Time-Tested: 60

reddit-4-60

Welcome once again to S-Reddit Saturday, wherein I horrendously offend kind artistic volunteers of Reddit Gets Drawn in the name of creative practice. This week I took the time limit to scary new levels as I slashed two hours down to just one. As I said last week, I’m doing this simply to try and speed up; I’m not so much concerned about working slowly, I just yearn to become more efficient more quickly. To make progress. That’s what we’re here for, after all.

I really liked the bubbly nature of this photo and thought it’d make a cracking portrait, though I was unsure of how it was going to go under rigorous time pressure. I had a desire to go for more of a pop style, such is her look, but again, under the clock I felt it best to stick to what I know on this occasion.

Goodness, it was a bit of a frightening prospect when that sixty-minute clock started ticking. I was quite certainly peeing myself, to borrow a phrase from a fellow blogger, and indeed you might be able to tell as much from the poor initial outlines. It actually seemed to generally pass slower than I had convinced myself it would. This being said, it did become a bit of a frantic episode toward the end of time, and I had to completely forget about colouring – which is irritating, as it was something I really wanted to do with this portrait! – because the time was up before I even came to it; as you can see, I was still somewhere in the process of applying shading and tidying up scruffy marks as the clock – or rather, a sixty-minute selection of Carpenters and Queen tracks – finished.

Not great, and I’m not sure if I’m cruel enough to share this with the subject on Reddit, but nevertheless a bit of fun and an invigorating challenge. I’m now off to change my underwear, wide-eyed in the thought that I’m likely to push myself even further next week. What will it be… forty-five minutes? Half an hour? Even less…? Perhaps I should have a tombola drum to draw from, or a wheel to spin… there’s an idea!

26 comments
  1. Rebecca said:

    Sure looks like her! I can’t believe you’ve worked so fast on this. Amazing. 🙂

    Like

    • Jacob said:

      Thanks, Rebecca! I do tend to get the general outline quite quickly, so that’s not really a worry for me in these exercises, it’s the shading. It takes me a lot of time (and a whole lot of luck!) to get it right in any decent quality. I had to rush quite a bit, as you can see!

      Liked by 1 person

      • Rebecca said:

        Still a pretty fantastic result though! 🙂

        Liked by 1 person

      • Jacob said:

        Thanks again – so encouraging! 🙂

        Liked by 1 person

  2. laylalalas said:

    Its amazing! She looks totally crazy in a good way! 🙂

    Like

    • Jacob said:

      Haha, thanks, I think… I wonder what she’d have to say about that!

      Liked by 1 person

  3. Geke Hop-Wassink said:

    It seems to be a seems to be a lady with 2 different styles 😉

    Like

    • Jacob said:

      I’m so confused by this comment 😛

      Like

      • Geke Hop-Wassink said:

        I’m meaning to say, it is a great drawing, but if I look good at the drawing, I see a women who is looking with a smile and funny eyes, but than I look again, than I think she can be a naughty lady as well. So basicley, to me I see 2 drawings in one. I give my honest opinion, sorry, but I don’t mean to be negative in any way, I just tell what I see and didn’t want to be confusing in any way. I should have explained more, I apolegise that I was not clear ❤ And you are a great artist, that comes from my heart ❤

        Like

      • Jacob said:

        Oh right, I see! I’m sorry it’s my fault, I’m a bit weary today, indeed, half asleep.

        Thanks for clarifying… and thanks! I agree with you, it’s a photo of a very bubbly woman and indeed you see her slightly differently with each glance. It’s a great quality to have!

        Liked by 1 person

      • Geke Hop-Wassink said:

        Thank you for the compliment, but I worked many years in hotel and restaurant, serving dinner and often champagne as well, maybe that’s why I look in a different way, but never to offend you, please remember ❤ and smile 😀

        Like

      • Jacob said:

        Not to worry Geke, you didn’t offend me at all. It’s always a total pleasure to hear your comments!

        Liked by 1 person

  4. camilla2511 said:

    Freddie had often the same light in the eyes. Lady is very interesting. Her eyes talking…Your drawing always perfect. Camilla

    Like

    • Jacob said:

      You’re right – Freddie’s big brown eyes always had so much emotion in them.

      She is an interesting subject, isn’t she! Lots of people saying so – glad to see the approval of my subject choice. Thanks so much, Camilla!

      Like

      • You are right too !!! Camilla

        Like

  5. This is super fun!! What an awesome expression and you captured it so skillfully!! You’re a master my friend! ❤️😃

    Like

    • Jacob said:

      Blush! Thanks so much Charlie. I shall have to have people address me as Master from now on. Or perhaps not 😉

      It’s a brilliant pose isn’t it; it was a scary exam but she helped to make it a lot of fun. I may have to go back and give this more devoted treatment!

      Liked by 1 person

  6. Sharon Mann said:

    You have captured the expression beautifully Jacob. Thanks for posting your challenge.

    Like

    • Jacob said:

      Thanks so much, Sharon! She was tremendous fun to draw and made the clock a little less scary!

      Liked by 1 person

  7. Lee Hesketh said:

    Love the texture in the headband. Doesn’t look like you need to speed yourself up at all Jay!

    Like

    • Jacob said:

      Oh, Lee. Thank you. Perhaps I do, perhaps I don’t, but I enjoy the challenge.

      Liked by 1 person

    • Jacob said:

      Ah, well I’m very glad to hear that – thanks so much!

      Like

    • Jacob said:

      Thanks Ann. Yes, she’s a great presence… couldn’t not draw her! This Reddit Gets Drawn dealie has been tremendously useful – there are so many great photographs being offered!

      Liked by 1 person

Talk to me!

