Time-Tested: 45

reddit6-45

Do you remember me saying last week about how seriously I was taking these timed practices? Well, it got to 5 o’clock this afternoon and I’d completely forgotten to do or even prepare one. That’s dedication for you.

NEVER MIND. It’s Saturday, and, as is now a long-standing tradition, I treat myself and spin a colourful and sparkly wheel that doesn’t actually exist. This week it gave 45 MINUTES to try and complete a drawing from the Reddit community. Reddit Gets Drawn throws up so many intriguing shots of a fantastic range of models – I highly recommend it to anybody who wants to practice portraiture. That being the way, there were so many potential candidates for this week, but the fantastic hair of this woman ultimately won me over.

As the clock ticked, my confidence in it swung back and forth, but I think considering some of my longer challenges that have preceded, it has turned out quite well. Maybe these exercises are beginning to pay off! There are areas of shading that need more care – most of the neck, the chin, the ear – and I didn’t get to do much with the hoodie, but I did better than expected with the time afforded. To be honest, I was just itching to get to the hair… it was a lot of fun, and I just wish I could have spent longer on it!

There are some marvellous and far superior answers to the submission pitched by other users of the Reddit. Do go and have a look at them!

Until next week – if I remember!

24 comments
  1. Rebecca said:

    That’s a pretty good 45 mins! What a great portrait. 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

    • Jacob said:

      Thanks Rebecca! It did turn out quite well for the time; I think it’s a focus thing. I tend to wander and get distracted when doing my other drawings – having the clock is scary, but seems to work!

      Liked by 1 person

  2. Geke Hop-Wassink said:

    I love the drawing and her hair is dancing on her head, she looks great.
    I noticed with time tested, you getting better and better 😆 I really like this drawing, great job Jacob 👍👌⌚🍷 cheers

    Like

    • Jacob said:

      Cheers to you, Geke! I raise my glass of cola to you. I’m so pleased you can see an improvement in these tests – I certainly can. It’s a great feeling, and indeed confirms their worth – I shall continue to do them!

      Liked by 1 person

      • Geke Hop-Wassink said:

        Cheers, can’t wait till next time tested, and I love the animals you wrote, but maybe something of Charles Dickens??? I dont know if this is posible in time tested, but love the caracters from his stories 😉 Have a great Sunday evening and I’m looking forward to your next drawing ❤

        Liked by 1 person

      • Jacob said:

        Hmm, that’s an idea, something a little more illustrative, perhaps… it can sometimes get a little stagnant, trying to be as realistic as I do currently. I’ll think about it – thanks, Geke! No idea what’s coming next, we’ll have to see what takes my fancy!

        Liked by 1 person

      • Geke Hop-Wassink said:

        Thank you for liking the idea of the Charles Dickens idea, it just plopped in my mind 😀 You must think Im crazy, but that was what happened haha 😉 Good Night

        Liked by 1 person

      • Jacob said:

        It was a bit left-field, but so is my blog… it follows no patterns, so anything is possible! And I wouldn’t worry about being thought crazy. Crazies are very interesting! 😉

        Liked by 1 person

      • Geke Hop-Wassink said:

        We say in Holland, you can better be called crazy by your friends or yourseld, when the docter tells you, than you have a serious problem 😀 Thanks Jacob for being so kind 😉

        Liked by 1 person

      • Jacob said:

        Haha! There’s a lot of truth in that saying!

        Liked by 1 person

  3. Lee Hesketh said:

    Mister Jay these are going so well, you’re on such a roll! Looks sooo good and see what you can do in 45 mins! I think the time limits are working because you don’t get to overwork the people as much.

    Like

    • Jacob said:

      Ha, ‘Mister Jay’. Like The Joker? 😉 Thanks, Lee – you’re absolutely right. While it sometimes restricts me doing stuff that needs doing, the clock also prevents me from the dread of overwork. It’s strict (and handy!) like that.

      Liked by 1 person

  4. That is a super nice portrait! The woman looks stunning! I need to check out the Reddit Gets Drawn page…when I can find some time. 🙂

    Like

    • Jacob said:

      Thanks, Teresa! Yeah, do go and have a peek – it’s a really handy resource!

      Liked by 1 person

  5. Oh yeah….it’s paying off in spades, friend! This is awesome!! That expression is priceless and the shading is just masterful! Draw on!! Draw on!! Hehe…you’re sooo good!! 😃

    Like

    • Jacob said:

      Yes, it went better than I was anticipating; one of the pros/cheats of doing these in Photoshop is I can make the brush ginormous and go crazy in not much time. Glad you like what came of it, Elaine – thanks very much!

      Like

    • Jacob said:

      Thanks, Rachel! It did turn out very fortunately – I was dead chuffed! Photoshop and the ability to change brush size/strength in seconds probably makes it a bit of a cheat, but never mind about that 😉

      Like

Talk to me!

