David Pevsner III

davidpevsner-4-1

It’s been verging on a month since I indulged in drawing David Pevsner. What am I playing at…?

David recently uploaded this stunning photograph to his (NSFW!) blog, and I had to have a go at it, for it might be my favourite one. It’s effortless, adorable and alluring. My drawing is slightly less so, however, as I don’t think I captured the smile and inviting eyes as much as I would have liked – he looks a little stern here compared to the photo. That said, I’m still quite pleased with the outcome – it looks like him, I think! I was tempted to forego the extra elements until some point mid-way through, where I decided that it’d be fun to try and capture the folds in the pillow, and also to try and make it actually look as if David is laying against it. I was wrong in assuming that would be fun – jolly frustrating it was, and incredibly time-consuming. I still can’t decide if the shading works or if it just looks as if he’s standing in front of an elaborate backdrop.

I did a colour version too for you lucky people, thanks to Photoshop magic. It does add something I can’t quite put my finger on, but, as is usual, I prefer the black-and-white; more of that sparkle to it.

davidpevsner-4-2

I do these now as much out of gratitude as pleasure, for David shared both of my previous efforts on his site and they seem to have gone down quite well on the Tumblr-verse, as well as bringing a tremendous number of viewers over to this very secluded corner of the interweb. Thank you, David, it’s so very much appreciated!

That’s it, then… until I succumb to the temptation once more, I suppose.

8 comments
  1. Geke Hop-Wassink said:

    Beautiful drawing, specially the black and white, a great looking man and the pillow you questioned about, it looks very naturel to me.

    Like

    • Jacob said:

      He is most definitely a beautiful man. Thanks Geke, that’s very reassuring! Sometimes I look at it and it looks quite effective, other times not.

      Liked by 1 person

  2. Lee Hesketh said:

    Careful now Jay, he’ll think you’re obsessed!

    Liked by 1 person

    • Jacob said:

      Ha! Well, from my glances at Tumblr, I’ve found there are quite a few rather more obsessed than I am!

      Liked by 1 person

    • Jacob said:

      Yay – thanks very much, Charlie! You can’t really go wrong with David but I’m especially glad people think the pillow works – ’twere a handful, that!

      Liked by 1 person

  3. Mr Kearns said:

    Absolutely sensational work on all pieces Jacob … he’s perfect, isn’t he?

    Like

    • Jacob said:

      Thank you so much! David is indeed a delight of a subject.

      Liked by 1 person

Talk to me!

