Broadwalk

broads-pathway-1Yet another trawl through the Broadland in my mind and further attempts to develop this brisk aesthetic. Yet more fun.

After last time I began thinking about the woodland walks beside the waterways, the boathouses and the windmills, for they are often the means of getting to those places. They are quite the beauty spot of their own; what could be more alluring than the snaking pathway beneath an arch of trees? Whatever could be waiting at the end of the line?

broads-pathway-5The uneven, overgrown walkways trailing parallel to dykes and rivers, pathways of their own, separating the wild greenery. I did use this as justification for more playing with water, and building on the techniques used for the vegetation.

broads-pathway-2And an incredibly quick one:

broads-pathway-4I intended to do more with this quick render below, namely using it as a reference for a drawing of similar composition, however, it didn’t quite pan out this time. Next time, maybe!

broads-pathway-3-mAnd with that, we’ve reached the end of the line. Well, at least we’ve not arrived at a curiously inviting cottage, or, even worse, nothing at all…

broads-pathway-6

21 comments
  1. Bill Fufkin said:

    Your post has echoes of the “choose your own” adventure books we had, as children…in which instance, I will take the path that leads to the beautiful boat,I think. Haunting, out-standing work. B

    Liked by 1 person

    • Jacob said:

      Yes, they were pathways full of fun. It’s a nice idea to try and integrate, actually. We’ll see! Cheers, Bill.

      Like

    • Jacob said:

      Haha, yes, the jeepers creepers nature of that one was a bit of a happy accident, and I think really lifted it. Thanks!

      Liked by 1 person

      • I love it…sleepy hollow is a fav film of mine, I even have a model of the tree with the horseman…..weird I know 😀

        Liked by 1 person

    • Jacob said:

      Thanks, Charlie! Ha, yeah – if only I had the ability to write one. Hmm, perhaps it’s better to supply your own words for now, at least!

      Liked by 1 person

    • Jacob said:

      Thanks, Teresa! I’m having lots of fun with these. 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

  2. Great work. Haunting and dark. I could write something from each one. Keep it up.

    Liked by 1 person

    • Jacob said:

      I’ll try my best! Thanks so much – great to hear they’re inspiring narratives.

      Liked by 1 person

  3. Ooh yes. More of this darque, sombre, yet mysterious imagery. LOVE it. Digging the sepia tones and monochrome thang. I’d hang that 3rd one on my wall! So much texture. But elegant at the same time.
    Please keep doing this sorta stuff! ( well, y’know, only if you’re feeling it, of course! No pressure! But kinda pressure…;P)

    Liked by 1 person

    • Jacob said:

      Thanks yet again! I’m sure there’s lots more to come; I’m enjoying creating these scenes, and what’s more, I’m enjoying noseying in on people’s old home movie clips, photatos and whatnot to get ideas!

      Liked by 1 person

      • No worries! 🙂
        Well, that’s a good way to learn a lot. There are some real gems hidden away in people’s collections. I love old photatos/ fotergiraffes .

        Liked by 1 person

  4. Wow love these so good, love the minimualistic feel really makes my mind try fill in the blanks with animals and monsters etc, lets ones mind wounder , thank you for sharing

    Liked by 1 person

    • Jacob said:

      And thank you for the lovely comment! I’m so glad you enjoyed them, and that they evoked images. There really is a thick air of mystery about the Broads which, with a bit of imagination, can send the mind in just about any direction.

      Liked by 1 person

Talk to me!

