Father Dougal McGuire

dougal-1

We’ve not visited Craggy Island for a while, but I’ve no doubt Father Dougal McGuire will greet us warmly regardless. As cheerful and innocent as he is utterly, shockingly dim, he finds himself constantly at odds with his much more grounded peers, and indeed, it remains a mystery to all as to how Dougal even got into the priesthood (“it’s all a bit of a laugh!”). Within that childlike, lovable demeanour, however, lies an intense loyalty; he depends on Ted, and they are ultimately very good friends. I’m sure if you enjoy rollerblading, game shows or scary films, he’d be your friend too… that is, if he’s not kicking around with rebel Father Damo.

17 comments
    • Jacob said:

      Haha! That’s fun – I can imagine some of Jack’s utterances would make for a fun card too 😉

      Liked by 1 person

    • Jacob said:

      Eee! Thanks so much, Teresa – plenty more to come, I’m sure!

      Liked by 1 person

    • Jacob said:

      Haha, I daresay we all have Dougal days – I certainly do, often! 😉 Thanks Catherine. We’re lucky in that it’s very often repeated on Channel 4.

      Liked by 1 person

  1. Hehe!! I love that expression!! So well captured Jacob!! I’m not familiar with the show, and can’t watch the video right now, but sounds like I’d like it!!

    Liked by 1 person

    • Jacob said:

      Thanks Charlie! Oh, I could never love someone who doesn’t like Father Ted, so you better! You would, I’m sure – it’s comedy gold.

      Liked by 1 person

    • Jacob said:

      Thanks very much Rebecca! The confused/clueless look was more of a challenge than I expected – especially given the number of selfies I’ve done! 😉

      Liked by 1 person

  2. Sissh said:

    This is a brilliant portrait, Jacob. Very well done! ^_^

    Liked by 1 person

Talk to me!

