New Vue

mill-test9cAs we bid Father Christmas farewell for another year, I do hope all of you had fun seeing in the new year. With new year comes a perceived push to refresh and explore new things – exciting new software being among those things… well, for me at least!

Beneath virtually every C4D piece last year came a tiresome complaint from yours truly that my machine was struggling with such intense pressure. This was particularly the case with my windmill scenes, and those beautifully pesky trees. Completely by accident, I stumbled across a program whose forté is atmospheric and environmental scene-setting: Vue. The Personal Learning Edition which I’m using is completely free, requiring only a sign up and apparently comes with all capabilities of the paid software ( though there are some restrictions with regards rendering resolution, and you do get that logo in the corner). Some of the results people have come up with are incredible.

It’s most fun to eschew tutorial and just wade into a whole new package flicking switches, pressing buttons to seeing what goes wrong. I went in like this today, and produced what you see – well, the windmill itself is a C4D model, actually one which I’ve not previously shown in all its glory, but hopefully will one day. It does seem to be dealing with large scenes much better than C4D – look! Proper vegetation! The scene above has almost a thousand trees and grasses in it, which I wouldn’t fancy trying in Cinema – and renders briskly, in that it doesn’t cripple my computer for half an hour.

My pining for a dark sunset is most convenient, as I’ve not actually worked out how to apply textures yet!

But yes, it looks to me as if Vue knows its realm, sticks to it and does it very well. Hopefully, this is just the beginning; I can see me transferring mills or other architecture into scenes here once I get to grips with it a little better. If my dalliances with C4D are anything to go by, that’ll be some time around 2021… hmm! Maybe I should look up some tutorials after all!

14 comments
  1. Geke Hop-Wassink said:

    It look fabulous, the mill and the woosd and the sky is amazing ❤

    Liked by 1 person

    • Jacob said:

      Thanks, Geke – I’m certainly looking forward to playing with it some more!

      Liked by 1 person

    • Jacob said:

      Yes, there are few things more evocative than a sunset. Thanks, Camilla!

      Like

  2. Wow! Lovely sunset! I love this! Quite dramatic! Seems like a fun edition to your set of tools. Can’t wait to see what else you’ll make with it! 😃

    Liked by 1 person

    • Jacob said:

      Thanks, Charlie – twas all a bit of a happy accident, so I’m especially pleased with drama! I look forward to fiddling with it some more.

      Liked by 1 person

  3. Well this looks absolutely stunning! And I didn’t even notice the logo in the corner. 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

    • Jacob said:

      Thanks so much, Teresa! I’m really excited by the initial experiments.

      Actually I did cheekily dim the logo a little in Photoshop – I thought I’d better not be so naughty as to wipe it out completely! 😉

      Liked by 1 person

    • Jacob said:

      Glad you like it! Yes, I can certainly make do with the small ‘catches’; very good of them to offer it as an educational platform.

      Liked by 1 person

  4. Holy helterskelter, this is even more realistic than the others you’ve done, and they are pretty realistic. The sunset is stunning! The clouds! The grassy bits in the foreground! I’m stoked that you’ve found a new fun bit o’ software to play with 🙂 Looks like your new year is off to a good- and creative- start!

    Liked by 1 person

    • Jacob said:

      It looks a fun toy indeed! Glad you enjoyed it. I’ve seen some really stunning examples of what’s been done in Vue – here’s hoping I can capture some of that in my own work. 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

      • You will! You’ve only just started and look what you’ve done! Happy Vue-ing to you…ing
        🙂

        Liked by 1 person

Talk to me!

