Next Dimension: Manhattan 1993

In quite the change of scenery, we move away from the sedateness Norfolk Broads and look at structures of a rather larger architectural scale.

I initially wanted to have a go at the Empire State Building, but sadly Cinema 4D was insistent in this not happening, slowing to a crawl if not grinding to a complete standstill when trying to build. Hmm! It’s never got quite that bad before, and what’s perplexing is that it’s far from the most complex model… I’m expecting it to be something to do with the sheer number of windows and the ineptitude of my ageing machine…

Of course, with this as it is, the model is nowhere near complete. I did salvage a couple of shots to show how it was looking:

So, in trying to go even simpler, I headed south to the twin towers of the original World Trade Center. This time, I did not ‘impress’ the windows, instead creating the facades predominantly with horizontal and vertical beams, cloned to glory and framing a huge semi-transparent pane. I was pleased with how quickly the structure started to echo the real thing.

wtc0003b

wtc0061aWith C4D not playing silly buggers quite so much this time, I was free to start adding smaller details – the observation deck and antennae on the roof…

wtc0054a…and the ‘forked’ foundation and peak of the structures, made with a little help from the LoftNURBS tool. The transition from Loft to beam is a little choppy in places, but it was on the whole a pleasingly happy process.

wtc0002awtc0052-aThere was a definite sense of harmony in ‘rebuilding’ the towers – I hope I did them justice.

The inspiration for these models – and the title of this post – came from some high-definition footage of New York, shot in 1993, long before such technology had found (and shrunk) its way into our pockets. I found it fascinating for this; with such sharpness, it rather blurs the lines of a near quarter-century.

18 comments
    • Jacob said:

      Ha, yeah – somewhat higher than I’m used to! Thanks so much, Rebecca.

      Liked by 1 person

  1. Geke Hop-Wassink said:

    You did the Twin Towers justice, I’ve seen them with my love, a dream that we had as teenagers, came true when we go to the US, and it was our last vacation together with our children. Thank you for this memory xxx

    Liked by 1 person

    • Jacob said:

      Thanks so much, Geke. Ah, what a poignant but beautiful memory. It’s lovely to hear you fulfilled the dream and got to the US.

      Liked by 1 person

      • Geke Hop-Wassink said:

        Yes it was because he went to a better place 14 month later, but we made our dream come true. Later that year 9/11 the Twin Towers were gone and I remember so clearly thinking; Thank God he didn’t have to see this, it was so cruel and he would be devastated by it. I was thinking so many things at the same time but that my love didn’t had to see this, that I remember the best of that day and the innocent people that were killed and every year I remember in my own way. Thank yoi Jacob ❤

        Liked by 1 person

    • Jacob said:

      Absolutely. Thanks, Michael!

      Like

  2. z03luca said:

    Twins towers – sad memories. I was in New York when it happened. ♥︎ Camilla
    My user name is new. I am still closed.

    Liked by 1 person

    • Jacob said:

      Goodness, that must have been terrible.

      Yes – thanks Camilla. I look forward to the reopening!

      Like

  3. Bill Fufkin said:

    Beautifully done, Jacob. B

    Liked by 1 person

  4. Yes you did the twin towers justice. I miss the New York skyline with the twin towers. Thank you for picking the Twin Towers.

    Liked by 1 person

    • Jacob said:

      Very glad to hear it – thanks so much, Jade.

      Like

Talk to me!

