Wheely Glitched

Now is the time, I’ve decided, for another round of glitch art using Audacity. I tried it before using wrestlers; this time, we’re using lettering – a knock-off I cut a few months back, based on a certain wheel-based game show. Maybe, one day, I’ll see to actually completing said project on said game show.

It’s kind of appropriate, as messing around with Audacity in this way is very much a blind spin of the wheel; you might have a vague idea of what’s going to come out, but you simply can’t know for sure. But still you try, and in turn, end up with about a hundred exports after spending the whole afternoon playing with it.

Here are some of my favourites. Some have had a bit of a helping hand from Photoshop, adjusting colours and contrast, but at their heart they are all products of Audacity’s editing tools.

It is quite a fun process, thanks to that element of surprise.

If you want to have a go, the tutorial here is quite helpful, even if many of the pictures seem to have disappeared.

My apologies for any fried eyes and headaches brought on by the colours used. I don’t normally go this mad, tending to stick to black and white, but felt like colour was rather important this time around.

5 comments
  1. For Tyeth said:

    Hello there, I am mainly a Blender 3D and GIMP user so don’t know much about Audacity. But these look great and didn’t cause me any headaches fortunately. They did remind me of an image I created a while back that replicated a “video hologram” or “distorted transmission”. I took an image of a Star Wars character and removed the background, then created two copies of the character to place beneath the original, giving me three layers. I then colourised the first copy to red and the second to a cyan colour and offset the red layer to the left 10 pixels and the blue layer 10 pixels right. Finally I adjusted the transparency of all three layers and added a layer of noise distortion. Once combined the character looked as if he was an image from a VHS tape recording played on an old misaligned tape player. This image I was then able to paste onto whatever sci-fi background I wanted. (<I hope that made sense)

    Looking forward to seeing more in future, thanks.

    Liked by 1 person

    • Jacob said:

      Good stuff! I did something similar for “spin the wheel” at the top of this post. With the offsets it’s a great way of achieving that classic VHS look.

      The novelty of this exercise is that Audacity is audio editing software. I’ve been using it on and off for years, but had no idea you could import images until fairly recently.

      Liked by 1 person

      • For Tyeth said:

        Yes I’d heard of Audacity being an audio editing platform but not the visual functionality. I collect custom lightsabers and the electronic soundboards play back the sounds but only from certain file formats. Audacity is one program that can access the file type commonly used and is used to convert other formats for use in sabers.
        And it was your “Spin the Wheel” image that reminded me, and if interested this was my project:

        Liked by 1 person

      • Jacob said:

        Audacity is more versatile than we thought.

        That came out great! I’ve tried using CRT filters and image viewers before but it’s much more fun when you can do it yourself, and the results are often better too.

        Like

  2. The red one directly above “It is quite a fun process” is my favourite. That’s the least “glitched” I guess, perhaps my eyes are pre-glitched.

    Liked by 1 person

Talk to me!

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.