Time-Tested: 30

reddit-05-30

Another Saturday spin, and after last week getting excited at the prospect of doing some super-quick sketches, my big round overlord for these challenges, the Wheel of Time, decided to be cruel and only very nearly granted me my wish. It landed on 30 MINUTES. I’m thinking of altering the spaces on the wheel as the weeks go on in a bid to ensure variety, but I’m unsure; perhaps doing several exercises of the same duration would be even better?

For a change and a slightly easier ride, I moved away from people this week, but didn’t move away from Reddit Gets Drawn. There’s often a healthy glut of cute animal pictures to choose from, and yet again I wasn’t disappointed. I initially was to draw two cats, but then I happened upon this character; an adorable dog indeed, topped off by the suitable look of ‘really?’ to the birthday hat.

Considering I didn’t start shading until around nine minutes in (I now have a stopwatch with an alarm in front of me and everything… I take this extremely seriously!) I think it came out quite well! It’s probably my favourite of these challenges so far. I would have liked to have worked on and around the eyes a bit more, and the nose is a bit off, because, as you do, I completely forgot to even begin shading it… it was still white with about six or seven minutes left, and I panicked like mad with it. It was the same with the hat… I was sitting there touching bits of shading up as time was reaching its end and then scrolled up and realised I hadn’t even touched it! It’s much more snazzy and festive in the photograph.

This was such a ridiculous amount of fun to draw. I shall endeavour to do more animals, timed or not – as both character and subject, they put us to shame!

I wonder what time limit we’ll be dealt by the nasty spinning wheel next week? Isn’t it exciting – I bet you’re all on tenterhooks all week wondering, aren’t you? Wheel have to see what happens! (Have I done that one in a previous post? Probably have. Oh well.)

20 comments
    • Jacob said:

      I know – I was chuckling for a while at how sweet a photograph it was. They do know how to work the camera!

      Liked by 1 person

  1. Geke Hop-Wassink said:

    So cute, he is adorable 😆

    Like

    • Jacob said:

      Isn’t he just, Geke? I want a dog now after doing this – I’d better stay away from the pet shops for a little while! 😉

      Liked by 1 person

      • Geke Hop-Wassink said:

        I know the feeling, had dogs all my life, but not anymore, so now I have a cat, also nice but……..Where the heart is, but can’t because of my health, too bad 😦

        Like

      • Jacob said:

        That’s a shame, though fortunate that you have a cat – they too are wonderful companions! 🙂

        Like

      • Geke Hop-Wassink said:

        Yes, they sure are

        Liked by 1 person

  2. You got its look of displeasure down…LOL! And, yeah, it’s still a cutie.

    Like

    • Jacob said:

      Thanks, Teresa! Haha, I know, it was the icing on the cake for me – had to give it a go!

      Liked by 1 person

  3. tampa1401 said:

    I adopted Milo in early July. It was his brother, Jessie’s, 1st birthday. My boyfriend took the picture, said Milo was only still for a few seconds. Glad you like him. He is a lot of fun, but not so much when he insists most mornings at 4am on a a walk!

    Liked by 1 person

    • Jacob said:

      Ah, thanks so much for dropping in, and for following!

      Haha! Yes, Jack Russells are so full of energy, aren’t they? But indeed, they are bursting with character, as Milo perfectly demonstrates.

      Liked by 1 person

  4. This is awesome!! Please do more animals!! I love the eyes…you really captured them beautifully. And that expression is priceless! Hehe

    Like

    • Jacob said:

      Thanks Charlie – for the amount of time I spent on them, the catch lighting of the eyes turned out really well! It’s just the surroundings that look a bit off, as I didn’t have time to go back.

      I’d certainly like to do more – I have enough of the blinkin’ things to use as reference. It’s about time they made themselves useful!

      Liked by 1 person

      • Hehe…it looks awesome! Great as is…and you’ve inspired me to try a pet. I think I’ll try a cat, since it’s Halloween month here still. Hehe

        Liked by 1 person

      • Jacob said:

        Yay – great to hear! I’ll look forward to it.

        Liked by 1 person

  5. Fantastic expression on the dog’s face and beautifully drawn despite/because of the time limit!

    Like

    • Jacob said:

      Thanks so much! Yes, the pros of these harshly timed drawings are that focus is high, and there’s no risk of overworking!

      Liked by 1 person

    • Jacob said:

      Haha! Milo’s winning quite a few fans over here – I agree, he’s wonderful. Thanks so much!

      Liked by 1 person

Talk to me!

