Karen

karen-3

The third attempt… Well, talking ABBA and thinking about 70s music yesterday, this was bound to happen. I didn’t have as long to devote to this as I did Agnetha – in fact, I probably had about half the time. The hair seemed to derail a bit in places, but the rest came out pretty well!

I’ve spoke of my growing Carpenters obsession before. Both were hugely talented and they made a formidable duo, but it’s Karen’s vocals that had such invitation and magnetism to them. They still do. I could listen to her all day.

She was just twenty-one here, performing live at the BBC in 1971 – it’s flawless, as indeed are all of the songs on the set-list. That’s just my Karen, though.

If only one could go back and make her see that she was perfect.

27 comments
  1. So beautiful of Karen, Jacob. I just watched a superb documentary about the Carpenters before Christmas. Her vocal quality is unmatched, what a great lose when she died. Thanks for posting today!

    Liked by 1 person

    • Jacob said:

      Thanks, Sharon! They don’t seem to show a lot of Carpenters stuff here, sadly, though they repeat the BBC concerts now and again. It’s always a treat and definitely worth it if you’ve not seen it: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=ryHQx_kdOas

      Over the season, I came across their version of Have Yourself A Merry Little Christmas. Heavenly!

      Liked by 1 person

  2. Love Karen Carpenter and your sketch is awesome, Jacob! I think I squealed when I saw it! Well…maybe said “Oh yeah!” or something somewhat more manly of course. 😊 Nice work!!

    Liked by 1 person

    • Jacob said:

      Ha – funny, because I just did the same at your goldfish. (Well, it was more a gasp of wonderment!) Thanks so much, Charlie!

      Liked by 1 person

  3. Lee Hesketh said:

    So good and so sad, but amazing art. The face is so good it could be a photo.

    Liked by 2 people

    • Jacob said:

      Thanks, Lee. Indeed whenever I speak of Karen or make her portrait, it’s with mixed emotions.

      Liked by 1 person

  4. Bill Fufkin said:

    Nice drawing, Jacob…I still enjoy The Carpenters. It is quite a shame that such correctional facilities are not available. B

    Liked by 1 person

    • Jacob said:

      Very true, Bill. Thank you.

      Like

  5. Lucy said:

    Wow, absolutely amazing work! I always have problems with painting human faces, so this is something to look up to!

    Liked by 1 person

    • Jacob said:

      Hi Lucy, thanks for your lovely comment. If I can inspire you to keep making portraits, then that has made my year already!

      Liked by 1 person

      • Lucy said:

        I’ll definitely keep at it! Thank you so much 🙂

        Liked by 1 person

      • I’m a fan from now on. Not kidding. I was telling about ur works to my sister earlier haha!

        Liked by 1 person

      • Jacob said:

        Haha! Well now I’m blushing! That’s beyond amazing – I’m thrilled you like my work.

        Liked by 1 person

      • I don’t like your work. I LOVE THEM!!! ❤❤❤❤

        Liked by 1 person

  6. MILINKOVIC said:

    Brilliant sketch – a Carpenter’s tape was one of the few bits of music we had around the house when I was growing up, I played it over and over, and I still know every word to their hits, and I still love them!

    Liked by 2 people

    • Jacob said:

      Thanks so much. What good taste you have! In that case, I’m especially glad you like this sketch of Karen.

      Liked by 1 person

  7. I’m a huge fan of hers as well…..it’s like she’s alive again here, Jacob. Amazing work, seriously. This is incredible. What medium did you use? Very impressed!!

    Liked by 1 person

    • Jacob said:

      Awesome compliment – thanks! Karen’s wonderful, isn’t she? Again, a Photoshop drawing. Thanks again, Laura!

      Liked by 1 person

      • So you drew this from scratch in Photoshop? It’s not an altered picture?? Pretty amazing, Jacob. She looks like she could be breathing, so real.

        Liked by 1 person

      • Jacob said:

        Thanks – yep, she’s most definitely all brush strokes! Well actually her necklace has a bevel effect on it to achieve the finish… but apart from that! 😉 It’s something I’ve developed from doing a heck of a lot of tracing in the beginning (about three years ago now). That helped me more than I could have imagined!

        Liked by 1 person

Talk to me!

