Next Dimension: Crane

j-cranes-1_0034
It shouldn’t and can’t be all pretty windmills, magic crystals and crazy fairground attractions. Hence the momentary (possibly very momentarily) change of tack with regards my 3D, and looking at vehicles. I considered a car, but the prospect scared me more than a crane, which is what we ended up with.

The view from my childhood bedroom was cranes, cranes, cranes – to the east you could, through a narrow gap between two buildings, see dock cranes loading and unloading cargo from boats on the Yare, and just to the west was an industrial park, often boasting several massive ones. In seeing these beasts rise, do their business and then creep back down, I somewhere decided that I wanted to be a crane driver – so much so, that I even wrote to the dry dock at the end of our road to ask if I could have a ride in one and possibly have a job. I was probably four at the time.

I didn’t even get a reply from the scoundrels. Astonishing, I know. That was really where my dream ended; I’d say it could still happen, but really I’d probably trust four-year old me at the controls of a crane more than twenty-four-year old me – maybe it’s for the best to write that one off…

j-cranes-1_00381…apart from in Cinema 4D, of course, where I can drive one to my heart’s content (well, sort of!). I am quite drained, as this has taken the best part of two days to complete – far, far longer than any of the fairground rides. I’m not even sure why it took so long; nothing was particularly difficult, it was just awkward and time-consuming. Don’t get me wrong, though: it was still a lot of fun to see the structure come together, and I suppose it was never intended to be a race.

j-cranes-1_00361

Now this looks a lot more fun!

It’s a little basic in areas, particularly the crane’s cabin and base as I was going on memory of some of the cranes that I used to see around the area, with help from some quite small references of similar models. And I still struggle with creating realistic windows. The slightly more simplistic feel can leave it looking relatively toylike at times – this isn’t necessarily a bad thing, but wasn’t really what I was going for. Perhaps I should have ditched the nostalgic touch and opted for a clearer reference – never mind! I never have been one for making things easy for myself. With the time it’s taken, I’ll certainly explore other vehicles, but I can see us returning to the theme park before too long.

I should finally say that I didn’t model the wheels. They were sourced from here.

Oh, it turns out I’m not quite done yet. WordPress has just told me on publishing that this is my hundredth post. Goodness! A massive thank you to all of the people who have stopped by over the past seven and a bit months, even more to those who continue to do so, you mad fools. I appreciate it enormously and am so thrilled to be a part of the little art club thing we’ve got going on. You (yes you!) are the greatest!

17 comments
  1. I’m good with all magic crystals…LOL! This is very cool though. I love how you got interesting perspectives on it!

    Liked by 1 person

    • Jacob said:

      Ha ha – I shall have to do more with crystals, then! You wouldn’t have to ask me twice 😉 However, I’m glad you like this too, especially the camera work – I’m not great at that and just tend to throw them anywhere!

      Liked by 1 person

  2. This is a wonderful crane, Jacob!! And congrats on your 100th!! 😃 Though I have to say it’s rather tragic you were given that crane driver job. Guess it just meant you were destined to grow up and create beautifully rendered 3D versions of them instead!

    Liked by 1 person

    • Jacob said:

      Thanks Charlie. I’m still getting over the rejection. Haha! If only I could turn myself into a rickety 3D model (there’s an idea for selfie day!) and enter into this world of cranes and Crystal Domes… I’d be so much happier!

      Liked by 1 person

  3. I love how you’re into so many different types of artwork, Jacob. You have a broad range, my friend! Rock on (or should I say, roll on hehe)!

    Liked by 1 person

    • Jacob said:

      Thanks, Laura! Keep on rockin’ yourself! I do like to try and mix things up, for the benefit of both the reader and myself. I’m considering introducing creative writing soon, too (but that’s emphasis on ‘considering’ – I’m not at all sure yet!)

      Liked by 1 person

  4. Your cranes are fantastic! Your point of view is always interesting. Have a beautiful day Jacob.

    Liked by 1 person

    • Jacob said:

      Thanks, Sharon, I’m glad you enjoyed it. It’s Mother’s Day here, so it has been pretty special – I hope you’re having a fun-day Sunday!

      Liked by 1 person

  5. Bill Fufkin said:

    That “diversion” was evidently to lead you away from the dockyard and onto an even more fruitful trail! Great piece. As always. B

    Liked by 1 person

  6. Congrats on 100 posts Jacob, and on a very fine crane, I paricularly love that top stripey bit 😊

    Liked by 1 person

    • Jacob said:

      Thanks, Phil! I’m glad you enjoy the stripes as they were a bugger to texture correctly!

      Liked by 1 person

  7. I live about 2.5 hours from the beach on the east coast of the US. At the beach they are building a bypass around the over crowded little towns. They are having to build an overpass over the water for the road. To be able to move the huge pieces of steel, they construction workers use a gigantic crane. Every time we pass by the construction, I almost have to drive the car because my husband is rubber necking (gawking) at the crane and the road’s progress. He would move that crane to our backyard in an instant. Beautiful 3D image!

    Liked by 1 person

    • Jacob said:

      Haha, oh my! He sounds like a man after my own heart! They are impressive beasts. Thanks again, Jade!

      Liked by 1 person

      • I went to China several years ago. The tour guide asked if we knew Chinas national bird? She said it was the crane (joking of course). There is so much construction going on there all the time, all you see are cranes in the skyline. 🙂

        Liked by 1 person

Talk to me!

