Round and Round

carousel-2I’d long been intending to try a fairground carousel in 3D form to sit with my other models. Then I remembered just how intricate they are; to say I was daunted would be a drastic understatement, and so we’re riding on with a drawing instead. This took me a couple of days to complete, which as it happens is drastically longer than I can ever recall taking to make any of my 3D models. Frustrating it was, but very enjoyable once coming to the main of the ride. The time flew by.

In a somewhat tenuous Doodlewash A Day link, I deliberately picked an adorable reference abundant with wonderful animals, as today is Zoo Lovers Day. I don’t know why on earth I’d need to convince you to go to the zoo – what could be more fun? There are a few birdies hiding in the race too, which I’m sure qualifies the ride for Draw A Bird Day, if in the most ridiculous fashion.

How ever would I pick my racer? What a torturous quandary – so much choice. Well, I say that… feel free to come and join me, but you can certainly keep your flippers off the seal. (He wasn’t actually in the reference – nor were a couple of others – I added him, because he’s a seal.) That being said, the tiger…!!

There was also a further allusion in here, as I believed it to be the opening of the annual Easter Fair today. I was going to make some smart-arse comment about how it’s not even Easter anymore and what are they playing at, etc… but it turns out it did indeed take place last week, only shortly after Easter. Not only did it shut me up, but I missed the Fair! I suppose it’s what becomes of living under a rock. They probably had a ride just like this, only to rub salt into the wound.

I’m sure anybody who played the original RollerCoaster Tycoon (and if you haven’t, you need to!) remembers with great fondness the Merry-Go-Round. If it wasn’t the first ride you placed in your park, you were surely doing it wrong! Of course, as I’ve vented before, the guests in your park were less than awed when it comes to the gentler rides – even if the Merry-Go-Round was the only ride available, they’d turn their nose up at it, demanding more. Ungrateful sods – the ride rocks. The reason it sticks in the memory more than the rest of the game’s attractions, though, is likely because it was the only ride in the game that played music – traditional organ renditions of that-sounds-familiar classics. Now it just sounds of beautiful, horsey, up-and-downy nostalgia, wiling away those pre-homework Sunday afternoons, abjectly failing to keep my guests happy but having an absurd amount of fun nonetheless. Ahh.

33 comments
  1. Your artwork is AMAZING and beautiful and xox I love it! What did you use to create this work of art?

    Liked by 1 person

    • Jacob said:

      Thanks so much, Cynthia! It was one of the more enjoyable drawings I’ve done. It was executed the same as ever, drawn purely in Photoshop. This is the ride I used for reference.

      Like

  2. A drawing will do just fine!! This is awesome Jacob!! Yay!! I’ve been waiting for the carousel…I love them! Well…the look…it’s a rather boring ride really. But the look of yours is fabulous!! Great details!! Any ride filled with animals will grab my heart! Hehe 😍

    Liked by 1 person

    • Jacob said:

      Haha, I thought this might appeal to you, Charlie – glad you like it! Even if the ride is a little timid, who could resist a go with such an array of charming creatures? I’ve never seen a carousel like it before! But the big question, is which would you choose? Perhaps there’s a zonkey round the back that we can’t yet see! 😉

      Liked by 1 person

      • I was just assuming there was a zonkey reserved for me hiding in the back. There is right? Don’t be cruel and dash my hopes!

        Liked by 1 person

      • Jacob said:

        Oh, there definitely is, and who knows what else is lurking back there!

        Liked by 1 person

  3. I love all of the detail, a real labor of love. I especially like the paintings in the oval frames around the top of the merry go round. Thank you Jacob for sharing your exquisite artwork.

    Liked by 2 people

    • Jacob said:

      Thanks so much, Sharon! It was a labour of love indeed; I sat up until 4AM yesterday morning sketching, because I was unable to stop adding animals!

      I did cheat with the painted scenes, as they have a black-and-white copy of the photograph behind my attempted drawing, filtered with the ‘Cutout’ effect and coloured over. With just my attempt at recreating them, it was dragging it down quite a bit, so I took advantage of the medium!

      Liked by 1 person

      • Jacob said:

        Ha, definitely!

        Like

  4. I am just floored by the incredible details and realism you got into this painting! It’s so cool! I read your answer to Sharon, but I still think it’s awesome. 🙂

    I had friends who were obsessed with Roller Coaster Tycoon but my kids never played it for whatever reason. Sounds pretty fun though!

