No Beard

selfie-feb-2a
It’s Selfie Day in the blogosphere. Well, I haven’t partook in it before, so I thought it only correct to give it a go – apologies in advance (although you’ve probably seen it by the time you get to this). This electronic ‘celebration’ comes at the sole command of Teresa Robeson over at One Good Thing. Blame her!

For a change, I have hair on my head, not my face. It really isn’t the best portrait I’ve done; heck, it’s probably not even the best self-portrait I’ve done, but then, the September attempt consumed far more of my time. You see, it’s one of those droughts where I consider changing my name to Kirsty, for I have been struck by evil witchcraft and lost my ability to render as well as I sometimes can… indeed, I was so unsure of the chin and jaw that I actually reunited myself with my beloved beard, in an attempt to try and ‘rescue’ (hide) those wobbly bits, but I don’t know about that either, so I will keep the original prominent. I shall continue to work through the drought. ‘Tis the only way that works.

But, in the meantime, I hope you enjoy your portrait of Kirsty, Jacob, or however you might wish to address me. Be sure to check out the other contributions!

51 comments
  1. That is one terrific selfie, Jacob! Don’t listen to yourself; I happen to think you did an awesome job. 🙂 I have always loved dimples on the chin (George Clooney has one!) and it looks good on you, too! So glad you’re participating; I’ve got your link down!

    Liked by 1 person

    • Jacob said:

      Me and George Clooney – we’re like peas in a pod! 😉 Thanks so much, Teresa! That’s all very kind of you. It was actually the dimple that worried me the most; I can’t ever seem to get it drawn properly, so like to hide it behind beardy.

      Thanks! I look forward to seeing what everyone else comes up with!

      Liked by 1 person

  2. Jacob, this is beautiful, as is all of your work! You are much too hard on yourself. And a handsome devil he is, yessir! ❤ Happy Selfie Day!

    Liked by 1 person

    • Jacob said:

      Haha! Oh, you’re too sweet, Laura – thanks very much! I’m pleased with the form of the thing, it’s just the shading that was getting to me a little (and besides this, I was having some ‘mares with drawings earlier in the week, which I think knocked my confidence). Having slept on it, it does look a little stronger now. Glad you like it!

      Liked by 1 person

      • Almost always, everything looks better in the morning -whether it’s art, or something else. So glad you are enjoying it more yourself. ❤

        Liked by 1 person

  3. 1.Jacob without beard is so beautiful boy ❤
    2.Jacob with beard & moustache is nice drawing.
    What is better ??? much better… the best ??? Number 1. (believe me…) Camilla

    Liked by 2 people

    • Jacob said:

      Oh, Camilla, you’re too kind. Thank you for your lovely comments! I think I was probably always going to go with the clean-shaven one; the beard was just an experiment that didn’t really work out. I do like me some facial hair, though, as I’ve told you before! 😉

      Like

  4. You’re looking very handsome indeed my friend! I think you did an amazing job on this, even though I now realized I’ve only seen drawings of you and don’t remember ever seeing photo proof. It’s entirely likely then that you don’t exist at all and are merely a figment of my overactive imagination. Either way… It’s a pleasure to know you and see you rendered here! 😉 quite a handsome devil you are, Kirsty!

    Liked by 1 person

    • Jacob said:

      Thanks, Charlie! Haha! This is true – I did put a terrible photo up once, but swiftly took it back down. I’m afraid I do actually exist. I can probably arrange for a signed photograph if you insist on this, but best get into ‘horror film’ frame of mind before viewing such a thing!

      Liked by 1 person

      • Jacob said:

        OK, I’ll see what I can do. May I have one in return? 😉

        Liked by 1 person

      • Jacob said:

        Aww, well that’s very sweet, but I’m sure that nothing’s as good as the real deal!

        Liked by 1 person

      • Well nothing is as good as the real deal of course! Haha But it’s better than a photo! Hehe… And I’ve no address! 😉

        Liked by 1 person

      • Jacob said:

        Here is your signed photo.

        I had literally just got up, so hadn’t done my hair 😉 And if I look ninety-four, it’s the lighting. Definitely the lighting.

        Liked by 1 person

      • ha! You did it! 😀hehe… Hello there! And good morning to you! Looking great for first thing in the morning… that’s really impressive. I look like I’ve been kidnapped and beaten first thing in the morning. 😊

        Liked by 1 person

      • Jacob said:

        Uh, yeah… not quite first thing in the morning, more 12:30-ish 😉 It’s all those late nights waiting for the latest doodlewash, you see! I’m basically running on what would be acceptable times for you chaps over there.

        Liked by 1 person

      • Lol…sorry the for the late postings then! Hehe I had been able to post about 2 hours earlier, but not lately! 😊 Though I know it’s your 3D work and Crystal Maze that’s really keeping you up so late.

        Liked by 1 person

      • Jacob said:

        Haha! It’s as if you’ve known me for years, Charles… I wasn’t watching The Crystal Maze a couple of hours ago or anything. (blush)

        Nah, I often have trouble sleeping, so to be honest I’m glad to have something new and fun to read at this hour!

