Mini Me

youngselfie-0

I’m the one on the left, if you’re wondering.

With the very kind response to my Time-Tested challenge of a child, I decided to have a go at another kid (drawing, you understand, rather than yelling). With that, I thought it most appropriate to just go to, reputedly, the biggest kid of all: me! This is oneself, circa two years old, actually not watching Countdown or playing Scrabble, and instead enjoying some quality time with one of my most treasured companions. I had him for about fifteen years, and yet, I don’t think I ever named him. He was so cool, though; you squeezed his belly and, on release, he’d let out this raucous, strident roar. It used to drive everyone but me completely crazy, which of course only compelled me to do it more.

And yes, those ears. Weren’t they something? I think I’ve instinctively shrunk them a little, actually – they probably ought to have been a touch larger. I believe today they’re roughly around the same size – I just grew into them.

I used a newly-concocted brush here – a rougher and more textured preset, in an attempt to lead to a suitably naive finish. I’m not sure I let myself go as much as I would have liked with it – you can see elements of it coming through, but I think I got a bit scared mid-piece and reverted to how I normally work for the most part. I fear mini me would scowl and propel his beloved toy at me with some force if he were here – he wouldn’t have been so bashful. It’s why children will always be the most genuine artists: all play, no fear. Make like your two-year old self and be bold, be daring! Just be sure to wear a more tasteful jumper. Yeesh.

28 comments
  1. Lee Hesketh said:

    You were even mischievous as a kid… I love!

    Like

    • Jacob said:

      Oh Lee, I was so naughty as a child – honestly, you haven’t the faintest 😉

      Liked by 1 person

      • Lee Hesketh said:

        Well now I wanna know!

        Like

      • Jacob said:

        That’s a story for another day, methinks!

        Liked by 1 person

  2. Geke Hop-Wassink said:

    You were an adorable kid, and you are right, children play and see and have no fear at that age. Love your companion 😉
    Great drawing ❤

    Liked by 1 person

    • Jacob said:

      Aw, thanks Geke! My companion is stealing the show here, though.

      It’s that saying isn’t it: youth is wasted on the young! If only we were as brave and fearless as adults.

      Liked by 1 person

      • Geke Hop-Wassink said:

        Yes, that would be interesting, if we adults were still as brave and fearless, as we were children. But again a bautiful drawing, I like it a lot ❤

        Like

      • Jacob said:

        Thanks so much!

        Like

    • Jacob said:

      I know – I wanted to! It just took so long for me to get it to any moderately post-worthy level, and I completely missed the boat.

      Glad it apparently tickled you though, Teresa!

      Liked by 1 person

  3. Wonderful drawing!! Awwww…well weren’t you a little cutie, ears and all! Though it’s nice you grew into them. I had the same issue with my feet. And your little friend is adorable! You you name him still…it’s never too late!! Something bold and daring! 😉👍🏻

    Liked by 1 person

    • Jacob said:

      Ha – thanks Charlie! I hear that. To be honest, I still haven’t grown into my feet/flippers.

      I guess you’re right! I’ll have to go and rescue him first, and hope he forgives me for these years of neglect.

      Liked by 1 person

      • Jacob said:

        Ha! This just makes me sound like an angry seal.

        Liked by 1 person

      • Jacob said:

        Eek!! This would genuinely make my day – I love seals so much!

        Liked by 1 person

      • Jacob said:

        Yes, I’m rather excited to see what you’re going to do next! I’ll just sit here willing a seal to pop up somewhere 😉

        Liked by 1 person

  4. Very cool portrait of your mini me. And, you right, what was your mother thinking dressing you in that jumper! Haha.

    Liked by 1 person

    • Jacob said:

      Thanks Sharon – I’m glad you agree on that jumper. It’s likely second-hand from the 80s (and my older brother), but I still don’t think that’s excuse enough!

      Liked by 1 person

    • Jacob said:

      Haha – thanks, Layla! I’m still quite sweet, y’know 😉

      Liked by 1 person

  5. Carol King said:

    so cute! (even if you do say you were a naughty child.)

    Like

    • Jacob said:

      Thanks, Carol! Yeah, I was pretty bad… but only because I was interested in (breaking) stuff!

      Like

    • Jacob said:

      Thanks, Rebecca – I did the best I could with the subject 😉 I loved that toy! Still do!

      Liked by 1 person

Talk to me!

