Edward Tudor-Pole

edtudorpole-1…but you can call him Ed! I wanted desperately to draw something, somebody, and a frantic search pulling up a promotional shot for The Crystal Maze that I’d not seen before seemed to be some kind of sign. Who knows what the giant sword has to do with the maze, though. Could it be a reference to this, do you think?

Hoo-rah, Hoo-rah, Hoo-rah, Yea.

For some reason all the Tudor-Pole clips on YouTube seem to be made up of four pixels, with a video recording from the original transmission apparently being in the best nick. So let’s enjoy that.

 

29 comments
  1. Sympathetic man – nice drawing. I think he is somebody from game or serial ??? Maybe… ❤ Camilla

    Liked by 2 people

    • Jacob said:

      Thanks, Camilla! He’s a musician, in the band Tenpole Tudor – he also hosted The Crystal Maze. I think more recently he had a part in the Game of Thrones series.

      Liked by 1 person

    • Jacob said:

      Thanks so much, Cynthia! This took me probably around five hours altogether.

      Liked by 1 person

      • Jacob said:

        Thank you! I’m ever so pleased you think so!

        Liked by 1 person

  2. This is super! I don’t know the reference but I do know that it’s a terrific drawing!

    Liked by 1 person

    • Jacob said:

      Thanks, Rebecca! Yes, when Richard O’Brien left, Ed hosted the last two series.

      Liked by 1 person

    • Jacob said:

      Haha, thanks Michael – you’re probably right! I did love Swords of a Thousand Men when I was a kid, though – if I’d known it was ‘Crystal Maze man’, I’d probably have loved it even more!

      Liked by 1 person

  3. Rebecca said:

    Instant recognition! That’s definitely the man, no question about it. And the waistcoat fabric and embroidery are a total triumph, Jacob – just fab. 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

    • Jacob said:

      Thanks, Rebecca! I really did rush the fabric with a view to getting the post out at a relatively forgivable time (which didn’t happen!) so I’m pleased as punch you like the outfit!

      Liked by 1 person

    • Jacob said:

      Wonderful memories, no doubt! 😉 Thank you sir.

      Like

  4. Very cool!! This drawing is amazing!!! Such a great expression!! I’m in a perpetual late to the party mode so I’ll have to sneak a look at the clip later. 😊hehe… But glad I caught this drawing. It’s wonderful! Love it!! You got skills man!! 😉

    Liked by 1 person

    • Jacob said:

      Thanks so much, Charlie! You got skills in flattery, as well as all the other things! 😉

      Liked by 1 person

  5. Bill Fufkin said:

    This takes me back…with Tenpole, it wasn’t so much “are they going mad” as “they are mad”. You’ve caught his character nicely in your painting. B

    Liked by 1 person

    • Jacob said:

      Thanks, Bill – wonderful memories, no doubt!

      Like

  6. Lee Hesketh said:

    Great stuff Jay, he just look so real! Those eyes! I don’t remember much of his episodes as I don’t think my sisters watched it anymore by the time he started.

    Liked by 1 person

    • Jacob said:

      Thanks, Lee – I’m not sure the eyes look intense enough for Ed, but they turned out better than I thought they would.

      I remember watching the Tudor-Pole episodes over the Richard ones! They used to show The Crystal Maze during the school holidays. You should give them a go, he’s very good.

      Liked by 1 person

Talk to me!