        Liked by 1 person

      • Sorry you can’t sleep…hope my little offerings add a bit of entertainment. Though it’s a bit hit and miss on the writing… Hehe… tough to come up with something say for some of these things! Lol

        Liked by 1 person

      • Jacob said:

        They certainly do! I love Midnight Art Club 😀 So much so, that I often try to remember what I used to do pre-doodlewash/jaywalks/wordpress… I can’t remember! Watch Crystal Maze probably 😉

        With regards the lack of things to say, well, that’s where the five minutes of research comes to the rescue! 😉

        Liked by 1 person

  5. Arvind said:

    This is fantastic, Great selfie! What medium did you use for this?

    Liked by 1 person

    • Jacob said:

      Hi Arvind, thanks so much for dropping in! This is a digital piece, done in Photoshop using some custom pencil-esque brushes.

      Liked by 1 person

  6. Bill Fufkin said:

    A handsome gentleman…you look a great deal younger without the beard, and pleasantly mischievous, too!. B

    Liked by 1 person

    • Jacob said:

      Oh Bill, thanks so much! A lot of people seem to say that – I guess I just have a naughty face! As for the age, well, nowadays with ageing as it is, I tend to look more of a haggard fifteen-year old when clean-shaven. It’s not pretty!

      Like

  7. Aww Jacob/Kirsty if this is your dry spell, you have nothing to worry about 😍…..I have a chin dimple too, so maybe a beard should improve me? Great selfie, I didn’t know it was blog selfie day……I have only created one of myself, which was carved to create a stamp, I hated creating myself. So I have never re visited the challenge . Thank you for sharing, beard and no beard

    Liked by 1 person

    • Jacob said:

      Thanks – as always! – for being so reassuring, Rebecca. Why, I think a beard would look most dashing on you! 😉 I don’t mind my dimple, it’s just I prefer to hide them behind facial hair in portraits, as I can’t ever seem to render them properly.

      I’m with you on the whole concept of working with the self. It has a markedly different feeling, and while still fun, I don’t find it as enjoyable as sketching others.

      Liked by 1 person

  8. Geke Hop-Wassink said:

    You look younger without the beard, so I think you should keep it like this, it’s a great selfie ❤

    Liked by 1 person

    • Jacob said:

      Thanks Geke – glad you like it! Much as I love beards, I agree with you… plus, the scribbled on beard didn’t look that great. Clean-shaven it is!

      Liked by 1 person

      • Geke Hop-Wassink said:

        I’m happy to read you will leave the beard off and just like Camilla wrote A beautiful boy ❤

        Liked by 1 person

      • Jacob said:

        Haha – blushing!

        Liked by 1 person

  9. Lee Hesketh said:

    Have told you how much I love your beard before Jay! More more more! But this is great too. 😀

    Liked by 1 person

    • Jacob said:

      Thanks, Lee – you have indeed; I did chuckle to myself reading those comments on that September post. As for the facial hair, I’m afraid I am actually beardless at the moment. I took it all off at the weekend. Sorry! 😉

      Liked by 1 person

      • Lee Hesketh said:

        Noooo! Bring back the beard!

        Liked by 1 person

      • Jacob said:

        Don’t panic, don’t abandon me – It’ll be back soon, Lee, of that I’m positive!

        Liked by 1 person

      • Lee Hesketh said:

        Good!

        Liked by 1 person

  10. Rebecca said:

    Handsome chap! (My husband has both the dimple and the beard, so I guess I would think so). Nicely done, Jacob, and some lovely textures in there too. 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

    • Jacob said:

      Thanks, Rebecca! I’m so pleased you like the portrait – It has grown on me a little, having slept on it. And well, your husband sounds perfect! 😉

      Liked by 1 person

    • Jacob said:

      Cheers chap – I really appreciate that!

      Like

  11. Bravo Jacob, masterfully rendered. I like how you drew your hair. Thanks for sharing. I just started working on my selfie, not sure if I’ll make it to post today, but I’ll try.

    Liked by 1 person

    • Jacob said:

      Thanks, Sharon! If only I had enough hair to still gel it that way! 😉 I shall look forward to seeing what will no doubt be a very Sharon-y Sharon!

      Liked by 1 person

  12. Tori said:

    Jacob I think that you look like a very handsome chap with or without the beard but definitely more cheeky without it! Both are cracking selfies either way.

    Liked by 1 person

    • Jacob said:

      Thanks Tori – I’m glad you weren’t scarred by my mug! I often get these ‘cheeky’ comments… I’ve not a clue what people are on about. 😉

      Liked by 1 person

  13. Your selfie’s hair is fabulous :-)! Both versions are handsome and beautifully rendered (great “light” in the background and foreground!). The sideways glance and eyebrows are so charming.

    Liked by 1 person

    • Jacob said:

      Thanks, Myriam! I’m so pleased you like it. The hair went a bit wild, but it was more fun that way! 😉

      Liked by 1 person

  14. GED said:

    Dear Jacob, always lovely posts. And many thanks for your likes on the drawings shown on my blog dispenza.wordpress.com. Best, Edoardo

    Liked by 1 person

    • Jacob said:

      Hi Edoardo, thanks so much for your ever lovely comments! Likewise, thank you for sharing your charming artwork.

      Liked by 1 person

Talk to me!

