Next Dimension: Ferris Wheel

bigwheel00081I’m getting back into my modelling, and this time we’re throwing ourselves into the fun of the fair with the quintessential fairground attraction – well, perhaps barring the carousel! – the Ferris wheel.

There were a few reasons behind building this; the most notable of which is likely that I essentially attempted this very task way back in 2012, when I’d first introduced myself to Cinema 4D. Here was the result:

BIGWHEEL1
It spins, and the lights glow – both of these I thought wonderful at the time. I didn’t really know how to efficiently go about the rest of the structure, so that was where it was put to bed. Until now.

Not to say that the more than three years of work since made attempt number two a cakewalk – it wasn’t! Parts of the ride were irritatingly fiddly, most of all probably the two giant stands on either side; for a long while, they stood ungainly and just didn’t look right, but I think they turned out OK in the end. Much of the rest was fiddly only in the sense of cloning and then C4D deciding to throw the clone a mile away from the wheel itself, and therefore having to drag it kicking and screaming back and align it properly.

The little passenger vehicles are simple in design – essentially just an octagonal tube with a cap for the floor, and a cone roof. A boole gives a slight indentation for a doorway, and inside there are seats on which you can sit, on top of the world, and marvel at the nothingness around you.

It always used to annoy me when playing RollerCoaster Tycoon – another inspiration for this build – how your little park guests almost unanimously turned their nose up at the Ferris wheel. “I want to go on something more thrilling than that!” they’d all whinge. Even the few who did bother would sit there saying “I want to get off Ferris Wheel 1!” Tsk! What’s wrong with the Ferris wheel? They’re brilliant!

Well, as it happens they would rather like my model, as it’s not actually physically correct, due to my continued ineptitude with 3D. It can spin, but the vehicles do not react to gravity as per a traditional Ferris wheel, so they do not stay upright. This means that, on a 180-degree turn, they – and everyone inside – will be upside down. Let’s see if that makes it a bit more appealing to the little sods! I have a couple of ideas up my sleeve for fixing this – I’ll have to get my head down and try them.

In honour of the glorious RCT, probably the most prolific game of my childhood, here is my model in isometric view. And empty.

bigwheel00101I also thought it remiss to build a fairground ride and not apply gaudy, flashing lights to it. This, again, was harder than expected, not to mention the hundreds of objects seriously slowing the program down, so I didn’t actually go as far as I might have liked. But indeed, here we are:

bigwheel00022
Despite the various frustrations and even though I didn’t actually learn very much this time around, it was all the fun of the fair. I might even have a go at constructing some stablemates for our wheel here… Merry-Go-Round? Pirate Ship? Top Spin? So many possibilities!

15 comments
  1. Geke Hop-Wassink said:

    Looks great 🙂

    Like

  2. Lee Hesketh said:

    Nice! I like the swirly paint-job. I used to stuck to rides like the ferris wheel in RCT because I sucked at building the coasters and didn’t like to kill my visitors!

    Like

    • Jacob said:

      Thanks Lee – and oh yes, I’m only now becoming any good at building respectable roller coasters in the game. It’s something which takes a lot of practice!

      Liked by 1 person

    • Jacob said:

      Thanks so much, Sharon! 🙂 It’s still a bit tentative for me, but I’m having a lot of fun with it now that I’m making more of an effort. I hope to do a lot more with it this year, as long as my PC will play ball!

      Liked by 1 person

  3. Bill Fufkin said:

    Now THAT takes me back! Nice work. B

    Like

    • Jacob said:

      Glad to have done so, Bill! Many thanks!

      Like

  4. This looks awesome!! Look at you with your wicked 3D skills! Love it! And I’m a bit scared of heights. Roller coasters didn’t bother me as much because you are always moving, but the Ferris wheels we slow and all about being high up. 😳 I went on them anyway, but found them truly terrifying. So they were actually the ultimate thrill ride for me I guess! 😊Lol

    Like

    • Jacob said:

      Thanks Charlie! This was so much fun! Indeed, I’m late to this comment because I’ve ben busy building a more intense playmate for it.

      Yes, I can see how the Ferris wheel would be troublesome for you. Funnily enough I was more worried by heights on roller coasters (not that I’ve been on that many – too scaredy-cat for those).

      Liked by 1 person

Talk to me!

