Antoine de Caunes

antoineDC-6After a rather nice comment from Cynthia at Sand Salt Moon likened my portraiture to that of the Wall Street Journal’s famous ‘Hedcut’, I thought I’d give this stippling technique some exploration, in the hope of it forcing a different outcome. The guinea pig for this experimentation is the relentlessly gorgeous Antoine de Caunes, French actor and director – having become a touch dotty about him of late, he seemed the obvious choice. Thank heavens for Eurotrash and the Fruit Pastilles advert, is all I’ll say.

I originally went full-on Hedcut ape, but indeed it soon dawned on me that I was probably using brushes too small and with not enough discipline (missing the point?) for that style to come through. Impatience overruled any inclination to start again, so I continued. You can see the orderliness drop as you venture out from the T-zone. Actually though, some of the more disarrayed areas of the portrait come off, to me, the better – I quite like the feel of the jacket – even if it’s not completely true to the reference image – and I was intrigued to find that many of the facial features came easier with dots than they often do with lines (many, not all – note the mouth, which, quite visibly, remained troublesome as ever). Knowing quite where to stop dotting though was harder than expected, meaning tonal graduation is somewhat tentative here; I’m sure I should have done more with the forehead.

As expected, this was mercilessly time-consuming (even with some Photos. Fun was had nevertheless, and it at least has given something of a departure from the increasingly stagnant norm. I’d certainly be up for another go – doubly so, if it means I’ve an excuse to draw Monsieur de Caunes again!

41 comments
  1. Love it, pointaltastic!…..I have done this technique once, although I love the look, it hurt my hand, and I am sure the computer creates the same hand and eye pain, but well worth it for the end result. Time well spent Jacob 😀

    Liked by 1 person

    • Jacob said:

      Thanks, Rebecca! This was a lot of fun! Actually, it didn’t hurt my arm too much – it’s surprising really, given how many clicks I must have done, and also that I’ve had achy wrist from some of my other works. Perhaps it’s getting used to the graft!

      Liked by 1 person

    • Jacob said:

      Yes, a long slog but very enjoyable to see it start to come together! Thanks, Susan.

      Liked by 1 person

  2. Lee Hesketh said:

    That is just amazing Jay!! So cool!

    Liked by 1 person

    • Jacob said:

      Thanks, Catherine! I’d been working on it since Saturday, several hours each day. Probably somewhere between fifteen and twenty. It was actually quite therapeutic once I got into it!

      Liked by 1 person

  3. Wow! Cool! I love the stippling! Those eyes are stunning! This is really fabulous! It’s like his eyes follow me wherever I go… seriously… like this style! More! More!

    Liked by 1 person

    • Jacob said:

      Oh my, what have I created? Portraits that do that creep me out! My brother had one of The Joker that would do it. Terrifying.

      Thanks Charlie – yes, I’m sure I’ll find a way to get more of this in somehow. It was a lot of fun, and a nice shake-up without doing anything too drastic!

      Liked by 1 person

  4. Jacob, it has been such a pleasure watching your skills grow by leaps and bounds! This is truly magnificent…a professional grade piece of art. I love it!! I would never attempt stippling; my hats off to you!

    Liked by 1 person

    • Jacob said:

      Oh Teresa, you’re so sweet! Thanks so so much – it’s especially good that you see such a development, as I sometimes look back over the last couple of years’ work and wonder if I’ve really progressed all that much. This proved a refreshing and much needed change!

      I found the process quite fun actually – or at least it was when I was less worried about discipline and just going dotty with dots! 😉

      Liked by 1 person

  5. teproleum said:

    Very, very nice! Excellent work, especially on the eyes. This technique requires a lot of patience. Great job!

    Liked by 1 person

    • Jacob said:

      Thanks very much! Patience indeed – it did test my own quite frequently, but a lot of fun nonetheless!

      Liked by 1 person

    • Jacob said:

      Thanks, Michael! The eyes were where I started off and got all excited – the patience wanes the further out you go!

      Liked by 1 person

  6. Rebecca said:

    That’s a very illustrative feel you’ve got going on there, Jacob. Loving the new technique on the charming Antoine! 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

    • Jacob said:

      Thanks, Rebecca! Yes, this was a very refreshing and exciting change, if hugely frustrating at times – all part of the fun, I suppose!

      Liked by 1 person

    • Jacob said:

      Haha – how I wish that were true, Laura! Thanks so much, this was lots of fun.

