concept. We can only treasure the pleasure he gave us, continue to revel in his art and remember the man with gratitude and affection – that way, he’s still with us. Thanks!

      Like

    • Jacob said:

      Ah, thank you so much (and for the follow, too!).

      Like

Talk to me!

