Wet Edge Mill

mill-sun-01In bouts of boredom or procrastination I often find myself in Photoshop, just doodling and playing with the brush tool – perhaps hoping something will stick, perhaps not. It certainly doesn’t often result in anything worth sharing. Last night, I began fiddling with the brush configurations and casually switched on ‘Wet Edges’, an option I’ve rarely used, if at all. That’s one of the things I love about Photoshop; I’ve been using it for almost a decade, and still there are new, undiscovered corners.

Something about the translucency of the strokes and the mixing therein led to attempting a sky, which in turn led to the above. Perhaps it’s the calm after our earlier storm? It was nice to break away from reference images, and there does seem to be a different texture and feel about it. Hmm. I’m sure I’ll give this another go someday, devoting a little more time.

In honour of this inspirational tool, I have named the setting Wet Edge. It sounds very Norfolk. I imagine it’s not far from Cockshoot Broad.

4 comments
  1. Bill Fufkin said:

    Full of soothing serenity…most welcome as I look at the clock and shudder. It must be beautiful, out there at sunrise. B

    Liked by 1 person

    • Jacob said:

      Thanks, Bill! Yes, the landscape gives great prominence to the sky. I haven’t seen many sunrises 😉 but plenty of sunsets. It’s wonderful.

      Like

Talk to me!

