Scary Spice

scaryspice-2As I’m sure has become clear, this blog has morphed into one big nostalgia trip. In the pursuit of completion, we can’t really go without giving The Spice Girls a mention, especially as it’s now twenty years since Wannabe was released and GIRLLLL POWWWER! became a thing.

Yo I’ll tell ya what I want what I really really want / SO TELL ME WHAT YA WANT WHAT YA REALLY REALLY WANT!

Twenty years – how can it be? This makes me feel old. I was four at the time and found the song inexplicably wonderful – well, perhaps in hindsight it could be explained! – and also quite hilarious. I danced to it and knew all the words, much to my grandparents’ horror; indeed, summer car journeys were a whole new level of testing with my sisters and I singing this on a loop. Well, at least it wasn’t Oasis. As for my favourite, it was always a toss-up between Scary and Baby Spice, though to be honest I think I just found Scary’s big hair amusing, such was (still is) the simplicity of my mind. It was that which convinced me to draw her, and accidentally make Mel B look not so much ‘Scary’ as ‘Ruddy Terrifying’. It was fun to be so liberal with bold colours, though.

I confess that, on revisiting Spice Girls tracks as research for this blog post, I actually knew the complete lyrics to almost every find. I knew I loved this song, but had no idea I was quite so obsessed. It’s amazing how much the tracks of our youth stick in the mind. Alas, as times change, so do tastes; I’d like to think that this brief return was more than enough to keep me going for the next couple of decades.

28 comments
  1. Awesome portrait! I doesn’t happen very often, but once in a while, a Spice Girls song will pop into my head. Always fun. 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

    • Jacob said:

      Thanks so much, Myriam! Yes, I seem to remember Wannabe being top of a ‘catchy songs’ chart some time ago. They do have a bit of sticking!

      Liked by 1 person

  2. Bill Fufkin said:

    I remember them…that is all I shall say on their career! But very good drawing. B

    Liked by 1 person

    • Jacob said:

      Haha – thanks Bill, glad you like it.

      Like

    • Jacob said:

      Yes, my childhood is apparently defined by quite the motley crew! Thanks so much Laura, as always.

      Liked by 1 person

  3. Lee Hesketh said:

    Yes!! This is amazing Jay and with so much spice attitude! My sisters used to play them all the time, really, all the time, and the songs are still in my head to this day! Wasn’t there a movie made on their story?

    Liked by 1 person

    • Jacob said:

      You mean Spice world? Goodness, what a classic that was.

      Thanks again, Lee!

      Liked by 1 person

      • Lee Hesketh said:

        Hahaha yeah, I’ll have to give it a watch now and remind myself of its amazingness! 😛

        Liked by 1 person

      • Jacob said:

        Don’t! It’s a trick!

        Liked by 1 person

      • Lee Hesketh said:

        xD

        Like

  4. teproleum said:

    Be still my beating heart! Scary Spice! I wasn’t into pop music growing up but I had the biggest crush on her when I was in high school. I still think she is super-hot! haha!

    Liked by 1 person

    • Jacob said:

      Ha! Well, this was clearly done with you in mind! Enjoy! 😉

      Liked by 1 person

  5. Well, I have to say I do not know any Spice Girl songs, but alas that’s okay. I love the life in your drawing……”Jacob.” 😉 (There’s something awfully familiar about your blog.)

    Like

    • Jacob said:

      Hello, Patsy. Yes, I’d a feeling you’d track this place down sooner or later.

      I’ve missed you too, just as sorely as I’ve missed everyone from the old place. I was pulled up on the charade, so had to get away from it and make a fresh start, actually facing up to being me rather than hiding behind somebody else. But there’s no need for the quotation marks. You’re talking to Jacob.

      So thrilled that you still choose to re-follow. Thank you so much.

      Like

      • Well, I wasn’t trying to track you down really. Clive made a comment on my blog the other day so I asked him if he had any idea what happened to you and he gave me the link to your new blog. I don’t understand your reasoning for using a different name before because your new blog seems the same as your old one and you sound the same in your responses to people. I just have to say I felt really worried about you and hurt that you just stopped e-mailing so abruptly. I thought you were gone, if you get my drift. I don’t know if you still have that same e-mail, but I did send you a a new one.

        Like

      • Jacob said:

        I’m very sorry for causing that worry. I haven’t used that e-mail account in a very long time.

        It may not appear much different – I wouldn’t expect it to. But it’s very different for me, for, again, the simple fact that I am now operating as me. I didn’t feel that I could do that before.

        ‘Steven’ started here – to cut a long story short – as a means of evading bullies and trying to express myself; he ended a web of embellishments, delusions and lies. There are no excuses and I don’t expect people to understand, but know that I very much regret it, and in my separation realise how selfish and totally unnecessary the whole construct was. I’m very sorry.

        Like

      • Okay. You’re forgiven. So you are really only 23? Were you ever really married with kids? And are you really bipolar? Just wondering.

        Like

      • Jacob said:

        Well that’s very kind of you and means an awful lot. Thank you.

        I’m getting old now actually: twenty-four (I have the same January birthday). The profile was fabricated and I realise pretences were stretched way too far – it’s awful, and again I apologise. But all that I wrote about my mental health – both in public and in private to you – was the truth. I’m in a much better place with that now, though, and generally happier than I’ve been for several years. Dropping ‘Steven’ and all that came with it has proven a huge relief.

        I hope you are doing well too.

        Liked by 1 person

  6. I am doing okay and my son is on medication for depression now so he is doing much better. However, my daughter has been suffering with a stomach problem for a very long time and we are in the process of getting her in for a brain MRI. She will be starting her Senior year in high school in a couple of weeks. Honestly I think she just has an anxiety disorder like me and probably needs medication also.

    Like

    • Jacob said:

      Sorry to hear that about your daughter – indeed it could related to anxiety. I hope she can get any help she needs to make the most of her final year of school.

      Like

Talk to me!

