Clinging Together – Commissioned!

camilla-and-freddie

This was a bit of a milestone for me – my first ever commissioned drawing! I was thrilled to create this with the direction and vision of friend and long-time follower Camilla, queen of the My Freddie Mercury site. You only need look at the blog for a second to see how hugely important Freddie is to Camilla, so I wasn’t much surprised when I was briefed…

Based on a quick sketch of Freddie I did a while back, the idea was to incorporate the two of them in a portrait of a similar nature, with detail focusing on the T-zone of the face and vanishing from there. Suggesting unity was something of a challenge; the photographs available were of vastly different lighting, and Freddie was looking toward us while Camilla was looking to the side -I had to carefully alter the gaze of both faces in an attempt to show closeness. While my initial goal of them gazing lovingly into each other’s eyes didn’t come true no matter how much I rotated, twisted and resized either face, I actually think the expressions turned out rather well; there’s an implication of care and shared comfort between the subjects, which I think suitably befitting of their unique connection, while hopefully also resonating with any fan of Freddie’s music.

It went through several iterations over a couple of days, under Camilla’s tutelage. The final piece, Clinging Together – which comes A2 in size – went down very well indeed, so that’s me well and truly chuffed! How enriching it was to be making stuff for others, after a long time doing it for fun. My sincere thanks to Camilla for entrusting me with something so obviously important.

If you have something cool or crazy in mind and would like me to try and visualise it for you, feel free to get in touch on here and we’ll take it from there. I’d certainly love to hear from you!

21 comments
    • Jacob said:

      Thanks so much, Teresa… very encouraging to hear! It did take a bit of fiddling, but I’m really pleased with the result – I can see Freddie putting his arm around Camilla.

      Liked by 3 people

  1. Lee Hesketh said:

    Congratulations on your commission! You’ll be rich soon Jay I’m sure. Picture works really well, not surprise Camilla loved it.

    Liked by 1 person

    • Jacob said:

      Aw, thanks so much, Lee! It was a very welcome surprise to be enlisted for such a duty, and it was a lot of fun to work on.

      Liked by 2 people

      • Lee Hesketh said:

        Would you do me?? I’m talking a picture/art before you get your hopes up.

        Liked by 1 person

      • Jacob said:

        Oh, Mr. Hesketh, you appear to know me far too well. I would be thrilled to do you! If you are actually interested and weren’t saying that purely to have me imply a sexual attraction, then do by all means send me an e-mail.

        Liked by 1 person

  2. Hi everybody, I want big thanks to Jacob. His art is amazing and for me, however, means much more – there are memories, beautiful memories. Thank you all, who love this beautiful picture. With love ❤ Camilla

    Liked by 2 people

    • Jacob said:

      Thank you once more, Camilla, for asking me to do this for you.

      Liked by 1 person

  3. Geke Hop-Wassink said:

    Very beautiful indeed

    Like

  4. This is awesome!! Love it! And seriously…first ever commissioned drawing?! That’s just wrong friend…you’re awesome! You need to be getting many many more of these!! ❤️😃

    Liked by 1 person

    • Jacob said:

      I knowww, it’s a travesty that I’m not raking in six figures from the demand, isn’t it? One day!

      Thanks so much Charlie, as always… perhaps instead of the speed dial, I can get my parrot to mimic your kind and encouraging comments!

      Liked by 1 person

      • Oh wow…that would be awesome! But in the meantime…I’m a bit like a parrot. Always telling people to DO! DO! DO! So that works as well. 😊

        Liked by 1 person

      • Jacob said:

        Haha! You should totally get one then – what a double act it’d be! I’m picturing you with one on your shoulder and it is marvellous.

        Liked by 1 person

      • Jacob said:

        Aye aye cap’n – I so should and would! I always wanted to be a pirate. I’m sure you’d look SO menacing in the garb 😛

        Liked by 2 people

  5. Sabine said:

    wow, that´s one fine portrait of Freddie Mercury ! So well done!

    Like

    • Jacob said:

      Thanks so much! I adore Freddie, so I’m very pleased you think I did well.

      Like

      • Sabine said:

        Oh yes, he was outstanding, and his art remains uncompared to this day…
        I wish you lots and lots of success with your art as well! All the best from Paris, Sabine.

        Liked by 1 person

      • Jacob said:

        Totally agree. There’s no-one close.

        My sincere thanks for your well wishes, Sabine – I appreciate it so much!

        Liked by 1 person

Talk to me!

