20 comments
  1. Lee Hesketh said:

    Good work Jay, I cant wait to see what you do with it next. Speccy stuff looks fun!! I love the blocks too, I think it’s the best logo around. But I do hate the new idents, they’re trying to be too ‘art student’ for me.

    Like

    • Jacob said:

      Thanks, Lee! The Spectrum work was intense, and though I probably should go back and do it again, I don’t think I will! My brain was turning to mush – not my specialty by any stretch. I see your point on the idents; I’m still a little unsure of their lack of a completed logo, no matter how familiar the 4 is. But they are something quite different, you can’t deny that! I really like the Simpsons one.

      Liked by 1 person

  2. I know the CHANNEL 4, not all. Some shows from Channel 4 were also on TV In Canada.
    But I found there jewel – video from 2014 Queen + Adam with Freddie too – Love of my Life and Killer Queen – sooooo beautiful.
    Where are you Freddie ??? I really miss you ❤ Camilla

    Liked by 1 person

    • Jacob said:

      Indeed, programmes they show are often distributed around the world. It’s a big revenue stream for them and the production companies.

      Well, I’m glad you found that! I won’t have watched it as I’m not too keen on Adam Lambert, but that’s just me. Enjoy!!

      Like

  3. I’m not familiar with these blocks, but love that you like to play with blocks as I do as well! Hehe 😉 I studied 3D animation in college which is likely why I never quite learned to draw well back then. But the render times made me crazy and so I gave up. I didn’t have the attention span. Philippe is the animator in the family now. Guess you have to have a lot of patience when you live with me! Lol

    Liked by 1 person

    • Jacob said:

      Yay for play! Thanks Charlie. We were never taught how to do 3D – I self-taught, which probably explains why I’m quite rickety with it… this was harder to animate than I anticipated, proof I’m still not completely sure what I’m doing!

      The render times drive me bonkers. The render here took about an hour, thanks to the motion blur. It’s probably not helped by the fact that my computer is from the stone age, but indeed, I get so impatient and just want to weep when I see single frame take several minutes!

      Liked by 1 person

      • Haha…I was crying all the time in college. Computers still weren’t quite made for that and my university didn’t quite have the top of the line. Philippe is an excellent 3D artist though, but has a fancy computer at his work. We he tries at home it nearly burns a hole in our MacBook Air! 😳

        Liked by 1 person

      • Jacob said:

        Oooh! Well, any time he fancies showing off his work, I’d love to see! 😉 I could do with the inspiration – the whole 3D thing is a bit of a slog for me but I’m persevering, just.

        Yes, best be easy on your computers – I completely fried my laptop by doing too much rendering on it! 😮

        Liked by 1 person

      • He’s need a blog or a portfolio site, but I can never get him to bother with it. Someday I’ll break down and make one for him. Hehe

        Liked by 1 person

  4. Tori said:

    Great post, a real trip down memory lane! I remember C4 launching as a kid to much excitement. My Son has been tinkering with an old ZX Spectrum that my husband had stashed away from his youth. Oh how he laughed when we told him that we had to type lines of code just to change the font colour and that games came on tapes (after we’d explained what tapes were
    !) 😄😄😄

    Liked by 1 person

    • Jacob said:

      Thanks, Tori!

      That’s fantastic – how brilliant that your husband kept it! I’m a 90s kid, so, while I didn’t see the Spectrum at its height, we still had one that belonged to my brother, and I was quite fascinated/perplexed by it, at least until we got a Sega Mega Drive. I think I used to get a tad stumped by the code at that age; I used to type in “play game please” and suchlike…

      Those awful loading noises, the time it used to take… and then of course the tape would fail and you’d have to start over. They were the days, eh!

      Liked by 1 person

      • Tori said:

        Ha, it’s probably the only useful thing he has kept out of the many piles of junk he keeps in the garage 😄. Those tapes were terrible, kids just don’t know how lucky they are nowadays…. 😄

        Liked by 1 person

    • Jacob said:

      Ha! To be honest, plenty, but it’s very sweet of you to say that. Thanks!

      Liked by 1 person

  5. Steve said:

    Nice job. What’s next? The BBC globe?

    Like

    • Jacob said:

      I hadn’t even thought of doing that – great idea Steve! I’ll have to see if I can do anything with it.

      (Oh, and thank you for following!)

      Liked by 1 person

      • Steve said:

        Your welcome. The BBC one always reminds me of when the broom cupboard had finished and neighbours was about to start. Ah happy days!

        Liked by 1 person

      • Jacob said:

        Definitely! It’s nice that the idents bring it all back. We used to love Neighbours back then ❤ not seen it much since it moved to Five, admittedly, but it's still kinda special.

        Liked by 1 person

Talk to me!

