Well, look who it is…

self-portait-1

I grumbled in only my previous post on the haunting prospect of the self-portrait. Well, this one’s actually been floating around for a couple of weeks and I haven’t had the balls to post it… until now, when it’s quiet!

It has a pair of reasons behind its creation, actually, neither of which vanity: to test out a new custom pastel-esque brush I’d made in Photoshop, and second, to mourn the passing of my beard, which I removed shortly after the source picture was taken, for reasons I don’t really know. It had been there so long that I felt quite guilty and bereaved after the deed. Fear not! I am growing it back, for I quickly grew tired of looking like a haggard fifteen-year old.

OK, maybe one of the motivations was vanity… but still, there we are. Indeed, there I am. Another mildly curious point of interest is the fact that I actually have neglected my glasses – with the angle, they (or rather, their reflections) were almost completely obscuring my left eye, and besides, they just weren’t working very well. Must try harder!

I’ve kept the colour version predominant due to its luminous qualities, though as a whole I think I prefer it black-and-white, in truth:

self-portait-2

There we are. There I.. oh, I’ve already said that. I DID A SELFIE and posted it. More of a gold star moment than you will ever be aware.

(pats back)

36 comments
  1. anik94 said:

    I like this very much Jacob- shades super, and a face with very much character.

    Like

    • Jacob said:

      Oh, well that’s very kind, Anik. Thank you. It’s the beard wot does it…

      Like

      • anik94 said:

        No I think it is more- the look in the eye and the smile under the beard, they add to it. Suggests fun and character. It’s great.

        Like

      • Jacob said:

        Ha, shucks! Thanks again!

        Like

  2. Well, you are beautiful young man. Amazing drawing as always… ❤ Camilla

    Like

    • Jacob said:

      Haha, wow… didn’t expect that adjective! Thanks so much, Camilla!

      Liked by 1 person

      • It’s true. I have never tried to draw myself…

        Like

      • Jacob said:

        I find it quite difficult – I don’t like to look at myself for that long. That’s just me, though.

        Perhaps you could have a go?

        Liked by 1 person

      • Maybe, I try. Now I am working on Freddie. I have real estate business and time is my enemy.

        Like

      • Jacob said:

        Ah, I can imagine. It’s only because of my unemployment that I can make so many drawings – time on my hands! Best of luck with the Freddie drawing!

        Liked by 1 person

      • Thanks ❤ Camilla

        Like

  3. laylalalas said:

    I LOVE LOVE the auburn whiskers with the purple tee. You’re on a roll!

    Like

    • Jacob said:

      Haha, oh my. I wish I could say that was a deliberate and calculated decision, but it wasn’t. It’s just a scruffy old MC Hammer t-shirt.

      Thank you. I’m really beginning to regret losing my beard with all the nice things people are saying about it!

      Liked by 1 person

  4. Lee Hesketh said:

    OMG Jay, this is nice work all round but I’m crazy in love with your blazing hipster beard…….. it’s amazing. I want to stroke it. Can I stroke it? We deserve more, as your followers. I agree with what’s said though on the character. It’s such a naughty boy you’ve drawn, you are so up to stuff you shouldn’t be!

    Like

    • Jacob said:

      (Raises eyebrow) Would I ever be so cruel as to deny you your wish…? No, never. You have my permission to stroke me as long as you wish.

      Again, this makes me wish rather that I’d kept it. You’ll have to wait a few weeks, until it’s back to this stage.

      Oh, I’m laughing so much at this apparent mischief in my drawing. Well, y’know, I’m such a bad boy… 😉

      Liked by 1 person

      • Lee Hesketh said:

        Hehehe, now I’m laughing. Defo get the beard back and even fuzzier, it’s blazing and suits you so well!

        Like

      • Jacob said:

        Sigh. I’ll see what I can do, Lee.

        Liked by 1 person

  5. Geke Hop-Wassink said:

    I think it’s hard to post a drawing of yourself, but you did great, and looking very friendly, and I think you did great

    Like

    • Jacob said:

      It certainly is a questionable use of my time – I’d rather draw interesting people! Thank you very much, Geke, as always.

      Liked by 1 person

      • Geke Hop-Wassink said:

        To all of us, your followers you are interesting, so quite a good reasen to draw yourself, Yes, you can raise your eyebrouw again, but I’m just telling the truth 🙂

        Like

      • Jacob said:

        Haha! Oh the eyebrows raised more times today than is healthy, I think. It’ll get stuck if this carries on much longer.

        Liked by 1 person

      • Geke Hop-Wassink said:

        You could give it a name, something like Eyebrow fitnes, so there is always a way ha ha 🙂 But I’m happy for you, to see all the comment’s on you’re drawings, you must feel proud, you should be, and it’s well deserved!!
        Bedtime now, Night and stay safe and keep on drawing, after you get some sleep

        Like

      • Jacob said:

        Haha! What an idea!

        Quite – I’m most definitely stunned this has got the reaction it has. It’s very sweet of everybody. Night night, and don’t worry, I shall.

        Like

  6. I like the auburn beard, but there’s something about the black and white that is more captivating to me. Impish and seductive at the same time. Great selfie.

    Like

    • Jacob said:

      Yes, I prefer that one too; in honesty, I just thought the colourful beard might catch more eyes of those who skim down the Reader!

      Seductive, impish, blimey… I’m not so much blushing as going a tad hysterical now. Thank you so much. I guess it turned out better than I thought! 😉

      Liked by 1 person

  7. arcillaa said:

    Love the eyes! To me drawing the eyes sideways can be a bit tricky as you need to capture the bulge of the eyeball to make it realistic. And you did that really well! 🙂

    Like

    • Jacob said:

      Thank you, my man! I did fret quite a bit about the state of the eyes; they were, as mentioned, mostly obscured by reflections of my glasses. Indeed I too found it was a bit of a mind-bender with that angle – thank goodness I only really had to do one! – but I’m so pleased you think I pulled it off!

      Like

  8. Kewl … check out my beard article for any help

    Like

  9. Becky Gornik Dall said:

    I like both of them.

    Like

    • Jacob said:

      So glad to hear as much – thanks, Becky!

      Like

  10. Pingback: Mini Me | jaywalks

Talk to me!

