Karen Carpenter, again

karencarpenter-3

My obsession with Karen Carpenter seems to only be escalating lately. My niece of eleven months is already a fan, smiling and clapping whenever she begins to sing. I have taught her well. I have already drawn and spoke about Karen once – way back in those hideously humid days of July… but it seems like only yesterday… I’m sure everything I wrote in there still applies. This one is rather more angelic.

Someone say Only Yesterday? Such a brilliant song.

13 comments
  1. Lee Hesketh said:

    Both so good Jay! I thought you were cursed?

    Like

    • Jacob said:

      Thanks – so did I! I was with my niece for much of today; perhaps she’s a good luck charm?

      Liked by 1 person

      • Lee Hesketh said:

        Lol, it looks like she is!

        Like

  2. JanD said:

    I love the carpenters, they were so good, she had a beautiful voice. Your painting of her is fabulous, I’m sure she would have loved it 🙂

    Like

    • Jacob said:

      They were indeed something special! Thanks so much, Jan, for dropping in, following, and leaving such a lovely comment. It’s a nice thought; I hope that she would.

      Liked by 1 person

  3. Sharon Mann said:

    Beautiful resemblance of Karen C., The Carpenters have always been one of favorite singing duos. I’m sorry her life was cut so short. One of my favorite songs is Sing, Sing a Song. Thanks for bringing back the good memories their music.

    Like

    • Jacob said:

      Ah, it’s a pleasure Sharon, and thank you so much for your kind comment. Lovely song mention too – a fine example of what Karen could do. She was incredible!

      Liked by 1 person

  4. Geke Hop-Wassink said:

    That’s a amazing drawing of Karen Carpenter, still loved and adored, just like my favorite singer 😉
    You did great, and like it very much (y)

    Like

    • Jacob said:

      I wish Freddie and Karen had recorded a song together. Could you imagine? It could have been magical.

      Glad you like it! Thanks as ever, Geke.

      Like

  5. anik94 said:

    The tone in this face are soft and delocate, she is an angel with a great voice.

    Like

    • Jacob said:

      Sounds very much like Karen, Anik, so thank you for that!

      Liked by 1 person

  6. lfish64 said:

    The first album I ever bought as a kid was the Carpenter’s A Song for You. I guess I am a big nerd. I also love listening to Barry Manilow because you can sing along and you know the words of the songs.

    Liked by 1 person

    • Jacob said:

      Nerd? Sounds cool enough to me! 😉 It’s a sweet album. I can’t even remember my first album, so it can’t have been very memorable… if only it’d been The Carpenters, I’d have found them much sooner!

      Liked by 1 person

Talk to me!