      Liked by 1 person

  7. What in incredible job, what program did you use and would you consider doing it with pen and paper?

    Liked by 1 person

    • Jacob said:

      Thanks, Paul! This was made in Photoshop with just the standard round brush. I suppose you could really achieve this in even the most basic program.

      I expect, doing it manually, that I’d soon realise how dependent I was on the uniform brush sizes and the Undo button! I’m sure it’d still be lots of fun, nonetheless.

      Liked by 1 person

  8. Wow, i really admire your patience! I’ve only tried stippling once, and that was enough. I don’t have the self control for it.
    Anyway, i sense that you’re partial to the odd Silver Fox. Totally don’t blame you; in fact, i encourage it! Keep drawing handsome, greying men, Jacob. * thumbs up*

    Liked by 1 person

    • Jacob said:

      Thanks, once again! I really surprised myself in seeing it through (though my patience was flagging majorly toward the end).

      I think you’re right – I’ve begun to notice this myself over the past couple of years, actually. I’m a throwback in many ways, it seems – the music, the TV, and the men! Well, you can’t argue with experience! 😉

      Liked by 1 person

      • Well i’m, glad you did get it finished. It’s a long, arduous process, but the results are def worth it.
        Absolutely! I’ve been finding comfort in older stuff lately- comedies especially. So many classics. So many drawable men. The other day I almost followed your lead and entertained the idea of drawing Rowan Atkinson as Edmund Blackadder, as i LOVE him in the second series. But then i lost motivation. Lord Flashheart would also be fun to draw, i reckon 😉 Someday. Much easier to just look at other people’s drawings, really!

        Liked by 1 person

      • Jacob said:

        Looks like you regained motivation regarding Rowan 😉 Yes, you can’t argue with the old certainties, can you – I’m like it with music, especially – and it’s nice to have a comedy you can revisit time and again. I must confess I’ve not seen much of Blackadder, but as a child I absolutely loved Mr. Bean! I even had a terrifying Mr. Bean doll 😛

        Liked by 1 person

      • Haha, well, not really; the crappy not-looking-at-page drawing was what made me think i *should* do a proper one ( one where i actually look at the page and give a shit how it turns out 😉 ), but i didn’t follow through.
        Oh, you should def watch some Blackadder! I highly recommend the 2nd season, as he’s actually rather dashing in his Elizabethan get-up! And Rik Mayall as Lord Flashheart is just brilliant. Look! : https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=aKfbSHW9uGA
        Oh my, a Mr. Bean doll WOULD be terrifying! But in a good way. Mr. Bean was awesome. Rowan Atkinson is so bloody talented. Most expressive face ever!

        Liked by 1 person

      • Yeah, he was awesome. I wuv Wik! So good as Lord Flash. ” Melchie! Still worshipping God? Last thing i heard he’d started worshipping me! Ahahahahahaa!” Pretty much every sentence in that scene is quotable. “Woof!”
        Aaaaaggggh! Oh my god, that IS terrifying! I just showed my daughter, and she said ” t looks like a creepy businessman with a teddybear!” haha. (I still really want one though!)

        Liked by 1 person

      • Jacob said:

        Haha, excellent description! The cute teddy is there to veil over his shady business dealings. 😉 It is a tad… curious. I mean, I can understand an action figure toy or something, but a really creepy doll? Hmm!

        Liked by 1 person

      • yeah, it’s def a bit of weird product idea. Not like it’s cuddly or anything! Probably just a weird sense of humour behind it all. Which is good!

        Liked by 1 person

      • Oh, and yes- The Young Ones. Classic. I still can’t help but internally yell ‘HALF PAST FIVE!” in a Vyvyan voice every time someone asks me the time.

        Liked by 1 person

  9. jmnowak said:

    Mmmm…love the hair (like small worms) and the new type of ‘material’ that is his jacket. Excellent result, Jacob!

    Liked by 1 person

    • Jacob said:

      Thanks, Janina! The jacket nearly finished me off, so I was glad it turned out okay!

      Liked by 1 person

  10. Wow!! This is amazing. My OCD would be counting all the dots I was creating! I love his expression!

    Liked by 1 person

    • Jacob said:

      Thanks Jade! This was really a lot of fun. Ha – I did keep venturing back, wondering how many dots I’d put down. I wouldn’t envy the person trying to count them!

      Liked by 1 person

Talk to me!

