Wish You Were Here

broadside-1-captionedThe heat, am I right folks?

As sweltering as it’s been, the week has been less than productive. I’ve barely been able to function, never mind sit in front of a computer and make stuff – and it looks to be continuing for a little while yet. At least it means time in the garden, the whiff of nearby barbecues, and ice lollies a-plenty!

After much desperate fumbling, look what came out. What a surprise! It’s like they’re instinctive; I never tire of them! The foremost windpump is based on an old reference from Ludham, and I believe has since been demolished. I wish it were still here. I improvised the rest to try and give a quintessentially Norfolk picture-postcard image – in composition, at least. Of course, where else would one rather be in this weather? I did attempt to add colour and gradients and goodness knows what else, but felt it stronger without the adjustments.

The postcard concept came to me after a hugely important item on the local news, highlighting how few of them are sent these days. As if the windmill weren’t a natural subject before that: like most five-year olds, I indulged in deltiology and put together – and filled – an album of windmill postcards which I could marvel at, draw from, or both. I called it a ‘Walbum’, and no day out was complete without a new one to add to the collection. I wonder if my parents still have it…

Oh, and just for luck: here’s a piece several months old, somehow overlooked back when I was playing with brisk settings (something I really ought to get back into, as it was a heap of fun). It’s rather stormy – might we get a rumble of thunder soon? Fingers crossed.

broads-3

13 comments
  1. Bill Fufkin said:

    I beg your pardon…I was anticipating a portrait of Judith Chalmers ! A nice and pleasant picture, both evocative. B

    Liked by 1 person

    • Jacob said:

      Haha! Thanks, Bill. For once, not a popular culture reference on this side of the house! What a classic, though. Perhaps I ought to try now, just for the laughs.

      Like

  2. Rebecca said:

    Both lovely, but the blue one really does it for me! Stay cool, fresher weather on its way this weekend according to the BBC… 😉

    Liked by 1 person

    • Jacob said:

      Oh, I am glad to hear that! Thanks, Rebecca – sometimes quick does the trick!

      Liked by 1 person

    • Jacob said:

      Oh, yeah – if only I’d thought of that earlier in the week! Cheers, JP.

      Like

  3. Jacob, a postcard revival and reviving an old reference photo ~ everything old is new again, and this has a cool vibe/moodiness to it that seems so Old World as done without the color. I like it very, very much. Cheers, and try to stay cool. Ice lollies, the best.

    Liked by 1 person

    • Jacob said:

      Thanks so much, Cynthia. I hadn’t really thought about the relevance of reviving the oldie – how neat! Glad you enjoyed it. Thankfully, temperatures are far more tolerable than they were!

      Like

  4. Bags of atmosphere Jacob, lovely, perfect spot to laze about and eat ice lollies 😊

    Liked by 1 person

    • Jacob said:

      Thanks so much, Phil! Yes! Sounds Fa.. oh, I’ve already done that 😉

      Liked by 1 person

Talk to me!

