Willy Wonka

wonka-01
How on earth have I not already done this? Such love for this film. I know it’s a bit of an acquired taste for some, but who was it that said ‘a little nonsense now and then is relished by the wisest men’? Oh, it’s Wonka himself. There was a point when it was a Christmas Morning staple, but, timely enough, it appears to have moved to Easter now, a small highlight in what otherwise appears to be generally a run-of-the-mill, joyless schedule. But I digress.

Gene Wilder is a genius, and the film’s wonder truly is cemented by he, with his big eyes and crazy hair – which I had a tremendous amount of fun drawing – making a fantastically funny and suitably unnerving Willy Wonka. Johnny Depp didn’t come close in my opinion.

Happy Easter everyone.

27 comments
  1. Great one, and wonka even looks like an Easter egg with that gold bow, lol great film, and although I am a Depp fan, I agree, this is the better one, great film, from an amazing book. Happy Easter.

    Liked by 1 person

    • Jacob said:

      Yes, I too thought the bow made him even more appropriate for today. Thanks, Rebecca! Have a lovely day.

      Liked by 1 person

  2. jmnowak said:

    Yes, Jacob, excellent capture, especially his eyes…wow! Really go through me! I’ve seen this movie a few times, with Wilder, and always enjoy the hidden meanings/lessons, along with the songs and overall phantasmagorical magic. 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

    • Jacob said:

      Thanks, Janina – I did adjust the eyes from the photo, as he’s looking down at something in it; I might have made them a bit bigger but that’s okay! Indeed, watching it (right now) I am touched by just how curiously magical it is, as I am every time – even that creepy boat ride is special!

      Like

  3. Wow!! Awesome!! My first thought was your first line…how have you not already done this?!! Excellent likeness of such an awesome character. I loved this movie and not just because the main boy character’s name is Charlie. Hehe… This can go alongside my Oompa Loompa!! Yay! A wonderfully terrifying film! And Depp’s portrayal was ferrying for all the wrong reasons. 😉

    Liked by 1 person

    • Jacob said:

      I know Charlie, it’s shameful, but he fits nicely in for Easter! The film is wonderful – I’m watching it right now! It’s quite something how excited I was to see it again as it’s been a while. “Hair Cream!?!?” “That’s a hundred and five percent!” Hahaha! It’s all gold. Indeed, the Depp version was a bit of a miss. Shame, really.

      Liked by 1 person

    • Jacob said:

      Thanks, Michael – hope you’re having a nice Easter. Ha! I couldn’t decide on a scene to embed, so went for the remix instead – I had a hard time maintaining composure on hearing it the first time!

      Liked by 1 person

    • Jacob said:

      I need a rosette recognising this artistic achievement! Thanks so much, JP, as ever. Have a lovely Easter.

      Like

  4. Cathe said:

    Oh this is so wonderful! Totally perfect for Easter too. Thanks for the gentle push to re-watch the movie. Its such a classic with Gene!

    Liked by 1 person

    • Jacob said:

      Definitely – it’d been shamefully long since I’d watched it before this afternoon; I got so ridiculously excited all over again. It’s a classic indeed. Thanks again, Cathe – this was great fun to work on!

      Like

  5. Gene Wilder is one of my favorite actors. You captured him perfectly as Willy Wonka, I love the movie. Wonderful art Jacob.

    Liked by 1 person

    • Jacob said:

      Thanks so much, Sharon! This was a lot of fun. He’s a great talent indeed – but I must confess every time I see him elsewhere, my mind squeals, “That’s Willy Wonka!!!” 😛

      Liked by 1 person

    • Jacob said:

      Thanks very much! I did make them a little bigger, just to really push it!

      Liked by 1 person

    • Jacob said:

      He absolutely was – thank you, I really appreciate it!

      Liked by 1 person

Talk to me!