    Liked by 1 person

    • Jacob said:

      Thanks, Teresa! The idea of such a wonderful carousel was just too endearing, I couldn’t stop. Much fun. Glad I started when I did, though – I had no idea it would take quite that long!

      Liked by 1 person

    • Jacob said:

      I appreciate those two words very much, Susan – thank you!

      Liked by 1 person

  5. This is stunning Jacob, so worth your two days of hard work, it has more than paid off. Your ability has shone through in the intricate enamel painting on the beautifully designed animals, of your moving zoo. Hoorah! I can hear the music playing, and it has taken me straight back to the huge Dorset steam fair, 👏🏼👏🏼👏🏼👏🏼👏🏼👏🏼👏🏼

    Liked by 1 person

    • Jacob said:

      Thanks, Rebecca! I just loved the idea of a magical, twirling zoo. At least now I’ve got a niece, I’ve an excuse to go on rides such as this once again! I’d be more excited than her! 😉 I just looked up the Dorset Steam Fair – wow, quite a spectacle. Certainly grander than Yarmouth’s Easter Fair!

      Liked by 1 person

      • Awww you big kid…..I don’t think you need a little one for an excuse to jump on a ride, we should all do it, lol. Dorset steam fair is a must to visit, it is the only one like it, and huge huge huge, smells, lights, sounds, it tackles every sense. So much entertainment.

        Liked by 1 person

      • Jacob said:

        Yes, they’re such fun – if only we could all get on the carousel without bystanders (wrongly, of course) thinking us odd!

        Liked by 1 person

  6. Bill Fufkin said:

    Wonderful…what else can one say? Oh, yes. Bravo! B

    Liked by 1 person

    • Jacob said:

      Aw, thanks so much Bill. It was a very enjoyable exercise.

      Like

  7. This is stunning. What a completely lovely piece of work. There’s something charming about a carousel or merry-go-round, a gentle ride in a world of ever increasing stimulation. It’s no accident that you see little kids laughing so naturally when they’re propelled gently around on the back of an improbable steed. Your drawing captures all the joy of that experience.

    Liked by 1 person

    • Jacob said:

      Thanks so much, Michael, for a lovely comment – I agree, there’s a lot of magic about the ride, for reasons you say. The whole look and their sheer ever-presence is such that it’s almost another time and place. I think the Ferris wheel is another with similar awe and wonder to it.

      Liked by 1 person

    • Jacob said:

      Thanks so much! I can certainly see why – they’re enchanting.

      Liked by 1 person

  8. There’s something really enchanting about carousels, isn’t there? I don’t think i’d have the patience to draw one, though; SO much detail! Nicely done . Also: i don’t know how you manage to make digital drawings look non-digital. They really look as though they’re done in pencils and pastels. Noice one 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

    • Jacob said:

      Thanks so much! Likewise I wouldn’t normally have thought me patient enough to take on such a detailed subject, but I surprised myself, and actually really enjoyed it!

      Regarding technique: I tend to use the brush as one would a pencil, rendering shades (generally in very low opacity) rather than layering colours over one another like a painter would (’cause I’m really no painter!). I also have a selection of custom Photoshop brushes for pencil/graphite effects, which come in very handy indeed!

      Liked by 1 person

      • No worries! Ahhhh, custom brushes. Well, they certainly do a nice job at looking like actual pencils! (I mean, obviously, the artist using them needs to be skilled enough to make proper use of them!) No painter? I reckon if you can do all these drawings, you’d be able to paint, no probs 😉 . Glad you enjoyed getting into the details. I think that sometimes the hardest part is just getting started. Anyway, nice one!

        Liked by 1 person

  9. Cathe said:

    Wow Jacob this is incredible! What a cool painting, so many details. I’m not even sure where you started but the finished piece is amazing! So dang impressive!

    Liked by 1 person

    • Jacob said:

      Thanks, Cathe! It’s a very impressive ride, so I’m glad the drawing lives up to its real-world counterpart!

      Like

  10. Your carousel is wonderful :-). So many beautiful, magical details and I like the assortment of animals. I think I would ride the giraffe.

    Liked by 1 person

    • Jacob said:

      Thanks, Myriam! The giraffe is an excellent choice – head and shoulders above the rest! 😉

      Liked by 1 person

    • Jacob said:

      Likewise. Thanks so much, Jill!

      Like

Talk to me!

