Next Dimension: Rock-O-Plane

rockoplane0016
Back to the fairground! We’ve not paid a visit for some time, so there’s bound to be a new ride for us all to refuse to go on. Actually, this one might not be too bad; here we have the wheel ride widely referred to as the Rock-O-Plane, although our local counterpart was known by the far less fun American Eggs. It has been a mainstay of fairgrounds since the late 1940s. Similar to a Ferris wheel but with more gusto, the caged seats will rock with the momentum of the main frame’s spin. Neatly, most models are said to come with a wheel and brake system inside the cages, so the passengers can ‘steer’ and really dictate just how wild their ride is.

There’s not really much to say about this in terms of the exercise; the most fun part – besides the paint and light job which is always the best part – was probably using a random effector to get the cages to be seen as behaving correctly for stills – it’s not actually animated at present but I’m sure it could be relatively simply. A basic structure, it was primarily a refresher exercise as it’s really been a while since I did any 3D – I enjoy it but seem to have to be very much in the right mood. I seemed to be in that mood this evening – hopefully more to come soon! Maybe you can think of a fun fairground ride that might be worth a punt?

rockoplane0029

 

13 comments
  1. That nighttime image with the lights is gorgeous, makes me want to visit the fairground again 😊 .
    We went to Margate last week where they’ve recently re-opened the Dreamland amusement park and fairground, doing it up as very much a vintage style park, all very retro and quite fun 😉

    Liked by 2 people

    • Jacob said:

      Thanks, Phil – I do love me some pretty lights! I like the look of Dreamland – just been on a Google trip and now I wanna go myself! Certainly beats Yarmouth Pleasure Beach…

      Liked by 1 person

  2. Nicely done!! This is awesome!! I remember this ride. Funny that it’s called American Eggs…hehe… Was always afraid of getting trapped in those cages if the ride stopped short. 😊 You still have a 3D version of a carousel to do!! With seals!! Yay!!

    Liked by 1 person

    • Jacob said:

      Thanks Charlie! Ha – it’s a bit of a strange name, isn’t it? Even as a kid I was unmoved by such a title. I assumed, with that name, that eggs in America were multi-coloured and made of wire mesh… is this not so? 😉 I believe later they removed the ‘eggshells’ and it was changed to Hi-Energy or something less patriotic.

      Haha, imagine that: a carousel where EVERY ‘horse’ is a seal. It’d be remiss not to have a go with this at some point.

      Liked by 1 person

      • No…American eggs are rather boring in reality. But some are so unnaturally white they almost glow in the dark! Lol And yes!! The every seat’s a seal carousel must happen one day!! 😃👍🏻

        Liked by 1 person

  3. Love those! You fool me every time: whenever I see your art, I always think they’re photos and wonder how you got them with so few people in them. 😉

    Liked by 1 person

  4. Beautifully executed! How about the bumper cars! I always loved chasing my brothers around and giving them a big bump.

    Liked by 1 person

    • Jacob said:

      Thanks Sharon, and a great idea – I’ll certainly look into it. They’re probably my favourite of the rides; I used to love surveying the competition at the start and singling people out! Tee hee! 😉

      Liked by 1 person

  5. In my youth I would have hopped on that ride without a second thought! Excellent Jacob.

    Liked by 2 people

    • Jacob said:

      Even to a chap who prefers the bumper cars and teacups, it looks rather fun! Thanks Susan.

      Liked by 1 person

Talk to me!

