Gone But Not Forgotten: Citrus Polos

polos

“An orgasmic convulsion of flavour and love.” – Bring Back Citrus Sharp Polos Facebook page

This is mainly thanks to Charlie O’Shields, whose tempting doodlewash to recognise National Candy Day sparked the conversation and deliberation as to what our favourite sweets actually were. In today’s climate, Skittles are without a doubt the top for me, but there was a halcyon day when the taste of the rainbow faced stiff, luminous-green competition.

That competition came from the almighty Citrus Polo. Zesty and zingy, these were quite patently the best Polos ever, dethroning Spearmint with impressive ease.

From my recollection, they weren’t around for very long; they seemed to appear sometime in the late 90s, but by the mid 2000s they had vanished altogether. They were truly amazing, and there have been few moments more devastating than that when I realised they were no longer around.

Come to think of it, you don’t seem to see many Polos at all these days. Another favourite used to be the boiled sweet Fruit Polos, which I haven’t seen for years. Buttermint Polos – gone. Smoothie Polos – gone. Gummy Polos – gone. These are really quite harrowing times for Polo fans.

I’m not the only one who remembers these wondrous things; there have been several petitions to bring them back, and likewise a smattering of Facebook groups have been created for the cause. Admittedly, none of these have boasted a stampede of supporters, so any revival at present looks depressingly distant (wipes away tear). But we shall live forever in hope.

Sigh. Sweet memories.

22 comments
  1. I have never even heard of these before and now I want some…dang it!

    Like

    • Jacob said:

      Oh dear, Teresa – that’s awful that you never got to experience them. Perhaps we need to go and protest outside Polo HQ! They’d soon give in to us, I’m sure 😛

      Liked by 1 person

  2. Wonderful drawing, the foil wrapper is so cool. I’ve never heard a citrus polo. Looks good though.

    Liked by 1 person

    • Jacob said:

      Thanks, Sharon! I like the foil – it was refreshing and fun after all the precision of the tube.

      Liked by 1 person

  3. Haha!!! YES!!!!! You did it friend!! And damn…they look so enticing like you could pluck them right off the page! 😳😳But you can’t!! They’re gone!! Ohhh the agony!! I want them more than ever now!! 😥😥

    Liked by 1 person

    • Jacob said:

      I did! What better way to spend my Friday evening? I can only apologise on Polo’s behalf for you being denied these orgasmic, convulsive drugs. Fingers crossed one day they see sense and bring them back! Or you could join Teresa and I, and stand outside their HQ with placards.

      Liked by 1 person

      • Haha! I’ve never been good with just standing around…I get too impatient and fidgety so I’m the worst protester ever. Actually I’ve never tried to protest anything in my life, but I can imagine that’s how it would be. But I guess it’s a small price to pay for orgasmic candy 😊

        Liked by 1 person

      • Jacob said:

        Hm, that’s a good point… then it must be a protest march! I’ve got it all figured out 😉 People will join in on the way for sure – by the time we reach the headquarters, there’ll be at least four of us.

        I’ve never protested either. When I was at uni, the tutors were protesting seemingly every couple of months over their wages. It was quite hilarious to see them standing outside shouting with banners and everything, in one of the quietest areas in all of Norwich. The odd passer-by would just look puzzled.

        Liked by 1 person

      • Haha…that’s a rather sad protest… much like our march for Citrus Polos. Four is an exceedingly optimistic number. Lol

        Liked by 1 person

  4. I too never knew there was citrus polos. All I have ever seen is white mint/menthol. Nice drawing.

    Like

    • Jacob said:

      Thanks so much! I’m not sure where they were available or for how long, but you can be sure it wasn’t long enough!

      Liked by 1 person

  5. Hi Jacob, on the spring I will in Europe. In Slovakia and Czech republic and I will buy candies for you. I love them too. Last year I brought home around 50 pieces. My kids and Daddy love them. Your drawing smell beautiful today…😛

    Like

    • Jacob said:

      Aw, that’s a wonderfully sweet gesture Camilla, but you don’t have to buy sweets for little ole me! 🙂 This is fantastically exciting, though – are Citrus Polos still available there? I’m off to investigate! Thanks very much!

      Liked by 1 person

  6. Lee Hesketh said:

    These look amazing! Amazing on the wrapping. I don’t remember every having them but now I wish I had done, they need to come back so I can have a taste!!

    Like

    • Jacob said:

      You were deprived, Lee. Thanks! You can help by joining in on this mounting crusade – at least four at the moment, possibly five or six if we’re lucky!

      Liked by 1 person

  7. Hi Jay,
    Thanks for the likes on my blog……you have some wonderful drawings here! I also have never heard of this (apparently) wonderous candy, but I’m sure your rendering did it justice! 🙂

    Karen

    Like

    • Jacob said:

      Hi Karen! It’s a pleasure! I’m so glad Charlie featured you on doodlewash; your work with figure is quite stunning and I look forward to more. Thanks for dropping in!

      Like

    • Jacob said:

      Cheers, JP! I wish it were a photograph – that’d mean they were still in my clutches. Sigh.

      Like

  8. Wow yes, I had forgotten about them, I loved them , I vote bring them back +++++++ add jolly ranchers / spangles to the list too. Great drawing, and thanks for the blast from the passed, now talking sweets!

    Liked by 1 person

    • Jacob said:

      Thanks, Rebecca! Always good to have someone else on board to bring them back – weren’t they incredible!? I can’t believe they were discontinued.

      Like

Talk to me!

