Thrill Ride

terminator-01
For some unknown reason, I came over all ‘fairground’ today. An unfortunate symptom of this is having Simply Red’s Fairground in my head for the duration. Sigh. Did you know that was their only number one? You do now.

So anyway, I just decided to draw a fairground ride, and this beast caught my eye, not least for the fact that the flashy sign before it suggests it’s called Terminator, yet the scenery insists the name Imperator.

The reference I used for this was taken in daylight, and though the scenery and backdrop was probably more interesting, a fairground is at its best when the gaudy lights are on, no? So I tried to create a nighttime scene from it, using coloured ‘hard light’ blending over highlights. It was also a cheeky way of avoiding having to paint the scenery, which was a rather elaborate diorama that would have taken a year to do justice… so I just emphasised the disjointed moniker with some quick type.

It has a nostalgic value to it aswell. A version of this ride was central to our Pleasure Beach in the late 90s, where it was most definitely called Terminator. It’s similar to the now-common Top Spin attraction, except, as you can hopefully see in my drawing, the arms rotate independently, causing the gondola to move in all sorts of weird and wonderful directions. I was never brave enough to take on the Terminator, but I did enjoy watching the fools who did being flung head over heels, and screaming accordingly as they were thrown before the countenance of a giant Arnold Schwarzenegger.

Indeed, I was/still am a bit of a wuss when it comes to fairgrounds. I get the impression I’d probably enjoy some of these crazy contraptions, but it’s figuring out how to get me on them that’s the conundrum. As such, I tend to stick very much to the old faithfuls: the pirate ship, the waltzer, and most of all the dodgems – which I’m hoping to draw next.

All this ride talk is now making me want to play RollerCoaster Tycoon. Wasn’t that a glorious game… watching those hapless little guests wander onto your death-trap coasters, getting hopelessly lost in the most trivial of areas, and refusing to pay more than £1 for a go on your biggest rollercoaster?

Still, that little jump of glee – presumably for making it off the ride alive – before excitedly going in for a second go made it all worth it. Truly, one of the finest. If you haven’t played it, play it.

10 comments
  1. Tori said:

    Wow, love how you’ve captured the lights, pretty awesome! Another fan here of RollerCoaster Tycoon, me and my son spent many happy hours designing our dream theme parks when he was younger. Have to admit that we both still have a soft spot for it 😄

    Liked by 1 person

    • Jacob said:

      Thanks Tori – it didn’t come out quite as I expected, but it was still a lot of fun!

      Yay – I knew you had taste! RollerCoaster Tycoon is wonderful; there’s unlimited scope for creativity and it’s (still!) so rewarding when you build a roller coaster that works!

      Liked by 1 person

      • Tori said:

        Yes and watching all of those little folks dashing to next ride 😊 Funnily enough I was just thinking about you as I have just heard that the website to the real life Crystal Maze has crashed – it was you bulk buying the tickets wasn’t it? 😄😄😄

        Liked by 1 person

      • Jacob said:

        Haha, that’s hilarious! I cannot take responsibility for this one, honest – I don’t actually have a ticket for that!

        Liked by 1 person

      • Tori said:

        Ok, I’ll believe you 😉 Maybe you need to put a ticket on your Chistmas list

        Liked by 1 person

      • Jacob said:

        Good idea! I keep asking for a Crystal Maze of my own every year, but never get it 😦

        Liked by 1 person

  2. Lee Hesketh said:

    I loved RCT! It was amazing but I stuck totally to the kids rides, I didn’t like killing everyone.

    Liked by 1 person

    • Jacob said:

      Yes… it was a bit of a heart-stopping moment when those trains zoomed off the track, wasn’t it? Thanks, Lee! I knew you had taste 😉

      Liked by 1 person

  3. GED said:

    Dear Jacob, interesting lights, colors, framing, all. Congratulation! And always many thanks for your likes on my posts “Circus (entrance)”, “Props storage room” shown on my blog dispenza.wordpress.com

    Liked by 1 person

    • Jacob said:

      My thanks as ever, Edoardo, for your very kind words. Please keep up the great work!

      Like

Talk to me!

