Next Dimension: Time Crystals

crystal023
I don’t know where on earth this idea that I’m obsessed with The Crystal Maze has come from. I’ve only spoken briefly of it a couple of times, haven’t I? Well, as it happens, I’ve been encouraged to post about it (by a staggering two fellow bloggers) and with that I have a pair of Maze posts planned for December (admittedly one will be a repost of something I wrote for elsewhere, earlier in the year), so if I wasn’t coming over obsessed before, I probably will be later on.

Here’s the first. I decided to go back to my pledge to try and crack 3D modelling. And what better way to do that than to also try and crack The Crystal Maze? For those unaware, the team of six contestants travelled around a ginormous set… ‘the maze’… comprised of four ‘time zones’: Aztec, Industrial, Medieval and Futuristic. Each zone housed fiendish games, and when beaten, said games yield a time crystal. Each crystal won bought the team five seconds inside the Crystal Dome, the show’s hilarious (and blustery) finale.

The idea of achieving a realistic crystalline (or, to be boring, glass) texture, was a little daunting. It took a long time, and at times felt as though I was going in circles and not really knowing where to get off. I pressed a lot of buttons… most often, I’m sure, the wrong ones, but it was certainly an interesting experience, dealing with several channels of transparency, refraction, reflection and specular. I’ve shown my ‘progress’ in the selection of shots above. The caustics on the floor are a treat – I confess I’m not entirely sure how that happened.

When I’d done/had enough of texturing, I then applied dynamics to it and built a maze for it to roll around in – quite literally, a crystal maze. (So that’s why they shoehorned one of these into almost every series!)

It’s a pitifully easy maze – two minutes should be plenty enough. My second shot, though, is a reasonable estimation as to how the archetypal Crystal Maze contestant would likely have fared; just throw the screams of “COME OUT!” over a familiar harmonica riff, and the memories of Thursday night perfection will surely come flooding back.

It’s time for me to race toward the door and bang on it until someone sets me free, but in departing, here’s a clip for you; it’s very Crystal Maze indeed.

How I love Richard O’Brien.

19 comments
  1. Geke Hop-Wassink said:

    I dont know the game but like the crystals 😉

    Liked by 1 person

    • Jacob said:

      Thanks! I used to want one so badly as a child, now I have one… sort of!

      Liked by 1 person

      • Geke Hop-Wassink said:

        Lucky you, enjoy playing 😉

        Liked by 1 person

  2. Tori said:

    You like the Crystal Maze? I had know idea 😄

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Hi Jacob, beautiful crystal. I have three beautiful crystals I use them maybe for something other than you, what is important for me. They all three work good.
    Camilla

    Liked by 2 people

    • Jacob said:

      You lucky thing – I have to settle for digital models for the time being. I’d love to see them used somewhere! Thanks Camilla.

      Like

  4. Gorgeous crystal!! Your 3D skills are impressive…the caustics are great!! I can’t watch the video yet as I have to hold my phone a certain way to get any connection all where I’m at in Texas, but want to see it!! (It was lucky I was even able to get anything to post today! lol) Images loaded at least so that’s good! And they’re lovely! 😃👍🏻

    Liked by 1 person

    • Jacob said:

      Thanks Charlie! It’s all a bit ‘press this, tick that and hope it works out’ when it comes to 3D, I’m pleased you think it’s working! And I feel for you, apparently out in the sticks somewhere with no reception… sounds like Norfolk!

      Liked by 1 person

  5. Rebecca said:

    This is brilliant – I thought it was a photograph. Stunning work. And what a clip – the frustration! That’s what we love… 😉

    Liked by 1 person

    • Jacob said:

      Wow! Thanks so much, Rebecca. And indeed – I can’t watch that clip without seething. Why do we love it so? 😛 (Oh yes, I remember: Richard!)

      Liked by 1 person

  6. So love the clip of the Crystal Maze, hilarious, I miss it! And your crystal is so beautifully done.

    Liked by 1 person

    • Jacob said:

      Thanks so much, Phil – it was a bit ‘press this and see what happens’ (rather befitting a Crystal Maze exercise, I suppose!) but I’m pleased with the result! And I really miss the show too; thank goodness for reruns! 😉

      Like

  7. Bill Fufkin said:

    All the developments look great…nice work. B

    Liked by 1 person

Talk to me!

