Time-Tested: 55

reddit14-55

Just when you thought it was safe, here we go again! Another whirl of wittering as I hop over to Reddit Gets Drawn and insult the handsome volunteers of the site with time-tested (and sometimes patience-testing) drawings. This week, I was granted 55 minutes for such a pleasure.

With a powerful expression, striking facial features and wicked goatee, this photograph was hard to pass over. Mindful of trying to capture said features, I found myself spending longer on the outlines than I would normally have with a time limit so relatively short as this; the eyes took a particularly long time to get to the level you see. Consequently, these blunders impacted the time I had available for shading (I got to the shirt with about a minute left, so didn’t have time to complete it) so it didn’t turn out perhaps as well as I’d have liked – I think the dip in confidence is visible, compared to some of my other similar efforts. I think it’s a similar story to my 60 minute piece, which would make sense given the mere five-minute difference; happy likeness, not so ecstatic shading… but it was a fun exercise.

Be sure to give the comment thread a gander, as there are some particular beauties in there, far superior to this.

It’s getting close to Christmas, so I’m not sure if I’ll have time to do one of these next week. We’ll have to see! There’s suspenders for you.

21 comments
  1. Geke Hop-Wassink said:

    I like Jim 😉

    Liked by 1 person

    • Geke Hop-Wassink said:

      And don’t know why I called him Jim, it just happened 😆

      Liked by 1 person

      • Jacob said:

        Haha, I wonder if his name actually IS Jim – wouldn’t that be brilliant? We shall call him Jim from now on, whatever his true name. Thank you for liking Jim. 😉

        Liked by 1 person

    • Jacob said:

      Indeed, a very striking man – lovely cheekbones. Thank you for your comment!

      Liked by 1 person

  2. That is a wicked goatee, Jacob! And wonderfully rendered! He has quite an intense gaze! 😉 Things seem to be getting busy lately, and I’m sure you’re going to be spending most of your time obsessing about what to get me for a Christmas gift, but hope you’ll manage to post another Time-Tested. I love these!! 👍🏻😃

    Liked by 1 person

    • Jacob said:

      Thanks Charlie! I wondered if I’d gone a bit OTT with the staring eyes but it’s grown on me a bit as I’ve sat back and observed.

      Haha! Oh of course, all of my time is now usurped scurrying around trying to find you a Christmas present, even though you refused to get me what I asked for. 😉 I barely have time for anything else! But I will try and fit some Time-Testeds in at some point.

      Liked by 1 person

      • Wait, this is the same thing that always happens to me. I know I asked for Citrus Polos, but what did you ask for again? Lol

        Liked by 1 person

      • Jacob said:

        Well I did tout the possibility of a new computer, but now I just want Citrus Polos again. I wonder if even Santa can get hold of those? 😦

        Liked by 1 person

      • Oh yeah, a new computer…see how I conveniently ignore things that cost too much money? 😊 I’m sure Santa could get his hands on those!! The elves probably still make them daily and get high on them in between toy-making shifts. Time to call on the Big Guy up north! We need these!!!

        Like

      • Jacob said:

        Ha ha! How very convenient. At least I was proposing a gift that was actually gettable, Charles! 😉 I expect those elf junkies are going to be loathed to part with their Citrus Polo stash.

        Liked by 1 person

  3. Lee Hesketh said:

    Listen to you, bad shading yaddayadda, it looks insanely good Jay! I cant believe you did this in under an hour!

    Liked by 1 person

    • Jacob said:

      Ha! Thanks, Lee. I concede it does seem to have grown on me overnight.

      Liked by 1 person

      • Lee Hesketh said:

        Good ! It should have!

        Liked by 1 person

    • Jacob said:

      Thanks so much, Sharon! The eyes were a natural focus… I just would have liked a bit more time for the rest! 😉

      Liked by 1 person

  4. memadtwo said:

    Indeed an inspiring model. Wonderful eyes. (K)

    Like

    • Jacob said:

      Thanks again! These timed challenges are quite invigorating and sometimes evoke more engaging art as they eliminate the possibility of overworking.

      Liked by 1 person

Talk to me!

