Time-Tested: 180

reddit13-180B1

I have decided, after some debate recently, that I am going to continue with the timed challenges for the foreseeable; they’re challenging and fun! With that, I redressed the wheel with a fresh set of values, which should be sufficient for a couple more months of time-tested fun, at least. This time around I was given 180 minutes to work on a drawing referenced from the wondrous Reddit Gets Drawn.

And what a photograph we have this week! A stunning ensemble and wicked pose, I would have been a fool and a half not to have had a go with this. I was quickly thankful, though, that this was a three-hour exercise, as it’s unlikely I’d have got anywhere near completing the garment with anything less. I created the stripes using the polygonal lasso tool – it was a bit fiddly at times, but came out with smoother and more accurate lines than my brush strokes were doing on first attempt, and indeed the end result looks a slight departure from my usual angle, which is a positive, though I’m not sure if neglecting most skin tone was a good idea. In the dying moments, I added a sepia gradient map just to try and scream ‘period’ even more.

This would probably look lovelier as a vector piece if someone wanted to take to Illustrator (or similar) and give it a punt; my skills with vectors still leave a lot to be desired, and I didn’t fancy trying it in the time limit.

I enjoyed this. The outfit was a slog, but a fun one nevertheless.

Here is the comment thread, which contains many other lovely recreations of this photograph.

Until we spin again!

14 comments
  1. Bill Fufkin said:

    Lovely finish, smartly done. Great illustration. B

    Liked by 1 person

    • Jacob said:

      Thanks, Bill! I was pleased with how this turned out.

      Like

  2. Geke Hop-Wassink said:

    Beautiful ❤

    Liked by 1 person

    • Jacob said:

      Thanks, Geke – it came out better than I expected! 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

    • Jacob said:

      Why thank you, Cynthia! Just call me The Spinster. Or perhaps not.

      Liked by 1 person

  3. Wow!! This turned out great! Challenging subject, but a great choice. I really think it turned out perfectly! (And was so happy if actually loaded …if I hold my phone just so, I can barely get a connection! Lol😊)

    Liked by 1 person

    • Jacob said:

      Thanks, Charlie – this was so much to draw! Ha ha – you need to get them to sort it out! Or stand on a bench, perhaps? (I kid you not, there was genuinely a village somewhere locally, where, until recently, doing that was the only way to get any mobile signal whatsoever.)

      Liked by 1 person

      • Jacob said:

        It worked! Now just stay there for the rest of the day, and all will be dandy.

        Liked by 1 person

  4. this is great! i love it, and its tickels me to get sculpted 🙂 very inspirational…

    Liked by 1 person

Talk to me!

