Time-Tested: 15

timetested-1

After spinning to a frankly absurd degree – in six seconds, something like 8300 degrees I believe… how on earth many revolutions is that? – the Wheel of Misfortune ground to a halt and lumbered me with the 15 MINUTES space. This struck curious; it didn’t seem unduly harsh, but likewise it could go terribly wrong with not that much time for remedy. I was also mindful of the comments of my Graphic Design tutor at sixth form, who told me I couldn’t draw quickly (well, he actually more or less told me I should never draw again full stop, which I felt rather steep.) It was going to be interesting, either way.

With those slight niggles, I chickened out of the Reddit element and went for a selfie… so it’s not really a S-Reddit Saturday, much to my shame, but ah well. I think, with the even lesser times, I might do a mixture of selfies and a selection of Reddit Gets Drawn subjects. It would seem a bit remiss to devote a whole post to one thirty-second scribble, and at least that way I’ll offend myself as well as others.

As I say every week, I panicked like crazy, but the time actually seemed a little slower than anticipated. The general shape is actually quite accurate, given it was done in just a few (albeit quite patient) strokes, and I’m quite pleased with the much-feared lips, but the eyes and definitely the nose stand out for the wrong reasons; they’re totally off and time was up before I came to improving them. The hair is hilarious. It was bed hair, but not that much bed hair. It’s another symptom of the hectic; it’s a mercy/cheat really that I’m doing these on Photoshop, where I can alter paint flow and make the brush ten times larger in just a few taps.

It does looks familiar, so I guess it’s successful in that respect. I just chuckle at the hair. Too much.

I’m kind of hoping for an even shorter time limit next; the no-nonsense boundaries made for an exciting challenge, even if the result turned out a bit rubbish in places. Wheel have to see what comes up next time…

21 comments
  1. I think it looks really cool! May I add this to my #SelfieArt Day compilation post?

    Like

    • Jacob said:

      I’ve never been accused of looking cool before, Teresa 😉 By all means include it if you wish – thanks so much!

      Liked by 1 person

      • The more the merrier! Thanks for your permission. 🙂 I’m shocked no one’s said you look cool before. Maybe the bed-head look suits you? 😉

        Liked by 1 person

      • Jacob said:

        No problem! Thank you for including it in such a wonderful collection. I’ll try and do a slightly better one for the next time!

        Ha ha! Perhaps, though to be honest it looks a state bed-head or not. I just let it do its own thing these days – if I respect it, it might stick around longer 😉 It’s been called many things, but cool isn’t one of them… so thanks!

        Like

  2. Lee Hesketh said:

    It has that same look of bad boy in it so its definitely a good likeness!

    Like

    • Jacob said:

      Haha, oh I’m perma-bad boy, Lee, of course. Thank you…

      Liked by 1 person

      • Lee Hesketh said:

        I’m very pleased to hear that! And you brought back the face fuzz too!

        Like

      • Jacob said:

        Yes, I do base my appearance on the opinions of those online who have never seen me in person… or, I couldn’t be bothered to shave. Either way’s good!

        Liked by 1 person

  3. Carol King said:

    I like your sketch even though I have no idea what you look like. 🙂 I trust that there is a resemblance, but even if there isn’t, I still like your sketch.

    Like

    • Jacob said:

      Thanks so much, Carol! I’m so pleased you like it – I’m not so sure myself if my style goes well with these tight constraints, but it’s certainly fun to give them a go.

      Like

  4. anik94 said:

    I think you did a great job for 15 mins Jacob, crop the hair off and its quite great.

    Like

    • Jacob said:

      Thanks Anik. Yes, I do think the hair lets it down a little – it was because of the time. I just find it amusing, though, as it’s me!

      Liked by 1 person

  5. Hi Jacob – you have early morning look, amazing! Can you draw my portrait from photo, please. I will pay to you…
    ❤ Camilla Thanks in advance

    Like

    • Jacob said:

      Thanks so much, Camilla. Early morning look at around 2pm! 😉

      As for the portrait, I would certainly be interested. Could you e-mail me at jl_sutton3@hotmail.com with some more information as to what you want, and I’ll see what I can do.

      Like

  6. The lip smirk is my favorite. The raised brow is playful. Like it,yes.

    Like

    • Jacob said:

      I do smirk an awful lot and my left eyebrow has a life of its own, so they seemed appropriate. Thank you – this time limit business is a bit ‘uncharted territory’, so I’m glad you like what came of it!

      Like

  7. Rebecca said:

    How cheeky do you look? It looks like you were daring yourself to do a good job! A bit of personality coming through there? This seems to be a good result to me. 🙂

    Like

    • Jacob said:

      Hahaha, I wish I was this cheeky! I’m really rather boring. Honest 😉 So glad that character is coming through in such a quick (for me, anyway) and rather wobbly exercise. Thanks Rebecca!

      Liked by 1 person

Talk to me!

