Next Dimension: Top Spin

topspin0089Yesterday’s journey to the funfair left me hungry for more. After all, you can’t take a trip to the amusements and only go on one ride, can you? What kind of stick-in-the-mud are you?

As the Ferris wheel is of the more gentle end of the spectrum, I decided to give it a more intense companion. Here we have the Top Spin, a ride which apparently has only been around since the early 90s – this makes their presence around here at that time seem all the more incredible. Indeed the model I’ve built used to frequent our annual Easter Fair in those days; as a child I used to love to watch the foolhardy thrill-seekers get thrown head over heels, screaming as their loose change and other belongings left them. I was an evil child.

topspin1_0140This was one of the harder to obtain, more expensive rides on RollerCoaster Tycoon and one of the ones that made your finicky guests quake in their boots, again unsatisfied with your provided entertainment because “it looks too intense for me!”, and those that did go on it ended up wandering around about to puke all over your precious pathways.

Again, a lot of fun was had here – and there were some skills learnt dealing with tapering parametrics for the shape of the arms, the gondola too was a serious modelling challenge as it’s quite a complex object, but I managed to get (kind of) there somehow. With the Ferris wheel ultimately quite bare in terms of design, I tried to include a lot more character here. I managed to cobble together a texture that emulates lights without actually being lights or even objects, which is probably an elementary technique, but to me it was a remarkable workaround! It made the lighting of the Top Spin’s arms and structure much friendlier in terms of build, render and performance.

topspin0164Indeed as render times weren’t horrendously bad for this, I have included a video, but as it’s getting late I decided to just do a quick 360-degree spin rather than a full ride sequence. Still, proof it works, which is more than can be said for the Ferris wheel!

Hmm, I might just stick to the trusty Dodgems if that’s okay!

16 comments
    • Jacob said:

      Ha! Don’t worry, Teresa – it’s the same here. It wouldn’t be nearly as fun if I knew what I was doing! 😉

      Like

    • Jacob said:

      Many thanks, kind sir! They were a lot of fun to work on.

      Like

  1. This is awesome!! Nice job, Jacob! This turned out great. And I’ve actually been on a ride like this and I can agree with your Tycoon guests…it’s pretty puke-worthy, but that didn’t stop me! 😊Lol

    Liked by 1 person

    • Jacob said:

      Thanks! It can be pretty nasty. Haha, with this and your roller-coasting you’re clearly far braver than I, Charles! I’m unnerved just on the Merry-Go-Round 😉

      Liked by 1 person

      • Jacob said:

        Oh yes, those things. There’d always be a Jack-the-lad who insisted on going faster!

        Liked by 1 person

  2. GED said:

    Dear Jacob, it’s a very good start in 2016, these look lovely! Great images and set of notes! Also, many thanks for your comment and likes on my posts “Happy New Year”, “Scenery” and “Sliding can be fun” shown on my blog dispenza.wordpress.com. Best regards from Italy! Edoardo

    Liked by 1 person

    • Jacob said:

      Edoardo, thank you so much as ever for dropping in and leaving a lovely comment. I very much appreciate it! I hope you are having a marvellous 2016 so far.

      Liked by 1 person

  3. Tell me Jacob. This isn’t the place for it but do have a particular interest in Deal or No Deal on Channel 4?

    Like

    • Jacob said:

      Hello – no, Deal or No Deal has never really captivated me. Unless you’re scouting for contestants, in which case I’d love to be on my favourite show of all time yes please please.

      Like

      • Oh no I’m not sorry about that! I enjoyed it in 2014 but it’s going downhill now. I imagine if you did work for it, it would be beautifully created.

        Liked by 1 person

      • Jacob said:

        Ha! Well, aren’t you sweet. I’m not sure there’s much I could do with the show anyway.

        Like

Talk to me!

