Agnetha

agnethaSo 2016 is here – mamma mia! Once again, best wishes and Happy New Year to all. Well, knowing me, knowing you, while you were no doubt up to all sorts of fun and debauchery… raised-eyebrow-disappointed-father glare… to see the new year in, I was sitting indoors sketching Agnetha Faltskog like a super trouper, and eating too much shortbread. There have been worse New Years.

The focus of this sketch was, as one would always expect it to be given our subject, the golden hair. I have recently been really getting my teeth into fur and hair (I don’t mean that literally) and the results have been quite pleasing. The hair here came out pretty well too, but I feel like sending out an SOS as there’s something I can’t place of the face that I’m unsure of – the teeth are a bit wobbly (I don’t mean that literally) too, but I always struggle there and have to just take a chance.

I can’t say I’ve ever been an ABBA fanatic; my knowledge of their tenure is patchy at best. But I do enjoy a lot of their music in that it always seems to cheer me up. They sound of such energy and vitality, it’s hard not to get swept up within it. I find myself wanting to sing along – maybe even move along, like a dancing queen, much to the terror of bystanders – to their tracks, which isn’t something that happens that often. So I say thank you for the music, the songs I’m singing.

In other news, I’m supposed to be going out for dinner tomorrow night, but wait… money money money! I hope I’ve enough at least for Nando’s. Does anyone, possibly your mother, know if they serve chicken tikka there? If so, I’ll be saying, “gimme gimme gimme!” to the waiter, no question.

Apologies for this whole post. I don’t know what this is or how it happened. In trying to be in the least bit witty, I think I met my Waterloo.

24 comments
    • Jacob said:

      Ha ha – dear oh dear! Cheers Michael, really pleased you like the portrait! I wish I could lob another *hilarious* ABBA pun at you, but I fear I’ve done all I can with that.

      Liked by 1 person

  1. Your drawing is nice. I remember her. But I was not fan of ABBA. Later when I was on premiere of the movie Mamma Mia, these ABBA songs by actors I loved more … ABBA and QUEEN began in early 70’s.
    But when I heard singing and I saw Freddie first time, he won whole my heart forever. It was just beginning … what happened later is my secret. ❤

    Liked by 1 person

    • Jacob said:

      Thanks, Camilla! As I say, I do like a lot of ABBA’s songs, they’re a lot of fun, but I wouldn’t consider myself a superfan.

      Like

  2. Haha!! Awesome ABBA post!! Love your Agnetha! Superbly done and triple bonus points for working so many songs!! Loved that… And now they’re all suck in my head. Not sure about that😳hehe But I bow to your genius, and once again The Winner Takes it All! 😉👍🏻

    Liked by 1 person

    • Jacob said:

      Haha – glad you enjoyed it, Charlie! For some reason, I just didn’t fancy the idea of writing a vanilla biography. Furthermore, I couldn’t pick a single song to embed, so had to get a load in somehow! Glad they’ve stuck – they’re bad like that… I think SOS is appropriate for both!

      Liked by 1 person

      • It is!! Haha… I remember going to Mama Mia! in London when it first came out. Had no idea it would end up being so popular. I just thought…ABBA the musical?! That sounds ridiculous! I’m totally going!! 😃👍🏻

        Liked by 1 person

      • Jacob said:

        Ooh – it sounds like it would be fun but I’ve not been! And it probably won’t surprise you to hear that the film adaption has also passed me by.

        Liked by 1 person

      • Wow…it’s like you haven’t lived!! Lol A shut in movie watching night is in your future. If I lived closer I’d be over with the popcorn. 😉hehe

        Liked by 1 person

      • Jacob said:

        That would be a blast! Curse you for being so far away, Charles. But I know, it’s unforgivable really. I blame my parents – we didn’t really go to the cinema or watch films as kids. I was too busy tormenting insects and calling the police.

        Liked by 1 person

      • Jacob said:

        Ha, totally! Our mothers would have done their worst to keep us apart for all the trouble we’d cause 😛

        Liked by 1 person

  3. Lol, Jacob, all your puns are great! I Love ABBA, and you captured Agnetha’s golden beauty.

    Liked by 1 person

    • Jacob said:

      Thanks so much Sharon, glad you enjoyed it – I don’t know what came over me! 😛

      Liked by 1 person

    • Jacob said:

      Thank you – and a Happy New Year to you too! These drawings are actually digital, drawn in Photoshop with some brushes I made myself. My intention was/is for them to look and feel traditional, so if you think this looks like coloured pencil then I’ve done my job! 😉

      Liked by 1 person

  4. annachayter said:

    Happy New Year, Jacob. Very funny start! I was very fond of Abba and their music brings back lots of memories. Agnetha was and still is a beautiful lady, you have really caught that in your own way. Fantastic!

    Liked by 1 person

    • Jacob said:

      Thanks, Anna! Glad you enjoyed my ‘humour’, and best wishes for 2016 to you too.

      Like

  5. Bill Fufkin said:

    Puns and turtleneck…but as it’s you, Jacob, I will make a concession! B

    Liked by 1 person

    • Jacob said:

      I’m very grateful for that, Bill – thank you! 😉

      Like

Talk to me!

