Old Freddie

70sfreddie-small2

One of the perils of creating digital art is just that – it is a digital file, and thus comes with its own fragilities. One chink in the hardware’s armour is the clumsy cat drowning the sketchbook in that cup of tea you forgot to drink. Indeed, most of my pre-Jaywalks works were lost last spring due to hardware failure and carelessness in data protection. Thankfully though, some were survived by low quality JPEG copies taking refuge elsewhere, and I have sprinkled these into my postings from time to time.

I don’t know why I’ve gone and said all that when, really, I could have just told you that I’ve not made anything for a few days, so here’s a rather old drawing of an apparently chilly Freddie Mercury, to ward off any tumbleweed. Oh, and here’s Lily of the Valley, just because:

31 comments
  1. Lee Hesketh said:

    Wow, Old may be Jay, but the darl eyes and rockstar hair are really great!

    Liked by 1 person

    • Jacob said:

      Thanks very much, Lee! It did take me several days at the time if I recall, and I was mighty proud of it.

      Liked by 1 person

      • Lee Hesketh said:

        I’d still be mighty proud of it!

        Liked by 1 person

    • Jacob said:

      Thanks very much, Catherine. Indeed, tech can be a woe. Let this be a reminder to always back up your data!

      Liked by 1 person

  2. Geke Hop-Wassink said:

    Beautiful Freddie ❤

    Liked by 1 person

    • Jacob said:

      Ha – thanks, Rebecca! He was indeed. Yes, most of the really old portraits weren’t that good, but nevertheless a bit of a shame that they’re gone and the progression is now harder to observe and fully appreciate. Back up back up back up! 😉

      Liked by 1 person

      • Mmmm, it is a hard learning curve, I use time machine, on external back up, just in case ( also learnt the hard way, grrr)

        Liked by 1 person

  3. That is a very impressive looking Freddie blasting in from the past! Being a bookkeeper I know all about back up back up………. oops no need to tell me twice!! 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

    • Jacob said:

      Many thanks, Susan, and glad to hear you’re prepared. Having studied Information Technology at college, I really ought to have known better myself!

      Liked by 1 person

      • Oh, but its not supposed to happen to me!!! We are all too trusting of our tech toys.

        Liked by 1 person

  4. Bill Fufkin said:

    A blas from the past, most truly so…I believe the great man himself would have approved of this enigmatic portrait. There is nobody remotely like him, and you have conveyed that. B

    Liked by 1 person

    • Jacob said:

      Ah, well, that’s very encouraging for my twenty-two year-old self, Bill – thank you! Freddie was indeed a one-off.

      Like

  5. memadtwo said:

    I lost many many drawings on the first computer I owned, when it died. It only needs to happen once. Now I back up in duplicate. I still think about those lost works though! (K)

    Liked by 1 person

    • Jacob said:

      Yeah, it does linger when you lose things you’ve worked hard on. It won’t happen again here if I can help it!

      Liked by 1 person

  6. This Freddie looks awesome! If not a bit chilled… hehe… I’m sure he’s just looking for Somebody to Love. 😉That stinks on the data loss… ugh… I’m sure there were some gems we’re missing. This one is excellent though! Love the intense eyes! Nice!

    Liked by 1 person

    • Jacob said:

      Haha! Thanks, Charlie. Yes, it was a bit of a shame, but then again, one of the reasons I started this place up was to make some new, better work! Everything happens for a reason, and all that. 😉

      Liked by 1 person

  7. Rad! Love the intensity of his stare. And the lighting there on the edge of his collar. And…you make think how i need to practice drawing hands! ( such a chore for me :/) Really loving the monochrome, too. I find it challenging to get enough depth into things using only black and white; i really rely a lot on colour. This Freddie pic reminds me of how powerful the B&W can be. Inspired to better myself!

    Oh yes, the perils of digital work. Sorry to hear about that! How frustrating. I too lost a bunch of stuff a few years ago. Not that digital is my “thing”, but i do dabble now and again, and it’s always in the back of my head that i need to back certain things up, but i’m forever putting it off. It’s so easy to forget. In a way though, as you mentioned in a comment above, things happen for a reason, and all things are transient. It’s nice to start with a fresh slate.

    Liked by 1 person

    • Jacob said:

      Thanks very much! This summer 2014 time was when I was starting to really enjoy digital art, after about eighteen months of dabbling/wandering.

      Hands! Oh, the dreaded hands – one of my arch nemesis. These Freddie hands took forever, and the making of this piece was broken up by several hand studies, because I kept getting them wrong. I thought it might help – it didn’t, really! I just kept on trucking. I’m still quite afraid of drawing them, though, and avoid them where possible. We must confront them sooner or later, though!

      Glad you like the colourway. I actually draw all my digital pieces in monochrome first, and then decide whether or not to throw colour on top later. Colour is something of a safety net for me here; a last ditch attempt to lift a flagging piece. Something in the contrast felt a bit jarring in straight b/w, so I added a tiny sepia overlay and it looks much better for it. Digital is good for ‘cheating’ like this!

      Liked by 1 person

      • oh wow, i totally wouldn’t be able to tell that there’s any sepia there! Veryveryvery subtle. Surprising what can make a difference, though, isn’t it? Yes, it’s nice to be able to play with the colours a bit, and try different colour schemes without having to redraw the whole thing! I do envy your confidence with monochrome, though.

        Yep; gotta confront our hand fears! I will…soon….ish..!

        Liked by 1 person

    • Jacob said:

      Thanks, Sharon – you have excellent taste in music!

      Liked by 1 person

  8. Fab drawing Jacob. Been reading in the paper today a story about his incredible voice and how he got such an amazing sound. He’s missed so much, what an amazing man.

    Liked by 1 person

    • Jacob said:

      Thanks very much, Phil! He certainly was something else.

      Like

    • Jacob said:

      Yep, evidently this was Freddie’s goth phase!

      Like

Talk to me!

