Next Dimension: Teacups

Teacups0034Finally that swirling staple of any decent theme park, the tea cups, has founds its way into my 3D design. What could possibly be more exciting than slowly revolving while sitting in a big cup of tea? Tea-riffic!

The teacups are a whimsical variant of a ’tilt-a-whirl’, which has been gracing amusement parks for ninety years. They have the power to go really quite fast, so despite appearances and reputations, it’s not a machine to be underestimated – or should that be, the temperament of the operator pushing the buttons is not to be underestimated. Do size them up beforehand. A neat new spin, if you will, came in the later addition of a central steering wheel, much like the Rock-O-Plane, so you are able to send your little tea cup into a frenzy should you so desire.

This was, in truth, an exercise I’d put off for some time as I was unsure how on earth I was going to make a believable or respectable teacup. However, I was in the mood for learning, so I found myself a tutorial which happily discussed the problem; to be honest, I only really needed to watch the first few minutes and then it was just a question of refining. One flat description of a cup was created using splines and then the Lathe tool did the rest, essentially doing all the hard work for me:

I had used this Lathe tool before, a long time ago, but for some reason it never jumped out as an ally when pondering previously. I then cut out a section for the doorway and added the interior. Simple enough – if anything, the paint job was more arduous; I ultimately settled on suitably twee coloured stripes:

I went heavy on the reflections but toned these down when placing them on the ride stage. Hmm, they looked a little too tea cup for my liking! At this point I also rushed a teapot centrepiece using the same technique as the cups. It looks a bit half-hearted and could do with company, but it’s better than nothing.

Teacups0083
And just because I didn’t think it was gaudy enough, I overindulged rather on nighttime lighting. I’m sure only the coolest kids would go on that. This is often the part that is the most fun – theme parks, moreover the rides themselves, are to me all about the bright lights and that atmosphere.

Teacups0077
So, there we have it – any storms in my teacup were sufficiently weathered. Cinema 4D made it pleasingly simple, and this accomplishment should be reassuring when confronting future 3D fears. That carousel will happen. It might be 2020 by the time it’s finished, but it will come!

teacup-test0009As an aside, I thought it worthwhile rendering as an actual cup of tea aswell. I was going to say it’s time for a cuppa, but as it’s 3:30 in the morning here, I’ll probably abandon that plan and consider my morning (by which I mean early afternoon) slurp my reward. I’ve been a bit lax in my blogging duties lately, but I hope to catch up with you over the next day or two. Right now though, I need bed. Keep on rockin’.

26 comments
  1. Awesome!!!! Yay!! The teacup ride rocks!! I so thrilled it made it into the park! It’s one that thrills without being so darn terrifying. And your rendering thrills! Very nicely done my friend! And the final rendering of tea is amazing as well. So inviting…don’t mind if I do…I’ll be over shortly… 😉👍🏻

    Liked by 1 person

    • Jacob said:

      Thanks, Charlie – and I share your joy regarding the arrival of the teacups! It’ll provide a great vantage point for sitting and laughing at the idiots riding the Ejector Seat 😉

      Ha ha! You’re always welcome for afternoon tea, Charles – whatever the time of day!

      Liked by 1 person

  2. Jacob, 3.30 in the morning!! It looks like you will probably be missing your morning cuppa, on this back holiday Monday? Unless you just wrote off going to bed? I can see how you got totally into your tea cup ride, and had to finish it, it’s amazing. I love the night time view, I would love to think I was one of the coolest kids….sadly not, so I will sneak a ride, lol.

    Liked by 1 person

    • Jacob said:

      Thanks, Rebecca! Ha, I know, it was shamefully late when I finally awoke – my forecast was correct. I do this often; there’s something appealing to me in working the early hours while everyone else sleeps, but by around 3 o’clock I am starting to crash out, and need bed.

      You’re definitely one of the coolest! Free admission for you!

      Liked by 1 person

      • I have to admit to often painting into the early hrs, but I think 2.30 is and has been my limit…..to date that is. I am much more focused, and it allows for a solid run of a good five to six hours with no disruptions, unlike the early evening, or day, when there is other stuff to do.

        Liked by 1 person

      • Jacob said:

        My rationale is the same – I’m glad you say that, as people seem baffled by my working hours. It’s become a bit of a routine these days – if it’s not starting to get light again, it’s too early for bed! 😉

        Liked by 1 person

  3. I loooove the tea cups! I’m such a wuss when it comes to roller coasters this is much more my, well, cup of tea. And that final tea cup image is stunning, congrats Jacob, put your feet up for a well earned cuppa!

    Liked by 1 person

    • Jacob said:

      Haha, it’s the same here Phil, as you’ve no doubt gathered -it’s these and the dodgems for me! 😉 I’m sure I’d enjoy the bigger rides once on board, but it’s getting me on them that’s the hard part.

      Glad you like the tea aswell! I’ll certainly follow your orders on that score. 😉 You do the same!

      Liked by 1 person

  4. You keep on rockin’ too, these are beautiful, Jacob! Love the black ground, nice contrast of the round colorful shapes against the flat black. Looking forward to seeing more of your posts this month!

    Liked by 1 person

  5. Bill Fufkin said:

    Now this is my kind of thing, Jacob…how much is admission? Brilliant work, well done. B

    Liked by 1 person

    • Jacob said:

      Thanks, Bill! It’s free, but only on the condition that you share the cup with me! 😉

      Like

    • Jacob said:

      Thanks so much Sharon – that means a great deal coming from someone so creative. So glad you enjoyed!

      Liked by 1 person

  6. You have educated me on the subject of theme-park teacuppery, and bamboozled me with the super technical nature of this rendering process. It looks rather complicated- way over my head! End results are quite impressive! Are you looking to someday utilise your skills in animations/ game development or the like? Whatever your aim, your dedication and self discipline are evident! That last cup especially looks like an actual photograph of a cup of tea. Nice one. Think i’ll go boil the kettle, now.

    Liked by 1 person

    • Jacob said:

      It’s always a good time for tea! 😉 Thanks ever so much. It’s probably less complicated than it sounds, for the simple reason that I was able to crack it! I do fumble around with my 3D, I’m not a natural with it. I’m in the process of self-teaching, spending years (literally) wandering around the program while trying to keep it as fun and engaging as possible. As for applications, who knows, maybe one day! I’d certainly take it a bit more seriously if such an opportunity arose and seemed viable. Either way, it’s certainly pleasing to be able to list 3D design as a skill, even if it is relatively basic at the moment.

      Liked by 1 person

      • Yeah, it’s definitely always rewarding to learn something. Good on ya. You seem to be doing a pretty good job of it, at any rate 🙂

        Liked by 1 person

  7. Once again, I am blown away by the gorgeous work you do digitally on these rides! And that spot of tea looks like I could just reach into the screen and grab!

    Liked by 1 person

    • Jacob said:

      My thanks as ever, Teresa – I’m certainly having a lot of fun with these!

      Liked by 1 person

  8. I don’t know a lot about art made on the computer, but these look super convincing. I’d totally take a ride!

    Liked by 1 person

    • Jacob said:

      I really appreciate that, thanks so much!

      Like

  9. Looks terrific. I love theme parks but unfortunately you know who doesn’t. I actually got him on this ride once. The only other people on it with us were a bunch of 5 year olds. We looked utterly ridiculous.
    JP

    Liked by 1 person

    • Jacob said:

      Ah yes, I know that feeling all too well. At least now I have a niece, I can kind of get away with it in future!

      I’m so very happy to see you stop by, JP – I’ve missed you. Hope you’re both doing well!

      Like

Talk to me!

