Ferret Day

ferret-01

I’m just about on time for National Ferret Day. Well, it appears this celebration is largely based in the USA, so in that respect I’m well and truly on schedule. Of course, this is partly inspired by Charlie and his new series looking into the various celebrations taking place each day through April, though I don’t expect this to count as I’m of course breaking the most important rule by doodling without washing. (I’m referring to the process there you understand, not an alarming disregard for self-hygiene.) Do join in yourself!

What cute little creatures they are. They’re incredibly lively, sociable and friendly, too, as Richard Whiteley would doubtless have testified, were he still with us.

Poor Richard. I do enjoy how the interviewee sees what’s happening, and what does he suggest? Here, take two more of the things! Whiteley often (correctly) mused that this moment would be the most part of his legacy, and indeed, various publications reported his death with the headline ‘Ferret Man Dies’.

But hey, if that’s the kind of play you like and fancy a new pet, then by all means go ferret! There was a woman who lived a couple of doors down from me who had a pair of pet ferrets, and in all seriousness they seemed rather charming and lovely, to the extent that I’d quite like one, even if Richard’s image is waving a bloody finger, warning against it. She even used to harness them up and take them for walks – it certainly turned heads. I don’t remember ever learning her name; I just knew her as the Ferret Lady. Obviously, these creatures define the people they are around – perhaps that’s why they’re such cool pets.

If you want to join me in celebrating today then by all means go ferret! I’ve already done that once. There’s no time for puns – sorry Richard.

29 comments
  1. Jacob, your ferret is fabulous. I love your technique for the fur. He looks very soft and cuddly. I tried viewing the YouTube video but it wouldn’t let me view because I’m in another country. I’ll go try directly on YouTube.

    Liked by 2 people

    • Jacob said:

      Thanks, Sharon! Glad you like the fur – it’s somewhere between technique and scribble ;). I love rendering fur on here as I can instantly make the brushes big and small to render either soft clumps or harder individual strands.

      Like

  2. I have a friend who used to have ferrets as pets (before she had kids). Yours is super adorable!

    Liked by 1 person

    • Jacob said:

      Thanks, Teresa! Haha, I bet they were more trouble than the kids! 😉

      Liked by 1 person

      • Surprisingly, no! LOL! The ferrets were easier to raise but I’m sure she doesn’t regret having the kids. 😄

        Liked by 1 person

  3. Cathe said:

    Well yes! Go ferret! And what a wonderful ferret you have created!

    Liked by 1 person

  4. Yay!! Glad you ferreted around with me, Jacob!! A fabulous sketch! But you really need to start washing my friend! 😉hehe… This little guy has attitude and I’m sure would be welcomed with opened flippers by your seal. It’s so adorable!! Love this!! 😍

    Liked by 1 person

    • Jacob said:

      Thanks, Charlie – yes, your little friend has a playmate! And maybe there are more around that I’ve not seen yet – in which case, we have a proper ‘business’ going on!

      Oh, I SO hope there’s something seal-y this month, so I can badger you into doodlewashing another seal. 😉

      Liked by 1 person

      • We do have a proper business… there were 3 other ferrets each one cuter than the next for a total of 5 yesterday! Yay! I haven’t seen anything seal-y… hehe… but the 8th is Zoo Lover’s Day… 😉

        Liked by 1 person

      • Jacob said:

        Ha! It’s been so much fun to see the ferrets popping up around the shop. And well, the 8th seals the deal… I’m totally in on that one!

        Liked by 1 person

  5. Let’s just say I wouldn’t cuddle one. Lovely pic you’ve made him look lovely and lively without the deadliness! Though I wouldn’t mind this hanging on my wall.
    JP

    Liked by 1 person

    • Jacob said:

      Thanks, JP! Yes… cute but I’d probably be reluctant too. It’s the same with tigers!

      Like

    • Jacob said:

      Thanks, Rebecca – ha ha, perhaps you should get another! They look a lot of fun, just a bit of a handful!

      Liked by 1 person

      • They are fun, and very easy to keep, mine used to come indoors to play with the cats, when he was fed up he would fall asleep curled in the cat bed ( the one the cats never used) .

        Liked by 1 person

      • Jacob said:

        Aw, that’s so cute – I could never have imagined them getting on well with cats, for some reason. Perhaps that says much about my cats!

        Liked by 1 person

      • I wouldn’t say they were best buddies, but they would run around the garden together, and the ferret loved the cat toys, he killed them to an inch of their non existent little lives!

        Liked by 1 person

  6. Bill Fufkin said:

    He’s cute. Good one getting Richard in…As I’d expect you to. Whoever knew there was a Ferret day? B

    Liked by 1 person

    • Jacob said:

      Thanks, Bill! Ha, I certainly wasn’t aware of the date until I checked the calendar yesterday. Now we know. Don’t forget next year!

      Like

    • Jacob said:

      Thanks, Laura – so glad you enjoy these. It hits hard now when I have to do a drawing that doesn’t have a coat of thick fur or eyes that twinkle with mischief!

      Liked by 1 person

    • Jacob said:

      Thanks so much! The fur usually comes out well using these pencil effect brushes, they’re a lot of fun.

      Liked by 1 person

Talk to me!

