Upriver

broads-3-1Yet more of this old timey Broads stuff. I’m really rather engrossed at the moment, even more than usual, so I sat myself down with some Jelly Babies, turned the music up and got going, once again aiming for brisk.

I didn’t think too much of my river on Black Beauty, so began with a view to tackling that. The water of the above image was created with the same brush, but below I took a thinner, tapered brush also used for grasses and reeds, but with its ‘head’ rotated. The rather more agitated, turbulent look is I think fitting what I’m going for; it even compelled me to add a spot or two of drizzle…

broads-3-2…which promptly escalated to full-on storm! Curses. But – excuse my fanboy screams – look what’s peering over those thrashing reeds…

broads-3-3…that’s made it all worthwhile! And we got there, eventually, the filthy weather proving decidedly brief. Hmm, maybe it looked prettier in the stormy dark?

broads-3-4aIt’s a skeleton mill; furthermore, a specimen heavily inspired by Boardman’s Mill, which I tried to build in 3D last spring. After a number of bloodbaths trying to briskly draw sails, I instead opted for creating them with Photoshop’s Lasso Tool and erasing sections. A little conspicuous, but vastly better than what came before it.

These weren’t initially intended to be sequential – it rather took its own course as progress was made. It’s nice when that happens. Success or not, rivers are definitely flowing from the overarching theme and archival sources. What fun!

22 comments
    • Jacob said:

      Thanks so much, Camilla!

      Like

  1. Bill Fufkin said:

    You, young man, are in your element ! B

    Liked by 1 person

    • Jacob said:

      And you, young man, are very kind! Thank you.

      Like

  2. Really I do like this look so much, I especially am drawn to the first picture. Mysterious, maybe that’s why? Of course I have to like the mill in the last picture too. Great work

    Liked by 1 person

    • Jacob said:

      Thanks, Rebecca! Glad you’re enjoying them as much as I am. Mysterious is pleasing, as I’ve always had that impression of the Broads and its snaking waterways – such mystique!

      Liked by 1 person

  3. Rebecca said:

    Jacob, these are really gorgeous! I love the sense of ominousness and the antique feel, and the colours you’ve chosen. Incredibly appealing pictures. Are they totally created in the computer? Or a combo of charcoal and digital? Please could you spill the beans? 😉 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

    • Jacob said:

      Thanks so much, Rebecca! They really were a hoot.

      All digital! These are made entirely in Photoshop. I have a selection of custom brushes which give the impression of various media – nice to hear that they’re pulling their weight!

      Liked by 1 person

      • Rebecca said:

        That’s really impressive! Your tools are definitely excelling at the job in your capable hands. 🙂

        Liked by 1 person

  4. They have a slightly spooky feel to them – in a good way! I hope you enjoyed the Jelly Babies.
    JP

    Liked by 1 person

    • Jacob said:

      Ha, oh I did! Thanks, JP – glad you like them. The Broads do veer that way when the skies are riled up!

      Like

  5. Fabulous!! These are so evocative… I’m digging this look. Very cool… would make fabulous illustrations for a story. (and belated happy bday💕… I actually mentioned you in my post, but didn’t make it over here in time! 😊 Hope it was fantastic!!)

    Liked by 1 person

    • Jacob said:

      Thanks, Charlie – I’m having lots of fun, so I’m glad it’s going down well!

      Yes! Thanks again! Well, I was born at 7:52pm so in some ways it’s still my birth ‘day’ – I often stick to that as it means I can spread it across two days. 😉 Yes though, I had a nice time – thanks again, again! ❤

      Liked by 1 person

      • Just two days? Amateur… last year I made April my birthday month! 😉👍🏻Lol Happy birthday again my friend!

        Liked by 1 person

      • Jacob said:

        Haha, wow, amateur indeed! You should go the next level, one better than the queen, and make World Watercolour Month your second/’official’ birthday month – that’s if it isn’t already! 😉

        Like

  6. Ooh….i’m loving the sombre feel to these drawings. Especially the first one, for some reason. I think i just like the simplicity, and the mood it evokes. It’s nice and cold and rainy here today ( we just got a hailstorm! :D), so i think seeing a rainy pic whilst hearing the lovely thunder outside just seems fitting.
    Anyhoo. Glad to see you’ve been so productive! I have to post something myself soon; feeling guilty about my lack of output over here!

    Liked by 1 person

    • Jacob said:

      I’m intrigued by all the love for the first one – I thought it was perhaps the most simplistic. Maybe that explains it. I do quite like the thick walls of trees, though – there’s something beautifully claustrophobic about that on real broadland (for want of a better description!)

      Yay for hailstorms! Lucky you. They’re such drama, aren’t they? The relentless noise is so satisfying.

      Don’t feel guilty about the lack of postings! 🙂 Do it only whenever the urge takes you. The blogosphere is, I’m sure, not out of sorts with your ‘in and out’ routine, but just pleased to welcome you back whenever. Anyone who thinks differently is a windhouse!

      Liked by 1 person

      • Yes, i think it is the wall of trees that is- as you put it, ‘beautifully claustrophobic’. It’s comforting, like observing a rainy landscape through a window from the comfort of a cosy room.

        Hail the hail! SUCH a great noise. AND…we got the most brilliant rainbow afterwards 😀 And the light became really golden; it was highlighting the detail in every leaf of the trees across the road- it was as if they were glittering. And the hail on the ground looked almost like a light smattering of snow 🙂 I went outside and stood in the cold just gawping at it all with a big dumb smile on my face. Nature is magical!

        haha, i’m loving the usage of “windhouse” . I can see it evolving into other forms, too, like “windshack”. *puts on most ocker of Aus accents; “Now listen ‘ere, ya bloody windshack,” etc.

        Liked by 1 person

      • Jacob said:

        Ahh, that’s such a gorgeous image you’ve just painted there. I am totally transfixed watching the rain, or lying in bed listening to it. That’s heaven. This being said, I do rather love being out in it, too – that’s if I’ve nowhere to go. Turning up somewhere like a drowned rat – that’s less heavenly.

        And another one! What a lovely day – I’d be wearing a similar expression, I think! 🙂 The way the sky changes as the storms move on really is just that, magical.

        You see! This is why we use it, it’s such a versatile word!

        Liked by 1 person

      • Bestest cure for insomnia ever, innit. But i have to agree, it is nice to be out in it sometimes. Especially if you’re in a place of natural beauty.
        It was so lovely! This area is really gorgeous, and that type of thing just makes it even more magical.
        I was just thinking of “windpillow” too, as there’s a song i was just listening to ( quite a gorgeous one) by Pink Floyd with the unfortunate title: “A pillow of winds”. Tee hee.

        Liked by 1 person

Talk to me!

