Time-Tested: 90

reddit9-90-g

Here we go again, around and around the wheel goes and the people of Reddit Gets Drawn cower in the thought that I might have to draw them – perhaps in seconds. Well, thankfully that wasn’t the case this week – the wheel actually landed on 20 minutes again, but for now I’m not doing repeats, so I spun again and was given 90 MINUTES to work with a volunteer. Hmm, the wheel seems to have something against picking any of the sub-60 second spaces, which I think are going to be the most fun/terrifying… but alas, we must never question its motive.

There were a few credible candidates this time around, but ultimately my attention fell to this. It’s quite an eye-catcher of a photograph – interesting lighting, a handsome pose, and the inclusion of the collar and shoulder, parts of the body that I find quite tricky, as I probably demonstrated in my rush with André the Giant last week, so the prospect of practice here in so many different areas wasn’t to be sniffed at.

With a (mostly) ginormous soft brush, this actually came together rather quickly, and I was largely happy with it with ten or twelve minutes still to go. Never one to waste precious time in an exam, though, I began playing around with colours and created a Gradient Map that would warm the tones up with a heavy orange, but also have that offset by a deep blue in darker areas. The result is as you see – quite nice, though I’m not entirely sure if I should have tampered with it. I shall let you be judge! Even if he does look a touch older around the eyes than the photograph suggests – sorry about that! – I’m pleased with the general finish, and the main thing, I had a lot of fun.

Here’s the thread, which contains several other fun interpretations of this engaging gentleman.

See you here next week!

20 comments
  1. Attractive man, your beautiful drawing. Some parts of his face are very close to Freddie’s… upper lip with mustache and nose. Freddie was not dark as this man. Maybe I’m crazy when I see everywhere Freddie. ❤ Camilla

    Liked by 1 person

    • Jacob said:

      Thanks Camilla – it’s a great pose and indeed he is a very commanding subject. I see the similarities in the mouth now that you mention them. Nicely spotted!

      Like

  2. Lee Hesketh said:

    He certainly is an eye catcher Jay….you’ve painted an inviting and attractive guy. Absolutely mind bogglingly good on the lips – so nice!!

    Liked by 1 person

    • Jacob said:

      Thanks, Lee – I’m pleased you noted the lips; they fell together with surprising ease. Normally, it’s an almighty struggle to get anything closely resembling a mouth!

      Liked by 1 person

  3. Geke Hop-Wassink said:

    He is beautiful, he looks a bit like he see something, but can’t believe it, but maybe it’s my imagination, but your drawing of him is such a great drawing. I really like it a lot, thank you Jacob for all these amazing drawings ❤

    Like

    • Jacob said:

      He does look very thoughtful. It’s good that my drawing is making you think and create a context – that means I did a decent job!

      It’s a pleasure, Geke. Thank you for continuing to view them!

      Liked by 1 person

      • Geke Hop-Wassink said:

        Thank you for drawing Jacob and I will keep on following 😉

        Liked by 1 person

    • Jacob said:

      Thanks, Teresa! Once I’d done it and the time had run out, I was a bit concerned that my colouring had actually diluted some of the atmosphere of the pose, but I’m glad to hear it still packs a punch!

      Liked by 1 person

    • Jacob said:

      Thanks, Sharon! The blend of atmospheric and inviting was what pulled me toward the photograph. It’s a great shot!

      Liked by 1 person

  4. This is fabulous Jacob! It’s such a dramatic piece with that crop and the lighting. I like the addition of the blues, makes it even more cinematic. I still can get over how brilliant you are with faces…I keep studying them hoping I’ll learn something! Hehe 😊😊

    Liked by 1 person

    • Jacob said:

      Ooh, I do like ‘cinematic’ – thanks Charlie!

      Ha, that’s sweet, though I’m not sure how much you’ll learn from my stuff! If you really want to learn, there’s a great book, Carrie Stuart-Parks’ suitably titled Secrets to Drawing Realistic Faces, which was a godsend to me when I began; very easy to follow and useful tips throughout. You should see some of the final portraits in there too – mind-blowing!

      Liked by 1 person

  5. Tori said:

    Excellent drawing, the values are spot on. A good job, well done 😀👍

    Liked by 1 person

  6. Rebecca said:

    Very nice portrait indeed for your 90 mins – I particularly love the sheen on the skin and the way you’ve treated the eyes.

    Liked by 1 person

    • Jacob said:

      Thanks, Rebecca! I love the eyes on this chap, they’re so big and deep – it was a lot of fun to try and capture them.

      Liked by 1 person

Talk to me!

