Norfolk-ed in the Head

norfolk-5

This is, I believe, the first drawing I’ve uploaded to this space which hasn’t relied on a photograph or reference image in any way. This was created completely by the mind… there were supposedly limitless possibilities, and this is what came of it! I don’t know what that says to you about my imagination. Well, I guess it begins to illustrate the thoughts of eeriness I mentioned a while ago when drawing Norton Marsh Drainage Mill, with what appears to be a hazy summer sky moving aside for a big-arse storm, just to make things extra scary… you don’t want to be out on the broads when a lightning storm hits, let me tell you from experience!

As it happens, I used to dream up scenes much like this as a child, often inspired by Sundays out with my family, which invariably saw us out on the broadland somewhere (These were the days when, being Sunday, it meant there was little else to do!). Using only a pen and whatever paper I could get my hands on, my mother knew it kept me out of mischief, so she would buy me no end of sketch pads, old diaries, anything… I wasn’t much fussed… I’d be out of her hair for a few hours. She would do that a lot.

I wonder if this ‘full circle’ of sorts has been spurred in any way by my recent return to walking. I’ve been out and about a lot over the past few months, indeed every single day since the start of August, as it’s widely reputed to be good for depression. It’ll do me the world of good, they all say. (And then I scream at hearing that tiresome bloody phrase on endless repeat.) I can’t say it’s had a massive impact in that respect – I probably got desperate and overestimated the effect it’d have – but I have found myself forcing myself to do it every day, so it must be doing something positive in there. I’m trying to increase my mileage with each week… maybe one day I’ll outstretch and bend time backward, to the pathways I explored as a youngster, which look a little like this one.

10 comments
  1. Well this is just pure awesomeness! What a fantastic image. It actually does feel like I’ve stepped inside your imagination and it’s brilliant!! ❤️😃

    Like

    • Jacob said:

      Thank you so much, Charlie. Twas good to do something less structured… and indeed, welcome to the white-knuckle rave that is my imagination! You’re in, now you just have to see if you can get back out…. Mwahahahahahahahahahahahahahahahahaha (too much?) In the meantime, though, do try and enjoy your stay!

      Liked by 1 person

  2. Geke Hop-Wassink said:

    Beautiful!!!

    Like

    • Jacob said:

      As ever, thanks so much, Geke!

      Like

  3. Lee Hesketh said:

    It says a lot about your mind I think, in a good way that is! This is such a powerful scene, it really makes me contemplate stuff. Sweet in a way too.

    Like

    • Jacob said:

      It’s pleasing that I did that! The broads are much like that, so it’s a positive thing for you to say about the image. They’re a wonderful place to wander, ponder and reflect.

      Liked by 1 person

  4. Lee Hesketh said:

    Stupid thing sent before I was done for some reason. I wanted to ssay too great about the walking too. Keep going!

    Like

  5. GED said:

    Hallo, thanks very much for your like on “Welcome new neighbors”, “Talk show”, “Thunderbolt”, for your inspiring and ecouraging comments and following my art activities on dispenza.worspress.com. Once more many compliments for the beautiful drawings of your blog. Today, I like this one especially! Have a lovely weekend. Edoardo

    Liked by 1 person

    • Jacob said:

      Oh Edorado, you’re very kind. It’s a total pleasure – keep up the great work!

      Like

Talk to me!

