Time-Tested: 145

herringfleet-2bIn yet another lurch away from any kind of propriety as far as Time-Tested is concerned, I left Reddit Gets Drawn, and also went further into Corel Painter, this time having a look at its pastels. Why ever not pick a medium with which I am frighteningly unfamiliar and far from exceptional? One day I might post my oil pastel self-portrait from my GCSE exam a good few years ago… stuff of nightmares, it is (and I mean even more than I deserve from a portrait!).

With that slight tremor, I moved away from portraiture and decided to make a pastel landscape instead. This is Herringfleet Mill, a smock mill situated just outside of Somerleyton in Suffolk. Standing beside the River Waveney, and quite a way from road or rail, it is a wonderfully peaceful setting, and it’s no surprise that it has become such a hot pick for photographers. It’s also one of the very few broadland mills that can still work – quite a treat it is to see those sails turn, though, one mustn’t stand too close, as I did once; as the structure is quite small, the sails almost clip the ground, never mind your noggin!

In another departure from the norm, I wasn’t sure how long I was going to give myself for this, but ‘finished’ – or rather was exhausted – at just under two and half hours. To begin with, I tried to force ‘expressive’ by using my non-dominant (right) hand, which explains the sails. The blocks of colour fell quickly; a huge chunk of the time was spent blending, nitpicking and adding strokes here and there – I’ll let you be the judge of whether you think that a success or not! It’s produced something very different, and with hints of loosening up in that I disobeyed the photograph on many elements (though there’s a long way to go in that regard – I just need to dredge up the courage). I’m uncertain about the result compared to my usual, but I guess that’s to be expected. Twas fun, anyhow, and Corel once again proved its impressive worth.

Wheel be ba.. oh I must stop doing that. See you (wheel) soon… in February, I expect!

28 comments
  1. Geke Hop-Wassink said:

    Beautiful mill and I love the sky with those clouds, great painting Jacob 🙂 ❤

    Liked by 2 people

    • Jacob said:

      Thanks, Geke! I’d fiddled with it so much, I wasn’t sure if it still resembled a sky or not 😛 glad you like it!

      Liked by 2 people

      • Geke Hop-Wassink said:

        Well to me, that is a beautiful sky!!! ❤

        Liked by 1 person

      • Jacob said:

        Well, that’s all I need hear! Success! Yay!!

        Liked by 1 person

  2. Very beautiful Jacob, the colors are so rich and vibrant. Art takes courage, especially something new! Thanks for sharing.

    Liked by 2 people

    • Jacob said:

      Thanks Sharon – it was indeed a bit tentative but also fun, so I’m incredibly pleased you enjoyed the result!

      Liked by 1 person

  3. Beautiful evening with windmill. Close to Calgary is small town Cochrane and there is small bakery with name Watermill Bakery. They have in garden in front house built Water Mill – beautiful. …and they have delicious sweets. 🍰 I will travel to Calgary next week and I make photo for you.

    Liked by 1 person

    • Jacob said:

      Thanks, Camilla! As for the photograph, that would be absolutely wonderful. Thank you so much!!

      Liked by 1 person

  4. This is gorgeous Jacob! I love the looseness and expression and those colors are just awesome. I think this is very successful!! I struggle with looseness and so I can relate to trying to be more expressive. Haven’t tried the non-dominant hand thing, but I guess I should give it a go. If that doesn’t work, there’s always attempting to paint with one’s feet I guess, but that sounds terribly awkward and weird. But I love this… it immediately grabbed my attention as I scrolled through my Reader. It’s gorgeous!! 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

    • Jacob said:

      Yay, glad to hear that Charlie! Thanks so much! I shall rather miss Corel Painter when the trial runs out – maybe I need to start that list to Santa a bit earlier this year.

      Yes, it seems so hard (and scary!) to loosen up especially when you’ve acclimatised to a more detailed approach. It’d be interesting for sure to see you go all expressive – the opposite hand thing is a good place to begin, as is the time limit. (Though I think you’ve come to a style with the perfect mix of detail and play already!) Maybe I’ll pass on the feet thing though, as entertaining as it sounds…!

      Liked by 1 person

  5. Lee Hesketh said:

    Super amazing painting Jay! Those colours are so bold, its like I’m actually there. Heart!

    Liked by 1 person

    • Jacob said:

      Glad you like it, Lee! This was a bit of a tentative trundle into the unknown! I heart the heart.

      Liked by 1 person

    • Jacob said:

      Haha! Thanks so much, Laura! I’m totally chuffed you like it!

      Liked by 1 person

  6. Rebecca said:

    I like it very much – it has a good ‘feel’ I think, and the light/colour combos are fab. 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

    • Jacob said:

      Thanks, Rebecca – that’s especially good to hear. I usually love rendering clouds but these beggars were being particularly troublesome!

      Liked by 1 person

  7. Bill Fufkin said:

    I think you’ve made a successful start to a new direction, Jacob…this picture is replete with a warmth and soul. Well done. B

    Liked by 1 person

    • Jacob said:

      Thanks very much, Bill! It’s especially reassuring to hear that this piece has a fresh feel to it.

      Like

  8. Tori said:

    The colours and the way you’ve conveyed the atmosphere are amazing, great work Jacob, you must be well chuffed (as we say oop North 😄)

    Liked by 1 person

    • Jacob said:

      Thanks, Tori – I’m certainly well chuffed by your comments!

      Liked by 1 person

    • Jacob said:

      Thanks very much for your comment and follow!

      Like

      • zeromsc said:

        Anytime! I’m going to make sure I scroll through your archives, you have some dope work!

        Liked by 1 person

      • Jacob said:

        Haha – I don’t think anybody’s ever called my work dope before! Thanks very much!!

        Like

    • Jacob said:

      Thanks again, Jade! It was a beautiful view to try and recreate.

      Liked by 1 person

Talk to me!

