Next Dimension: Tooo the Crystal Dome!

My intrepid blogging expedition, whose aim is to shoehorn The Crystal Maze into as many of our exchanges as possible, continues this evening, with another three-dimensional homage to the show – this time, the iconic Crystal Dome itself. The shadows are a bit intense, but the deflector and emitter animation is a lot of fun and working better than I’d have expected. The geodesic structure of the Dome was created simply by altering my previous time crystal and making a second Atom Array for the framework.

crysDOME-94For the circa 100 per cent of you reading who haven’t ever seen the programme – or were quickly bored by my essay and didn’t read it, not that I could blame you – a team of six journey through the maze, pitting themselves against fiendish and frustrating mental and physical challenges. For each of these games that they beat, the team receive a time crystal. Each crystal wrested from the maze is worth five seconds inside the Crystal Dome, a glorified wind tunnel full of gold and silver tokens.

crysDOME-10

The crystals bagged by the team were placed on a podium and ‘went out’ in five-second intervals. For the record, no team ever came close to that many crystals – I believe ten was the max. Some even got to the Dome with just one!

Inside the Dome, the team must collect and post one hundred gold tokens into the letterbox (or ‘cosmic pyramid’ as Ed Tudor-Pole labelled it). For every silver token that inadvertently slips through, one gold is taken away. Really it was just blind luck – there was no time to sort them, so stuff stuff stuff the letterbox was the general plan of attack. Sadly it was a plan of attack which led to many teams posting a sub-zero tally of what they were after, and that wonderful water sports day out in Hay-on-Wye passed them by.

DOME-11_0236I’ve said before, it’s by far the weakest section of The Crystal Maze in terms of the mechanic, but it’s unquestionably memorable and I’d still rather like a go. It’s a good job there’s that live theatre experience thing starting up in London soon!

Here is a rare occasion – a team who actually won! It’s the full episode, but on playing it should start immediately before the Dome:

Start the fans, please!

25 comments
    • Jacob said:

      I am! And I’m glad you’re enjoying it too – thanks Sharon!

      Liked by 1 person

  1. itsmyhusbandandme said:

    I think it looks great. Well done.
    JP

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Wow! Spectacular rendition of the crystal maze! Love the black/blue/white limited palette, too!

    Liked by 1 person

    • Jacob said:

      Thanks, Teresa – and glad you like the lighting! It was a bit of a happy accident – cool to play with 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

  3. Great work….crystal clear!! Jacob did you ever get the chance to play one of the many crystal mazes around the country? I played at Southampton many times, and Blackpool once ( better than Southampton, or maybe I was so drunk it appeared that way….I was young back then) no crystal just buttons to hit in the shape of crystals. They should bring them back as I think with technology they could be better and more interactive, providing kids and adults mental and physical stimulation, plus team spirit. I recall people running everywhere in the maze, often colliding at the crossroad! And queuing for the crystal dome.

    Liked by 1 person

    • Jacob said:

      Thanks Rebecca – and no, sadly I never did get to try these Crystal Maze attractions! A bummer indeed, but the new one they’re building in London sounds very promising – it’s on a scale almost of the original maze and with an authentic dome. I shall have to pay it a visit someday – perhaps we could assemble a WordPress team! 😉

      Liked by 1 person

      • Oh my gosh, it’s an attraction then? I will be there, and a WordPress crystal maze team sounds like a fantastic idea.

        Liked by 1 person

      • Jacob said:

        Yes, the crowd funding just snowballed beyond any expectation. I think their ‘dream goal’ was £500,000, but they ended up with almost a million. Incredible – and fingers crossed it’ll show in the quality of the maze. You must let me know if you ever pay it a visit, that is before we arrange our team of course 😉

        Liked by 1 person

      • I think arranging a team would be a fine idea….I would like to see what the first teams think, it does look good, much better than the ones that used to be dotted around the country.

        Liked by 1 person

  4. Lee Hesketh said:

    Lots of fun Jay. I want to reach up and win me that water holiday!

    Liked by 1 person

  5. Wowser!! Crystal awesomeness! That’s an amazing render you got there my friend. Really cool and feels so magical… I really thought they were studio shots and realized they were 3D. You have mad skills… well done!!

    Liked by 1 person

    • Jacob said:

      Haha, thanks Charlie! I’ve been chipping away at it for a long time and the render times were atrocious, so it’s pleasing to hear they look decent!

      Liked by 1 person

    • Jacob said:

      Haha, this is precisely what I keep saying! Good to have someone on my side 😉 thanks very much Phil! You should totally join Rebecca and I in our team to go take on this new Crystal Maze thing (if it proves to be any good that is)!

      Liked by 1 person

      • Jacob said:

        Haha, great stuff! I hope it’s decent because this has to happen now!

        Liked by 1 person

      • 😊 hehe, I’d have a go, I loved the show !

        Liked by 1 person

Talk to me!

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.