Next Dimension: Million Dollar Belt

mdm-belt1In a quick follow-up to our recent confrontation with ‘Million Dollar Man’ Ted DiBiase, I thought I’d have a punt at replicating his customised championship belt in 3D. This is the beyond-lavish strap that Ted had made to console himself after unsuccessfully gunning for the World Championship at WrestleMania IV. What a sight it is…

I nicked the texture of my Crystal Maze time crystals, tweaking it slightly for the diamond decorations. The real challenge was achieving the gold of the plating itself. Texture-wise it turned out okay, and heartening in that it’s better than I expected. Creating such configurations is a complex business and I still feel quite the novice in that regard, so this proved a worthy exercise beyond any doubt.

mdm-belt1aI would have liked to have given it dynamic behaviours so that it could act like a chain/real belt and be comfortably wrapped around a warrior’s waist. I employed similar tactics to that of the Ejector Seat way back, with targets and ‘cords’, but sadly promising starts yielded little success. I’m sure it’s possible! Knowing me, the solution is staring me in the face. It’s something to continue thinking about.

12 comments
  1. Art Drills said:

    Please forgive my ignorance,
    I had to look several times to tell any difference between the two other than the different angles.
    I read the Crystals comments for clues but could not tell either.
    The big question-mark in my head is
    “Is it Digital Art, is it Actual Physical Pieces, i.e Artie Craft etc? What is it?”
    Whatever it is, it looks impressively real!

    Liked by 1 person

    • Jacob said:

      It is the same model, just at a different angle. These renders took almost an hour apiece, so I was definitely going to share them both!

      It’s a digital three-dimensional model, made in Cinema 4D. I’m thrilled you think it looks realistic – thank you!

      Liked by 1 person

      • Wow!… Lol!… I am more dazzled.
        I thought that the first one was a photo of the Real one and the second, presumed, after several scrutinising looks was the new created.
        I must google for info about Cinema 4 D – sounds interesting.
        Thanks for the Reply.

        Liked by 1 person

      • Jacob said:

        And thank you for your nice comments!

        Liked by 1 person

  2. dawnmarie said:

    I thought it was the same belt…so…must be good right? I kept looking for your rendition.

    Liked by 1 person

      • dawnmarie said:

        I know nothing about digital art and if I can’t tell the real thing from the created thing…I would say you done good.

        Liked by 1 person

      • Jacob said:

        🙂

        Like

  3. Lee Hesketh said:

    As I say shiny bits and bobs are good! 😀 This piece of bling is amazing, well done you!

    Liked by 1 person

    • Jacob said:

      Thanks, Charlie – yes, I suppose should have known this would pique your interest!

      Liked by 1 person

Talk to me!

