Time-Tested: 20

reddit8-x-andre20

Anybody want a peanut?

The Saturday spin is here again – it’s especially early this time around, isn’t it? This week, the Wheel of Time gave me 20 MINUTES to knock out a drawing. This was a space I’d been looking forward to tackling, with it being the halfway house between the 15 MINUTES and 30 MINUTES exercises, whose results saw quite a difference in quality.

I’m skipping the Reddit bit this week, as I didn’t find a spooky-goofy Halloween one that took my fancy, which was a bit of a shame – I expect they’ll appear in flood-loads now that I’ve done something else. I did actually do one of a chap in goggles and surgical mask covered in blood, but indeed thought that a little too gruesome to post. So, I just went to the scariest guy I could think of: André the Giant, of course, looking most unhappy, and clearly coming for you. I’ve sketched André countless times over the years. I love to do so, as I find him a captivating subject for obvious reasons, however, I’ve never tried this swiftly before, so it was sure to be interesting.

I used the same brush that I used on Mini Me – I wish I could say through design, but actually it was just because I forgot to switch back before starting to draw. The colour overlay doesn’t make it darker as I hoped it would, but it makes the image as a whole look better than it probably deserves, softening the variation in skin tone and thus appearing smoother, though visibly there are strokes which stick out like a sore thumb – I’m not entirely sure what’s going on around the clavicle, but it was over too quickly to fret about such things. I was going like a madman on this, to be honest, partly because of the time limit, and equally just because of the time! I’m quite chuffed with the face, though – it has a markedly different feel to my normal plan of attack, and that’s pleasing!

Well, that’s time up for another week – back to Reddit victims next week!

17 comments
  1. Jacob, when your blog has opened I made a step back. He is scary. His eyes OMG. Drawing is perfect. ***Camilla

    Like

    • Jacob said:

      Thanks so much, Camilla! Indeed, he had incredibly scary eyes – they’re what used to frighten me as a youngster. Now I just find him charasmatic and a bit outrageous, as most wrestlers were/are!

      Like

  2. André the Giant!! Yay! Recognized him immediately. 20 minutes worked out well! The face is so well done… such a cool intensity with a looser style! Yep… All in all…I say…winning spin my friend! 👍🏻😃

    Like

    • Jacob said:

      Wooo at having won (what have I won?) – thanks, Charlie! Yes, I think it makes him look a lot madder. When they go right, these impulse sketches are really refreshing!

      Liked by 1 person

  3. I knew immediately who it was even before I read your post! Awesome drawing!

    Like

    • Jacob said:

      Thanks so much, Teresa – glad to hear I captured such an otherwise inimitable figure!

      Like

  4. laylalalas said:

    I love Andre in The Princess Bride, its one of my favourite films. Great painting!

    Like

    • Jacob said:

      Thanks, Layla. I’ve not seen the film the whole way through, but André’s role in the film seems to be very positively received by both fans and critics.

      Liked by 1 person

      • laylalalas said:

        He was good 🙂

        Like

    • Jacob said:

      Hmm! I presume it was his turning up in a one-strap singlet that put you off.

      Thanks so much for popping in, and being compelled to follow. Welcome!

      Like

Talk to me!

