Sir Killalot

sir-killalot-3A couple of days ago it was announced that Robot Wars is to be revived by the BBC after almost twelve years in the pit.

This is good news. I can’t claim to have ever been a die-hard fan of the show, but it was always enjoyable when I found it and so I’m pleased it’s going to find a new audience. Coming off the back of several successful tournaments in the US, Robot Wars began here in 1998. Kids and grown-ups alike spent months building the most impressive and fearsome beast they could muster, only to take it to the arena, slug it out against the far superior creations of others, and have your beloved bot – and dreams of glory – ruthlessly smashed to bits in seconds. Oh and Phillipa Forrester was on it, aswell. Great telly.

The most ominous presence during battle, though, was not likely to be your own adversary. One also had to steer clear of the dreaded but wonderfully unforgettable ‘house robots’, who quite obviously were far larger, stronger and more damaging than anything that was allowed of the contestants’ effort. They each spectated in a corner of the arena, and, if your robot came too close to them, it paid dearly.

Here, we have the big boss – the not overly knightly Sir Killalot, who made his debut in the second series. Packing an intense rotating drill in one hand and a ginormous cutting claw in the other, a close-up encounter was certainly not advisable. It’s not particularly advisable to draw him either – I think I could have built him in the time this took to complete!

To finish: Killalot wasn’t actually my favourite robot to ever appear on the programme. That honour goes to Wheely Big Cheese… for obvious reasons. I’ll leave you with a clip of WBC in action. Might Killalot interject?

Simply amazing.

16 comments
  1. I’ve not even heard of the show before, but your bot is nicely intimidating looking! 😀

    Liked by 1 person

    • Jacob said:

      Thanks, Teresa – he’s definitely not a friendly robot, so I’m glad to hear it!

      Liked by 1 person

  2. Oooooo!! Scary robot!! Awesomely rendered, Jacob! And the name is beyond awesome. Sir Killalot looks like an ass-kicker! Though Wheely Big Cheese is by far the superior bot for sheer ridiculousness! What a weird and fun show. Love it!! Hehe

    Liked by 1 person

    • Jacob said:

      Thanks, Charlie – I wish I could say it was a lot of fun, but honestly by the end I was just willing it to complete itself! Robot Wars is a lot of fun. We can add it to your list 😉

      Wheely Big Cheese is unparalleled, no question! ❤

      Liked by 1 person

      • I’ve felt the same about a couple drawings lately. I’m half way in and suddenly thinking…this isn’t what I want to draw! Lol But oh well…all practice is good! And your result turned out great! Fun or not! 😉

        Liked by 1 person

      • Jacob said:

        Aw, cheers Charles! And the same to you – very well hidden!

        Liked by 1 person

  3. Bill Fufkin said:

    Nice work, Jacob. I shouldn’t let him do the vacuuming! B

    Liked by 1 person

    • Jacob said:

      Ha ha! Good grief no, Bill! Though I guess he’d make a good security guard.

      Like

  4. Oh my gosh, I loved robot wars….. How do you have this talent of remembering great old programmes? Thanks for the reminder. Just imagine what people would build nowadays with newer technology!! Bring it on.

    Liked by 1 person

    • Jacob said:

      Ha ha – I guess I’m just stuck in the past! Yes, it’ll be interesting to see how things have evolved – hope the old house bots make a reappearance, though!

      Liked by 1 person

  5. Oh wow, what a fantastic portrait! And I had no idea the show was coming back, so that’s a double dose of delight. Excellent. ^_____^

    Liked by 1 person

    • Jacob said:

      I’m glad you like him, thanks very much! The revival is great news – let’s hope it does the original justice!

      Liked by 1 person

Talk to me!

