Next Dimension: Horning Ferry Mill

horningferry3As the night winds howl and rain lashes mercilessly against the window, it seemed that a return to the perma-sunny 3D mill-scape was called for. And what a radiant specimen we have on this particular trip!

Horning Ferry Mill is a smock mill, built in the mid nineteenth century. Perched beside the River Bure, it was a fairly standard model, working for around fifty years before retirement. It was saved from dereliction in the 1930s and restored for residential use – it still operates today as holiday accommodation, I’m sure a hot pick in one of the most popular locations on the Broads. A large octagonal floor was built around the structure, with the smock weatherboarding rather cutely ‘flared’ out to meld with its new surroundings. Bathed in white and replete with simple, toy-like charm, Horning Ferry certainly has an aesthetic edge over its neighbours.

They even based Anneka Rice outside the mill for the Norfolk episode of Treasure Hunt!

horningferry2That appeal has long been in mind, as has this project. I think it purely was the curvature of the tower that had put me off doing this long ago. Happily, it turned out to be relatively straightforward; the Loft tools allowed a sequence of smoothly shrinking octagons to describe as needed. It’s gradient may be slightly off, but the process worked, and that’s enough for me!

There are still some battles going on with the Physical Sky configurations, however – I’m still not quite sure why the mill itself is so bright, but the trees so dark. Hmm! Still, never mind – lots of fun had. I don’t think I’ve ever actually visited this mill – come to think of it, I’m not sure I’ve even been to Horning. Shameful indeed – I must rectify this, but perhaps I’ll wait a little while until the weather’s a touch friendlier!

horningferry1

11 comments
    • Jacob said:

      Thanks, Rebecca – this was a joy! I’m pleased you like the updated water; I’d spent quite a lot of time fiddling with that. The trees, however, are presets in the program itself – I didn’t actually construct them. I keep meaning to have a go at that, though – certainly a project for another day!

      Liked by 1 person

      • Well it was all so good, I had to really look twice, to make sure it wasn’t a photo…only zooming into the sky gave it away, and I mean a huge zoom in, he he….so very well done, cause the rest zoomed in still had me convinced it was a photo…so skilled 😀

        Liked by 1 person

      • Jacob said:

        Haha – lovely to hear! Thanks so much Rebecca, always so encouraging in your comments! 🙂

        Liked by 1 person

    • Jacob said:

      Thanks, Charlie! It’s certainly a unique presence on the Broads. Yes, you should definitely snap it up! I bet Phineas would love a boat ride down the River Bure!

      Liked by 1 person

  1. Bill Fufkin said:

    It says “Dutch” to me more than “Norfolk broads”, Jacob…I’m left wondering if that was the designer’s goal. We know how much the Dutchmen revere their windmills, you would be cock-a-hoop over there, I imagine…maybe you’ve already been? B

    Liked by 1 person

    • Jacob said:

      Yes, Bill, it does very much reflect the Dutch style of windpump, which only scores more points in terms of beauty. I still think I’d prefer a classic Norfolk mill, though! 😉

      I haven’t been, no, but I’d love to go one day!

      Like

  2. Wonderful Jacob, i’d very much like to teleport into the perma-sun world of the mills right now, it’s freezing out there; the sun really shines out of this piece, it’s very welcome right now 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

    • Jacob said:

      Thanks, Phil – yes, I thought this a decent prescription for the nasty weather. A shame indeed that it’s hardly ever like this in the actual locations, but what can you do? 😉 It’s chilly here too – the jumpers are out extra early this year!

      Liked by 1 person

Talk to me!

