Alphabetti

spaghetti-008

Yes, leave it to me to sally forth and bring the real dining delights to the table in this month-long Doodlewash Dinner. It should say much of my culinary skill and refinement in the kitchen that the first thing I thought of, when learning of the brief, was that staple of get-together noshes, the Alphabetti Spaghetti.

However, I shouldn’t give the impression that I’m hooked on the stuff. To be honest, I don’t think my mother ever bought me a can of the stuff after the age of about four, because I typically overlooked the eating part; if I were watching Countdown at the time, cool kid that I was, I’d try and find the letters being picked. Otherwise, the hunt would be on for a J, an A, C, O and B… then W. W was my favourite letter back then.

What am I saying? It still is. But yes, those memories as they are, the tasty letters now spell NOSTALGIA, even if I did have to ultimately make do with cold tea because of them.

Rather than simply drawing the stuff in a bowl or on toast, I thought I’d give the exercise a bit more depth and excitement by creating a usable Alphabetti Spaghetti typeface. As it was, it wasn’t really much of a typographic exercise, as I just drew the letters in Illustrator in a few minutes – precision isn’t paramount when rendering pasta, I suppose.

It was fiddling with effects in Photoshop to try and make it look like pasta that ate up the time. It didn’t turn out quite as I hoped, but then it rarely does! I wanted to take it into 3D, but the letters looked too solid and I wasn’t really sure how to loosen them up. I’ll explore though – I’ve actually just had an idea as I type this! – and shall report back if anything develops on that score.

spaghetti-002

spaghetti-001

34 comments
    • Jacob said:

      Haha! Likewise, I’ve ended up wanting everything I’ve seen so far – this is no exception, I’m sure a can will find its way into my shopping trolley this weekend!

      Liked by 1 person

  1. Ingenious Jacob, my husband still likes to eat alphabet spaghetti-o’s with meatballs. So he will want to come to this dinner party! Lol. I agree with Catherine, brilliant.

    Liked by 1 person

    • Jacob said:

      Haha, good on hubby – I’ll have to get myself a can of these too; I’ve been making do with boring hoops for way too long! Thanks Sharon!

      Liked by 1 person

  2. Love it, I just showed it to my daughter, who happens to be up very early this morning……turns out she hasn’t even gone to bed, up all night on photoshop and illustrator…..something tells me she has got a piece of work to hand in today at uni??? After our late night convo the other day, this tops my 2am and your even later time, she never shows me her work, so I hope it was worth the lack of sleep? Grrrrr

    Liked by 1 person

    • Jacob said:

      Yes, to go without any sleep whatsoever is quite extreme. Ouch! But I expect she’s not alone in that; we submitted our final assessment in early May. I was often up until 2:30 in the run up to hand in, and then back up at 6, which I found pretty horrendous! Best of luck to your daughter, hope the grafting pays off!

      Liked by 1 person

      • Eekkkk, I am sure you are right, in my day we were only up all night when out partying, then too tired to go to uni lectures the next day…sorry hungover!! ….I hope it pays off too, she is on a foundation course at the moment and is hoping to do the graphics degree this September.

        Liked by 1 person

      • Jacob said:

        Haha, I was so bad at partying. It was one of the drawbacks of living twenty miles from the university – I missed much of that aspect, and as such uni was a bit dull. Shame.

        One positive to glean from this, is that it could be a good shot in the arm regarding time management for when she takes on the full degree (I did graphics too, by the way). Once I found I was staying up so late scrambling to finish, I really pulled my socks up!

        Liked by 1 person

      • Jacob said:

        I went to what is now the Norwich University of the Arts/NUA – it’s the top arts institution in the country (or at least it was when I was there!) 😉

        Where is your daughter going?

        Liked by 1 person

      • I think bournemouth, as that’s where she is doing the foundation course, she does keep changing her mind though.

        Liked by 1 person

      • Jacob said:

        Ha, oh yeah, the indecision. Bournemouth looks nice though from the viewpoint of Google; I think quite a few of my college colleagues were trying to get in there. Near the seaside, too! 😉

        Liked by 1 person

      • It’s a lovely building, my brother went there too and loved it. ‘ beside the seaside, beside the sea’🎤………..problem is you feel like an ant on bmouth beach, I prefer ours which is a little further down the coast, quiet, full of fossils, and things to find. But bournemouth is a nice place, shops and clubbing for students, plus she can stay at home 😀

        Liked by 1 person

  3. Rebecca said:

    Oh, this is just fab! I love how you’ve flipped the B in Jacob, because that sort of thing happens all the time with alphabetti spaghetti, no matter how you try. Made me smile this morning – thank you! 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

    • Jacob said:

      Ha, indeed – I realise now that many of the Ws I thought I found as a child were likely Ms! 😉 Thanks, Rebecca – glad to have made you smile !

      Liked by 1 person

  4. This is fabulous!! 😃Hehe… I used to spell my name in these as well. Love the last image… what a yummy banner for the party! Awesome Jacob! And too funny that you like W… I did too… it had more meat to it… tasted better! lol

    Liked by 1 person

    • Jacob said:

      Little Charlie seems to get cooler with every mention! Though I’m not entirely sure why I liked W so much. I remember B being pretty high up there, too… :S Thanks!

      Liked by 1 person

  5. Yes! I’m enjoying this. Looks just like it! I sometimes buy a tin of aphabetti spaghetti. Not because it tastes good- it really really doesn’t- but because I just enjoy the idea of eating the alphabet. I don’t think I EVER had it as a kid, either, so me buying it as an adult is a way of consoling my alphabetti spaghetti deprived inner child. Anyway, dig the post. It’s making me crave tinned spaghetti on toast. Happy pasta times to you!

    Liked by 1 person

    • Jacob said:

      And to you! Spaghetti on toast is wonderful – sounds like you’ve got today’s lunch covered. 😉 Many thanks – and I agree, the concept of eating the alphabet was quite a novelty, and one I’m now very tempted to revisit! I’m so excited!

      Liked by 1 person

      • You know, I was so enthusiastic the other day about the idea of Alphabetti Spaghetti specifically, that when I could only find Spagasaurus and Spaghetti Oops in the shop, I couldn’t being myself to compromise. They had no Alphabetti, so I had no spaghetti 😦 It’s really getting to me now. They’d better have it in stock next time I go back!

        Liked by 1 person

      • Jacob said:

        Haha, oh no! There better be some next time! And furthermore, your comment reminds me that I forgot to even look for the stuff while shopping this morning, never mind purchase it. Shameful!

        Liked by 1 person

Talk to me!

